Special Monday Edition – Clouds – December 5th 2011

A Special Monday Edition on the theme clouds

 

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 A streak of light

I think that you can find the most dramatic clouds at dusk and dawn with the sun backlighting them.. The other best time for finding clouds is always around storms.  Now let’s get lucky and find the two situations together – A rain storm clearing out at sunset.

I actually shot this one a few weeks ago at the beginning of November, but didn’t get to see it till last week. I was in the mood to try something different and took out a film camera and was driving around with it for a few days. Coming back from a job I stopped by City Island to try and take a few shot as it was shaping up to be a good looking sunset.  When I went to grab the camera I was mad that I only had the film one and was longing for the digital. This one made me remember why I love film so much. I only had about 12 shots left on the roll and a fixed 50mm prime lens.  No zoom and only a few shots to get it right.  This is what photography is all about – doing all the work before you press the button. 

I need to shoot more film. It just has such a different look and feel. The camera feels like a camera should with the motor drive advancing the film after each shot and making noise.

Nikon F100 – 50mm f1.4 Af-d Nikkor – Kodak Portia 400 VC scanned on Nikon Coolscan

  

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

 Even though sunrise and/or sunset photos of clouds can be quite spectacular, I thought I would treat the group to a view of the clouds while being right in the midst of them.

When you exit the Geiranger fjord inNorwayfrom the north face, you will be treated to some gorgeous scenery that has remained unchanged for centuries.  I suspect this was the path of a glacier a ‘few’ years ago .

Pentax k20d, DA 12-24 @ 12 mm, F/7.1, 1/1000, ISO 2

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Here is my cloud theme photo in case I don’t come up with anything else.  This shot was taken earlier this year.  Thanks for emailing weeks 93 and 95.  Great shots by everyone (as usual).

Greg

Nikon D3s + 70-200VRII at 200 mm, f/2.8, 1/200s and ISO 400

 

 

Lara Zinn – Velbert, Germany

 These two have been taken from my Kitchen´s window.

Both are SOOC. (straight out of the camera – no post processing)

Hope you like,

Lara.

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

This was taken some time ago on my first DSLR, and if I remember right is a 2 shot composite done on the camera, seeing as the exposure needed for the clouds and the moon was so different. Next time around will rather try going the HDR route.

Taken with a Nikon D5000.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

These clouds were taken out the front windshield as we traveled down the highway on the way to a grandson’s ballgame in September 2010.  I always love light rays.  The only processing I did was take out a power line (hope you can’t find where), and border, convert to sRGB, text, and resize. 
 
D5000, F/9, 1/320s, ISO200.

 
 
 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

This picture was taken at sunset while sailing in the British Virgin Islands nearPetersIsland… port. The Island to the starboard is Tortola and the one in the middle isSt Johns.

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 This is a re-work of a photo I took in May 2009, I’m figuring I never submitted it for Sharpshooters as I tend to use ‘photos of the moment’ to contribute weekly.  If you either think you’ve seen it submitted or you def. know it’s been submitted before then let me know and I’ll crank out something else………Cheers,
Matthew.

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

This is really my only decent shot that includes clouds…I need to get out there more and look up and shoot…  Happy Monday my friends.

Cannon EOS 60D, iso 400, f/22, 1/500

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

Great photos last week. And I’m sure this clouds theme will be interesting too!

My photo is from archives, from one of summer, or late spring thunder storms that roll over my town.I thought wide angle would give nice perspective between church and sky.

Nikon D80+Sigma 10-20@10mm, f11, 1/100, ISO 100.

Greetings, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

 I took this at the beach during Thanksgiving. Not often you find a shark flying in the clouds! 😉  

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

BurlingtonVermont sunset

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Here is what I took last winter in the Tohoku region, where the big quake hit one month after my visit.  So, while combing through my pics and found this one was sort of “meant to be” this week’s special submission.  The snow field in front is actually the lake which is completely frozen in winter and the clouds, setting sun, and the mountains over there view was just beautiful.  I was there to visit Seiko’s factory there – very interesting.  Hope this qualifies as “cloud” photo 🙂 

Ken
www.kih.me
D700, 28-300, @52mm, f/5.6, 1/2500sec, ISO200

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

This was another shot taken from New Smyrna Beach Fl. The sun never did show much of itself that morning due to such low cloud cover. Still hard to even capture the beauty that I was witnessing that morning.

Nikon D3, Nikon 80-400, 200mm, F/6.3 , 1/200 sec, 100 ISO

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good Morning to Everyone!

The Alabama Coast Line, although short in comparison toCaliforniaandFlorida, does provide an almost unencumbered view in both directions.

I’ll never tire of looking at its sunsets!

Joe, I’m looking forward to your rebirth.  See you again on Wednesday.

Gej

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

March Storm Cloud

Nikon D3000 + 18-55mm kit lens  32mm ISO100  1/1250 @ f/4.8

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Taken about 7 ½ miles north of St Augustine Inlet  in FL

030°01.861 N, 081°15.794 W

I just happened to be lucky enough to catch a seagull flying at the top of the frame

Nikon D200, 18-70 lens @ 70mm, F/5.6 @ 1/640 sec

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a shot at sunrise on the beach at the Outer Banks in NC – a stormy morning with the sun trying to break through some pretty imposing clouds.  I love a bright blue sky filled w/ puffy white clouds, but storm clouds can be pretty interesting too – in this case the sun was a bit of a tease as the clouds won the battle and the day was a rainy one

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

My photo for this week has been taken in my garden during the Spring, the sky inAustraliais almost always so beautifully blue, I love it. 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/160s, f/13

I look forward to seeing all your photos. 

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

This was taken on Saturday at CharlecotePark, a National Trust estate not far from where we live. There is a current challenge on 365project.org this week which was to submit photos in the style of Ansel Adams, this is one of my entries.
Thanks,
Emma

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi Everyone,

Hope you are enjoying each and every day.

Not too long ago , we had a cool front approaching.  I was out trying  to find some cloud formations for this assignment.  The egret happened along, and well could not resist.

Birdie

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

My daughter and I drove all afternoon by the local hills in search of interesting motifs. We were not impressed and a little disappointed we were going home. The sun was setting and at one point in the car rearview mirror I saw how the sun beautifully illuminates the clouds. Instinctively I turned on the gravel road and headed across the field toward a small hill. We arrived at the moment when the sun is going down and all I managed to shoot this day was this photo.

Equipment: E3 + Oly ED 9-18 f/4.0-5.6 ( 18-36mm eqv. )  @ 9mm, ISO 100, 1/30 sec @ f/11, Cokin GND S ( 3 f stop ), handheld, pp in photoshop CS3

Regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Golden GateFog”

Fog is nothing more than low lying clouds. It comes pushing into theGolden Gatein the afternoons — it can be perfectly clear and warm everywhere else except for this one-mile wide entrance into the bay.

Image: Canon EOS 7D, 35mm, f/8, ISO 100, Oct. 2011.

-Ken Papai

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

Here are some clouds moving into a valley in Alaska. This was taken at 9:00pm.

Nikon D100, 1/200sec, f7.1, ISO 200, 14mm

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Peggy G

These clouds were taken in my front yard when we were doing the “textures” week.  Granted, there aren’t many clouds, but I like the wispy look of them against the color of the sky.  I love the moon.  No processing except border, text, resize, sRGB.
 
D5000, F5/6, 1/160s, ISO 200

 

 

Stacy Winsett

Light Rains Down

Nikon D3000 + Sigma 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6  95mm ISO100    1/640 @ f/7.1

 

 

Jeannean Ryman

This was taken on the canal bank this summer during one of our evening walks. I liked the wispy clouds and the sunset. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

