Week 95 – November 23, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

New York Botanical Gardens in fall

NYGB is just a magical place. It is so well manicured and well kept that it is almost cheating taking photos there.  The fall color is gone inVermontand winding down fast here in NY. Last Wednesday I stopped for a quick hour in the late afternoon and went right to my favorite part – the English garden by the conservatory.  Just a perfect day for foliage color.

So one thing that I have always want to try but never had the time to was HDR post processing.  Suzanne up inVermontasked about it a few weeks ago and started playing with it and has been getting some excellent results.  So I had to play with it.  This one is cheating a bit. Instead of 3 bracketed shots on a tripod, this is a one shot HDR.  The original had a very wide range of light with many dark and light areas due to the late day shadows.  I made 3 copies of the photo with different brightness setting – normal, dark and light and then combined them in Photomatrix HDR software.   Not too shabby for a first attempt.

Nikon d300 – 18-35 DX vr zoom @ 35mm – original , 1/400 sec, f/7.1, ISO 320

Raw processed in NX2 – 3 images combined in Photomatrix

 

 

Lara Zinn – Velbert, Germany

This picture was taken for the liquid theme. “Oil & Water Do Mix” was the original name for the picture. To produce this image is was simple yet a tricky process. First because you need a good source of light, which in my case it was provided by the morning sun reflection on my table. I´ve placed some water on a transparent tray and added a bit of oil. It is important not to mix to hard otherwise you will have to many little bubbles. Underneath the tray I used a the very colorful cover of my reading glasses. I use one extension tubes connected to my 18 -55 mm canon lens. The most complicated thing is to get a good focus in the entire frame. Since I was not able to accomplish that I shot the original in RAW + Large file and cropped. The picture was then processed with the Photomatix Pro 4. I´ve tonemapped it and used the default setting for enhancing.

Warm regards,

Lara.

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Twinkle, Twinkle” — For a change of pace, I thought I would try a night shot, hoping to catch a little of the Milky Way. No luck there – too much ambient light.

This was a 30 second exposure with my lens wide open. The house was receiving light from a couple of flood lights from across the street, which really irritated me. A tree behind the house was illuminated by a street light. In post processing in Photoshop ACR, I increased the exposure by 3-½ stops, and used curves to re-darken the sky and reduce the noise present from the long exposure. I cropped from the bottom.

30 seconds is a bit too long for stars – 10 to 15 seconds is about right (otherwise you get star trails), but with a faster lens, and higher ISO if it doesn’t add too much digital noise.

Stanley Beck Photography on Facebook

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/4, 1/30 sec., 18-70mm lens (18mm), tripod

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This shot was taken this weekend atStone MountainParkwhich is just down the road from my house.   A little bit of “Southern” fall color for you-  it was really nice this w/e – I wish the color would last longer though!   We go to the park quite a lot on the weekends w/ our dog – it’s a great place to hike, ride bikes, climb the mountain.  Hope everyone has a great week – looking forward to seeing everyone’s work!

Another shot fromStone MountainParkand some southern style fall color.   Took awhile for the leaves to change down here but it was especially nice this year – unfortunately I didn’t make it up to the North GA mountains in time to catch the color there, but Stone Mountain had a lot of nice color too- .

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

 Another from our last camping trip.  Experience and youth, but the same concentration on the water! (-:
 
Nikon D7000, 270mm, F/8, 1/640s, ISO320

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

 What a lot of great BW-photos last week, hopefully this week will stand up to them too.

My photo is from Sunday, yet another grey November day, but here whit a few colours.

The local fisher is emptying his net and apparently cleaning the catch too, think that it is
what the seagulls are waiting for.

All the best

Jens

 

 

 

 Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

OK I admit it, I am hooked on HDR.  I can’t stop myself cause I’m having so much fun.  Here’s one for this week. I was finally after about 200 shots over several nights to get a decent shot of christmas lights.  As they say ‘you only have a few minutes right before/during dusk to get the shot.  I didn’t even need to make this an HDR photo but when I did I liked it much better.

Hope everyone that celebrates Thanksgiving has a wonderful day!

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Manual exposure, 0.4 sec, f/5.6, ISO 400

 

 

 

 Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

First things first, I was looking backwards through our website today in search of my photos, as I wasn’t sure, if I posted this one already before, and I was really taken aback by some of the photos there. Every section had gems in it, all from different people, the best thing is, that I’ve realised, that I didn’t single out any photographers, all of you delivered very high standard photos many times over. I feel very privileged to belong to this group. 

My photo this week has a very pleasant news attached to it, as Lisa Bell, the opera singer on the photo, has released her album Heartsong on iTunes today and this photo is on the cover. The joy of seeing my work on the CD cover is indescribable, I’ve been on a cloud nine since the morning. The photo has been chosen, as her hands resemble the heart shape and she felt that was the perfect message.

I look forward to seeing all your photos, I am sure the standard will be very high.   Jana

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/125s, f/6.3

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Chilling Out

This is YaKen….I was walking by and saw him sitting there with the hat on.  I so taken in by his look that I had to ask him if I could take his photo.  Oh, it was fun…and about 60 shots later I ended up with some cool images of him.  I have kept in touch with him and sent him copies of his photos.  He is a young musician and I am planning on meeting him sometime soon to take more photos.  If I never had begun this amazing photographic journey 18 months ago, I would have probably just walked right by him without even noticing.  I am so grateful for this new found passion.  It is truly life changing.

Cannon EOS 60D, Tamron 18-270, ISO 100, F/8, 1/250

 

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

About an hour and half drive north ofPhoenix, in Camp Verde, Arizona you can find the “Out of Africa Wildlife Park”.

They have a large number of the big cats, a few bears, and also quite a mix of other wild animals that you would find in a zoo. The staff are very much hands on with the animals and have a great rapport with them.  It is quite a pleasure to go up there for the day and walk around to enjoy the beauty of those majestic animals in a spacious and open environment.  This first shot is of ‘Chalet’, a gorgeous Siberian white tiger.

Pentax k5, DA 55-300 @ 300mm, F/9, 1/1600 sec, ISO 800

The subject of this shot is a lioness, acting like a little kitty while she plays with her toy ball. 

Don’t you just want to take her home?

It was mostly a cloudy day, so I was keeping the ISO at 800 so as not to worry about catching any of the action.

Pentax k5, DA 55-300 @ 55mm, F/7.1, 1/6400, ISO 800.

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Jillian and the Cow.

My sister Jill feeding an apple to aVermontdairy cow during the snows a few weeks ago.

  

 

 

 

 Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all

“Ascension”, an art installation by Anish Kapoor, inside Basilica di San Giorgio, inVenice.

Part of the Art Biennale that is taking place till next week here.

Nikon D300 + Tamron 10-24 @10mm    ISO 200 – f 7.1 – 4 sec

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

Our cat is named Aby (Abyssinian breed).  She knows all the comfortable, quiet, and warmest places around our place in which to take a cat nap.  Here I found here sleeping on the guest’s bed in the spare room, possibly the quietest room in the house.  Using the natural late afternoon light filtering in from the window (frame left) I took this hand held photograph close up and with the aperture nearly wide open. 

The golden embroidered pattern on the bed cover makes for what I consider some nice bokeh.  I enjoyed taking this shallow depth of field image which is something I rarely do as I mostly chase landscapes.

Captured with Nikon D700 + AF 50mm f/1.4 D  @ f/1.6, 1/40th sec  ISO 800

–         no editing apart from border frame.

 

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Fisher’sIslandrace.  Going to wind in 30 knots of wind in 8 to 10 foot seas.  110% jib with a double reefed main sail on a Pearson 36-2 sailboat

I was lucky enough to catch the shot just as we slammed through a wave, so you can see the spray in the air and to the left.  Shot with a HP Photosmart camera, F/4.8 at 1/1000 sec.

 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings all.

I have to say last weeks posts were truly stunning. The standard seems to be continuously improving.

I had the privilege to do some portraits for a very good friend recently. A lady who is very close to me and a great counsellor. So for some of the photos I got to try my hand at doing some environmental portraiture, where you try to use the setting to tell something about the person or persons. While this photo does not really reflect her passion or enterprise, it’s a wonderful setting in her home. I find the lighting to be more challenging than studio work but think the end result is worth it. All in all 3 strobes were used here.

  taken with a Nikon D300 and Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 lens.

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello everyone,
Thank you for your comments for my last week submission on FB.  That interface is really easy to use and add comments and I like it very much.  Anyway, this week I again submit one from the Kyoto trip.  At one temple, I could see the beautiful garden through the temple building together with other tourists sitting on the terrace, and I thought it was very nice view.  Hope you like it, too!  Ken
www.kih.me
 
D700, 28-300 @160mm, f/8, 1/100 sec, ISO3200 (Auto)

 

 

 

 Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

I’ve been seeing a lot of Monarch butterflies lately, so thought I would share one with you. I usually find them on the lavender Crucita bush, but liked this on the Butterfly Milkweed plant since it’s about as close to “Fall Colors” as we have down here. Hope everyone in theUShas a Happy Thanksgiving, and for those friends elsewhere, have a happy day! (Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm@1/2500 f/4.5 ISO 400) Tags: Monarch butterfly

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 

 Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello!

This is „Rainbow“ bridge inNovi Sad, city inSerbia. The bridge is equipped with lights that change color at various intervals.

Best regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

 

 

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

Last week I had a chance to photograph  anual Jazz fair held in my town.

For this occasion I borrowed 80-200 2.8 lens from a friend and I must say that it was too dark anyway… I had my ISO set to 1250 or 1600. But, I managed to get a couple shots that I liked. This is one of them, I liked the expression on singer’s face while trombone player was doing his solo.

Techs are: Nikon D80 + Nikon 80-200@80mm, f2.8, 1/125, ISO 1250.

Pozdrav, Filip.

///—-\\\

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

First, congratulation to the group for last B&W Wednesday, wish I’d not miss it… I though about posting a B&W shot this week but here is a color photo from Emirate of Sharjah, UAE. This is a place where tourist comes for a joyride over the dunes, looks like a lot a fun but sometimes is just sheer luck not to roll over.

Info: Nikon F6, Nikon 50mm F/1.8 D lens, Paradise CR100 slide film – re-branded Kodak

 

 

 

 Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Great BW pics last week I loved them all. Went for a walk in the park last Sat. looking for something to shoot. In the shade of the oak trees I saw these cute flowers being lit up by a small ray of sunshine.

Nikon D3, Nikon 80-400, 400mm, F/5.6, 1/500 sec, 800 ISO.

 

 

 

 Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning fellow Sharpshooters!

Here in theUnited Stateswe will be celebrating Thanksgiving on Thursday.  Having just returned from seeing my doctor, my photo this week describes the prescription I was given.

Looking forward to seeing all of your work tomorrow.

Have a safe and wonderfulHoliday.

Gej

 

 

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hello everyone and happy Thanksgiving to you all.

I planted some sunflower seeds late in the season to see what would happen.   Due to the warm weather , they are now blooming.  The bees and

the butterflies are have a great time with them.

Hope you enjoy.

Birdie

 

 

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Hotel Huntington”

Saturday, 11/19/11, looking from the 36th floor out west thought S.F. towards theGolden GateBridge.

EOS 7D at almost 70mm, f/6.3.  For you inUSA– Happy Thanksgiving and CHEERS! to everyone else.

-Ken Papai

 

 

 

 Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

I hope you enjoy a different perspective of Sacre Coeur inParis.

I just bought the new Canon S100 as my pocket travel camera. I’ve done some side by side comparisons with my Nikon D300 and have to say that some of the images are very close in quality. I’m going overseas again this weekend and can’t wait to spend a day walking and snapping.

Nikon D300s, 1/400 sec, f8, center weight

 

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

This is just a standard John Deere tractor/hay baler that you would see dozens of around where I live. I thought it deserved some retro-style processing. This photo is comprised of 4 layers, one brown/cream split tone of the photo, one full color of the photo, a pink gradient, and a green gradient. I liked the way it turned out.

Nikon D90  18mm  1/400@ f/10 ISO200

 

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Taken earlier this year.  The light was coming through the fence and from above.

Nikon D3s + 70-200 VRII at 195mm, f/2.8, ISO 1100 and 1/8000s

 

 

 

 Special Bonus Photo Section

The Bonus photos are of special interest from some where in the world

 Steven Lacoste

My son Skyler at his baseball tournament.  I initially like the blurred bat, but upon closer examination I really like the look of determination on his face.  You can see he’s putting everything he has into the swing.  Shot with a Nikon D200 ISO-100 F/4.5 @ 1/125 sec 18-70 zoom set at 62mm focal length.

 

 

 Joseph Leotta

Dawn

I’ve been looking for a shot of a sunrise for quite a while but seem to be sleeping when the sun comes up.

Last time up inVermonta week ago I beat the sun up.  Taken while in my PJ’s out the side window of the house. Nice and warm inside bitter cold outside.  This was to easy.

 

 

 

Wayne Ervine

This pose was her son’s idea, and I ended up balancing on top of a ladder to get it. But love the result.

 

 

 

Happy Thanksgiving from Haig and all the Sharpshooters

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

