Week 96 – November 30, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Snow for Thanksgiving

I just love to spend the Thanksgiving holiday up at the house inVermontwith the whole family. It’s my favorite time at the house. I think we’ve only missed 1 up there in 24 years.  It’ is just the perfect country family holiday.

One reason is that the setting just lends it’s self to a holiday feel. This year we were lucky to get a foot of snow on last Wednesday that covered the ground with a wonderful soft blanket of white.  The house while on a back road,   is still on a main road.  That being in mind there is more that just houses around.  TheSouthWardsboroChurchis over 100 years old and a iconic landmark and sits a ¼ of a mile down the road.  Throw in a little snow and you get the quintessential holiday photo. Taken on Friday

 

 

 Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

A couple of weeks ago I was able to visit a Hot air balloon show that took place in southPhoenix. It was not as big as some of the other ones that are held in places likeAlbuquerque, where they get upwards of 100 balloons of all shapes and sizes.

For those that have never witnessed a launch, the balloon is laid out flat on the ground, and then using the fan that you see in foreground of the second photo, air is pumped into it. Once it is somewhat inflated, the burners are used to pump hot air into it, and start it lifting off the ground.

Pentax k5, DA 12-24 @ 12mm, F/8, ISO 800 for both shots

 

 

 Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Sunset going through the dismal swamp on the ICW.  The sky turned this incredible gorgeous red, it looked like we were sailing into hell.

Shot with a HP Photosmart camera, F/2.9 @ 1/32 sec

 

 

 Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

can’t wait for Wednesdays, seeing what’s going on all around the world week after week,

all put together in this little group, by Joe, think it is amazing, thanks.

Here in DK we are Sunday afternoon waiting the first autumn storm.

This is from the local beach.

Have a nice week all.

Jens

 

 

 Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

Fall color came to centralMississippi, and left. The color is all gone now. It was generally good this year, but I didn’t have much time to do much photography this year. Now, all I have to look forward to is an unlikely snow. I got this shot while I was waiting for my wife to get finished with the dentist.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f5.6, 1/1000 sec.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

I have really been enjoying everyone’s photos every week – they are spectacular!!  I haven’t had much time for photography lately, nor comments, but have still enjoyed looking.  One that comes to mind from last week’s photos is Matthew’s cat.  A really beautiful animal portrait! 
 
My Veteran’s Blvd. hawk has been hanging around lately and I got a few shots recently.  They aren’t sharp enough, and if anyone can tell by looking what I’m doing wrong I would appreciate it.  Although I think the problem lies mostly in my hands.  Hope you enjoy it anyway.

 

 

 Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Cinder Ella

Well, I’ve found HDR.  I’m addicted.

 

 

 Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Here is the very first snow of this winter in my place, the kind of wet foggy cold weather that makes all people stay indoors but brings up some interesting photo opportunities.
We were two of us, myself and a good friend of mine sharing the same photo bug, we meet once in a while and do a photo walk taking shots of whatever comes up, it’s more fun in two and interesting to see what the other guy gets from the same scene.
This time we went to local train station and while we were waiting on a overpass for a train to come we got these couples of people passing by.
Although is already a cliche, I think the footprints on the snow are pretty cool. I’ll come up with couples of more shots from this series next week and so.

Shot with Nikon F3HP, Zeiss 35mm F/2 Distagon ZF lens, Paradies CR100 slide film, re-branded Kodak film

 

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

This picture was taken last week at sunset… in theLouisianadelta while returning by boat from fishing. Two pelicans were perched atop… taking in the view and searching for schooling fish and a final meal before nightfall.  Hope all had a great week and to those who celebrated a Happy Thanksgiving…

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

Nikon D90 w/kit lens 18-105 f/3.6-5.6

ISO 320 1/100 @ f/5.3

Studio strobe lighting – single 110 watt softbox

This isJordan. She has the most amazing eyes.

 

 

 Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Dave 

Saw this guy inLos Angelessitting against this crazy spray painted red wall…He did not speak much but was open to me taking his photo.  I asked him if he wanted some money for lunch or something….he declined and just walked away.  His face tattoos and the red scabby nose with the tattoo outline and the matted down red tinted hair was so intriguing. 

Canon EOS 60D, ISO 100, f/5, 1/100

 

 

 Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello everyone.  Hope you had a nice weekend, long or short.  Here is one from my weekend excursion in Tokyo- autumn leaves park hopping.  It is a bit warmer than average and the best time for autumn leaves still seemed a week or two away.  Unbelievable.  Anyway, this shot was taken at the park almost in the center of Tokyo.  I am finding that Tokyohas lots of green and parks.  I wish the tall buildings around them didn’t get in the way.  With those colors, I am still learning how to make the color more prominent while suppressing the highlights.  Have a great week!  Ken
www.kih.me

D700, 28-300 @35, f/8, 1/160sec, ISO200

 
 

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hope everyone had a great holiday and week.  Another great set of shots last week.

We had our first heavy dew the other morning . Since I had not done any dew or water drops recently, out I went  to see what I could find .  I had forgotten the feeling of laying down in the cold damp grass !  It certainly tends to wake you up.

This is a stacked shot from about 6 individual shots.  I did manual focus stacking in CS5.

Hope you enjoy.

D7000 60mm micro with extension tube.

 

 

 Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Many of you know that my daughter is dancing in freestyle/discojazz competitions.  This weekend, there was another competition, and during one of the other classes, I decided to try a bit of motion blur images.  Here is one I am quite content with.  (For the record, this is not my daughter….)

Nikon D300, Nikkor 24-70 mm @ 70mm, ISO 200, 1/3 sec @ f9.

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

First, welcome to our newest member, Lara Zinn. I look forward to your photos!

My photo for this week is from couple weeks back. It was chilly saturday morning before dawn. I wanted to photograph a tree in sunrise, but weather didn’t exactly cooperate so I had to change plans a bit. 🙂 This was one of photos I took while waiting for sun to finally come over the clouds. I hope you like it. Take care, see you on wednesday!

Photo data: Nikon D80+Sigma 10-20@10mm, f13, 1/13 sec, ISO 200.

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all
A drop of light, as a friend called this pic

Nikon D300+80-200 @80mm  
ISO 200 – f 3.5 – 1/2000

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

My husband and I went to the beach this past weekend – an after Thanksgiving getaway to relax a bit before the big Christmas rush….   this is a shot of theOldRiverfrom our back door.   We had 1 1/2 days of really beautiful weather – then the storm clouds started rolling in – but the sun was still out and I like the way the houses on Ono Island are illuminated against the gray sky –  the rain actually held off until Sunday but then it came with a vengeance and left very chilly temps behind!   Still- enjoyed getting away for a couple of days and looking forward to getting back down there soon

 

 

 Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

One of the many birds I saw on Thanksgiving…the Brown Pelican. My family left me behind on the jetties, because I was so engrossed watching them dive for fish, I lost track of time and them. Luckily, my brother in law waited for me back at his truck, otherwise, it would have been a 5 mile walk back to the hotel. He said he’d been waiting for a little over an hour. He gets the gold star for brother in laws! (Nikon D90/70-300mm VR @ 1/1600, F/8, ISO 400 -1.3 EV) Tags: Brown Pelican,South Padre Island 

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good Morning Sharpshooters!

Drove nearly 19 hours in the rain on Sunday.  Arrived at 3:00am inOrange Beach,AL.  Numerous accidents just north ofBirmingham,Alabamathat had us sitting in the rain for over an hour before the traffic started to move.  Next year I’ll consider not traveling the Sunday after Thanksgiving!

My photo this week comes from our visit toMelbourne,Australiathis summer.  While walking the city, I noticed a number of statuary above the light poles.  There were numerous pieces but this one caught my eye more that the others.  I’m thinking this fella was taking a rest before flying off.  And you thought pigs couldn’t fly!

Have a wonderful week.

Gej

 

 

 Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Spent two early mornings in a row Last weekend waiting on New Smyrna Beach Fl. for the sun to rise. So beautiful that time of the morning. Nikon D3, Nikon 80-400, 105mm, F/9, 1/320 sec, 125 ISO

While I was waiting for the sun to come up It was still pretty dark out and I got a shot of the light house onDaytona beachwhile it was still lit up. Nikon D3, Nikon 80-400, 310mm, F/5.3 , 1/80 sec, 2500 ISO

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 “Marin Headlands”

Took this photo from Slacker Hill while hiking.Conzelman Roadwinds up to Hawk Hill, above theGolden Gate. The Federal Government just improved this road (millions of $$) and the road was close about 6 mos. — it reopened only three months ago and is very nice.

Canon EOS 7D, 40mm, f/7.1, 1/500, 11/26/2011.  It was cold and windy out.

-Ken Papai

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Here’s a picture I took a while back of my friend Kyle skating on theshoreofLake Champlain. Camera definitely had some dust issues when I took it, but I still like the panoramic-ish feel the picture and the mid-air capture of Kyle skating. 

 

 

 Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This scene was captured on one of the properties I work on and has only materialised in the past 6 months as we have had very good winter and spring rains for two consecutive years.  It’s a 12 acre lake made in the volcanic plain by building a tall earth wall at one end of a large natural topographic depression and waiting for the rain to fall on the surrounding catchment area.  The lake is now full to the brim after a prolonged drought of 14 years and the water birds have returned to this part of the landscape in large numbers.  This is just a photo taken after work which is something I like doing often.

Captured hand held on my trusty D700 + AF-S 17-35mm f/2.8  @ 17mm, 

f/9,  1/1000th sec,   ISO 400 with active D lighting set to ‘normal’

 

 

 Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

This was a shot I took while capturing birds in flight.

Nikon D300 + 200 VRII at f/2, 1/8000s and ISO 1600

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

In the night of full Moon

In the summer full-moon night I went to my favorite river. Lonely tree, boat, beautiful moon, and like a mirror flat water surface are occupied my attention immediately upon arrival. Given that the moon was very strong, I placed the moon behind the trees, so I got the silhouette of a tree and a boat. Due to long exposure boat and the clouds are slightly blurred.

Equipment: E3 + Oly ED 9-18 f/4.0-5.6 ( 18-36mm eqv. ) @ 9mm, ISO 100, 50 sec @ f/6.3, tripod, pp in photoshop CS3

Regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

 

 

 Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

A very quick upload today, as you may be aware the public sector in the UKare striking today. My son and I took part in the rally and march this morning. I took about 300 photos today and I’ve just got in now. This one is the first one I’ve had chance to do some editing with. If probably use some more from today next week.
 
If you wish to know why I;m striking please see my comments here: http://365project.org/emmar84/365/2011-11-28 
The turn out in Coventry was fantastic, over 2000 people when I left.

Emma

 

 

 Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Alejandro Held

A road in MartinGarciaIsland, in Rio de la Plata. Into a small forest.

Nikon D300+80-200 @185mm  
ISO 200 – f 2.8 – 1/320

 

 

Joseph Leotta

Back to our favorite horse farm in my town.  Each year I have gone back and taken a shot tere and this is the 3rd tie I’ve posted it in sharpshooters.

This year I got a shot a week ago before the snow fell.  

 

 

 Stacy Winsett

Here’s an extra from me…I HAD to include my cow photo from yesterday. It may be my favorite photo I’ve ever taken. 🙂

Nikon D90   18-105mm kit lens  1/800 @ f/14 – 24mm ISO200

I just happened to see this beautiful herd of cows from the road, so I pulled over. When I saw them initially, they were headed the other way, so I was hoping for a nice silhouette of the cows retreating. However, when I got out of my car and walked up to the gate, they immediately took an interest and all headed toward me. The one in the front (#869) didn’t look like she was going to stop! This herd belongs to the Lucky Layla dairy farm.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

