Week 97 – December 7, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

December’s Foggy Scene

This is the photo that I have been looking to find for a long time.  Monday afternoon while driving down Shore Roadfog started rolling in. I always wanted to try and get some fog shots but never really had a camera at the right place and time. That changed. My rule of always having a camera with me made this happen on Monday.

I took about 50 shots of the fog byShore Road and the Lagoon and ended up with about 20 different keepers. That’s a very high average for me. 

This one was taken off ofShore Roadlooking into Turtle Cove.

The 2nd was taken a little further down the road and across the Orchard Beach Lagoon.

I never like to bury old cameras and forget about them. I went out with the 1st generation Nikon Digital D1x.  I always liked pairing the 18-70 zoom on it.  That camera still knows how to sing and at only 5MP it does a excellent job.  Photos were shot raw and processed in lightroom.

Both  at ISO  250 with a Compensation of +2/3

 Sun thru the fog: @ 18mm  1/350 sec, f/9.5

Fog at the shoreline: @ 22mm  1/160 sec, f/6

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

I bought some mirrored tiles to play around with for photos, I took this of a mis-shapened ice cuve in our conservatory. I set my white balance to tungsten to give it the blue, icy tones. I’m looking forward to playing with the mirrors some more to see what I can come up with.
Emma

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

 Today I would like to present to you King Lazarus from ‘Out of Africa Wildlife Park’.  After visiting his hairdresser he consented to sit for a portrait session.

He is the only survivor from a litter of 4 male cubs born in captivity.  Of the 4 he was in worst shape when he was born, the owners had to perform about 30 minutes of CPR on him to keep him alive.  He lives a happy and healthy life nowadays.

 Pentax k5, DA 55-300 @ 120mm, F/11, 1/400 sec, ISO 400

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Another pic from MartinGarciaIsland. The cementry of the island with its crosses, that nobody knows why the small part is tilted

Nikon D300+80-200 @105mm  
ISO 200 – f 5.3 – 1/500

 

 

Lara Zinn – Velbert, Germany

HDR image from the Zollverein inEssen. This is an Industrial Heritage “Zollverein industrial mining complex“ is a perfect example of the coalmining and coal processing industry in the 19th and 20th century. Zollverein is the only mining site in the world where the complex processes involved in this branch of industry can be seen and clearly understood. For this reason Zollverein is the symbol of industrial heritage in the Ruhr Area, the region inGermanymost deeply affected by the social, economic, aesthetic and industrial upheavals during the age of coal and steel

 

 

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

This week I’m posting a photo from our trip in September to my brother-in-laws house.  His yard was just full of birds, and bees, and flowers and I really enjoyed wandering around with my camera.
 
Nikon D7000, 240mm, F/7.1, 1/1250s, ISO1250

 

 

 

 Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Devil on Drugs

I met this guy inVenice…he was really nice, but very very messed up on drugs.  He was talking so much and was very into having his photo taken.  The good thing is that he did not pose too much.  I loved this one shot i got of him.  I think he had a little too much of whatever he was on, on this particular morning.

cannon EOS 60S, ISO 200, f/4.5, 1/320

 

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Today. Monday, the sun was shining bright this morning and we decided to take the ferry toSweden, only 20 minutes,6 kilometres, away,

but the weather changed rapidly so we had our first snow this winter.

All the best

Jens

 

 

 

 Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

This is the new 6 passenger ‘bubble’ lift at Mount Snow Ski Resort called the Bluebird Express  Mount Snow is the only resort in North America to have this kind of lift.  Each chair seats 6 people in very comfortable padded seats (I sat in the chair they have in the base area to try it out, I don’t ski so it’s the closest I’ll get!).  Then automatically or manually a wind protective shield comes down over the riders.
Mount Snow also built ‘The Nest’ to store the bubble chairs in at night. Yes, all the chairs will come off the lift at night to be free of snow/ice that may fall overnight.
The whole thing is a beautiful sight at the base of the mountain!

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto bracket exposure, Aperture-priority AE, 1/664 sec, f/5, ISO 400, Compensation: +2/3

 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings all.

After a few hectic weeks and non working computers, I’m back up. I had the chance to spend a little time in studio doing some fun concept photos using Christmas lights and a very pretty model. While I think we got some good results, my forgetting to take a tripod di hamper things.

Will have to try again soon.

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Cloud week was a big success.  Cloud can be very good practice subject as well as an artistic subject.  Everyone did quite well!
Here is my submission this week – I was walking, searching for nice autumn leaves in Tokyo and on my way to a park where those trees would be lit up (annual event….), then I saw this magnificent view – the sun setting on the train tracks.  I just couldn’t pass and start shooting.  Took several to make HDR, but in the end, I picked one plain shot, not HDR.  I thought it should be more natural in this case……  Hope you are having a great week! 

Ken
www.kih.me

D700, 28-300 @40mm, f4.5, 1/2000sec, ISO 200

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

my photo for this week is from my last week’s session with Miss E. Miss E. is a little bit special, as last year she was the first client for whom I employed my make up artist and hair stylist Rachel, and ever since then Rachel has been working with me on every single job. Having a make up artist and a hair stylist is priceless and I cannot praise mine enough. We had a wonderful time that day and according to Miss E., we will have every year from now on 🙂 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/200s, f/8

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos. 

Jana 

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Another photo from my Thanksgiving trip toSouth Padre Island. This was taking on the boardwalk of theSPIBirdingCenter. It was a beautiful morning with no wind for a change, so really liked the reflection. (D90/70-300mm VR) Tags: Blue Heron,SouthPadre IslandBirdingCenter

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

For week 97 I offer this black and white photo, taken last month. We had two long weeks of thick fog and low overcast with no sun at all. It was depressing and cold, and this is only photo taken in that period of time worth mentioning….

Peggy, Robin and Ken, thank you for the comments! I hope I will do a set around Christmas, when I should have some more time…

See you all on Wednesday,

Greetings, Filip.

Techs: Nikon D80+Nikkor 80-200@105mm, f6.3, 1/60 sec, ISO 200. PP in Capture NX2.

 

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good Morning Sharpshooters!

Thank you again to everyone who sent my mother-in-law a Birthday Wish and your Photos.  She was thrilled with your kindness.  Again, Sally and I appreciate your effort.

It’s been an exciting 24 hours.  Celebrated our 41st at a favorite restaurant inMobileand then, while driving back toOrangeBeach, got the call that we are going to be Grandparents.  Very exciting!

Thank you for all the FB congratulations…. We really are a family.

My photo this week comes from The Great Ocean Road, another photo of The Twelve Apostles.  

Suzanne, thanks for your suggestion! I tried Photomatix and think the results look more real than my attempts with Photoshop.  I’ll keep practicing.

Have a great week everyone!

Gej

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

RiverDrava. Photo taken last weekend on photo walk with Filip Lučin.

Used equipment: Olympus E3, Olympus ED 9-18 @ 9mm, ISO 100, 1.3 sec @ f/22, tripod, Cokin GND 8 ( -3 ev ).

Regards, Davorin Mance

www.davorinmance.com

  

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

“Early Morning, Amish Farm”

Just a random scene from the neighborhood captured one recent morning while I was out driving around.

 Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

 Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Great week of clouds. I had to post a pic taken this week with my wife’s new Nikon 1. This is boots who likes to get in your face if you go outside and sit. I was trying some very close shots to see how close I could focus. Not bad for 3200 ISO. So far its a pretty cool little camera. Won’t replace my D3 :).

Nikon 1 V1, 10-30 mm, 30mm f/5.6, 1/60 sec, ISO 3200.

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone. I really enjoyed your cloud shots .  I find these special  topics challenging, but that is  a good thing.

I have been trying my hand at birds in flight.  I have been having fun , but requires getting up very early 🙂

Hope you enjoy.

D7000  300mm f/4 with 1.4 TC

 

 

 Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a shot inSan Moritz,Switzerlandon the banks of the lake right outside town-  this cute little fellow was minding his own business and enjoying the day.  Nothing special about the shot except I just think he’s cute!  Enjoy your week everyone and thanks to those who commented this past week – looking forward to this week’s edition. 

 

 

Bogdan NicolescuPitesti, Romania

Docker taking rest, Dubai Creek, a place where various goods are loaded to boats to be shipped across thePersian Gulf. Although the boats changed the sail for engine and the goods are now different the trade seems to  follow the same old dustless roads across the region.

Congratulation everyone for Clouds edition, I didn’t make it in time, my bad. 

Technical info: Nikon F6, Zeiss 35mm F/2 Distagon ZF lens, Paradies CR100 slide film (re-branded Kodak)

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Soraya – ‘Pumpkin'”

I don’t post too many people photos, nonetheless baby photos by she was so cute this week going wine tasting with us. She’s teething and sampling a breadstick in thisSonomaValleytasting room and just 10 mos old. She is my neighbor/friend’s firstborn. I am not around babies much but Soraya is a lot of fun — being an “uncle” I don’t get all of her fun 24/7 !  😉

I had to shoot this with high ISO, inside, 30 mins. after sunset, and dark enough at the Anaba bar for this high ISO. Incidentally, I bought 4 bottles of wine there  😉

Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 lens at 54mm, ISO 3200, f/3.2.  Dec. 3, 2011.

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Here’s a spot I walk past everyday – the corner of 37th & 7th right outside my office and looking intoTimes Square. I’ve been meaning to shot this for the past year and tonight I finally did. Couldn’t have picked a better night for it. The rain making the ground wet really adds a lot with the reflection of the light and a light fog in the air catches some light in the sky aroundTimes Square. 

 

 

 Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Sunset going through the dismal swamp on the ICW.  The sky turned this incredible gorgeous red, it looked like we were sailing into hell.

Shot with a HP Photosmart camera, F/2.9 @ 1/32 sec

 

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Benji (my mother’s dog, now in my care)

Nikon D300 at 24 mm, 1/6s, f/2.8 and ISO 800

 

 

 Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This is an impromptu portrait photograph of my parents taken a couple of years ago in the city of Melbourneon the occasion of my mother’s 70th Birthday.  We as a family all gathered from out distant places and celebrated with ‘high tea’ taken at the Hotel Windsor in the heart of Melbourne.  I took my camera bag with me but was too self conscious to take any photos inside at tea but my parents requested a photo taken outside before we all split up and headed out separate ways.  I have cropped and converted this one to B&W in Photoshop and added a light vignette, played with a frame tool and some grain effect to soften the image.  

Captured very quickly hand held on the roadway out from the footpath with lots of passing pedestrians and cars…..   taken with my D700 + AF 85mm f/1.4 D lens @ f/3.5,  1/400th sec, ISO 400

 

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Gej Jones

While leaving for lunch today a noticed these mushrooms.  Returned and took five shots in the late afternoon sun.  

Stacked the five photos using CS5.

Hope you like the result

 

 

 

 Joseph Leotta, Junior

 EmpireStateBuilding

 

 

Wayne Ervine

 More Christmas lights

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

