Week 99 – December 21, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Wardsboro in winter

For the holidays here’s a HDR shot done on my road inVermont2 weeks ago when we had snow.  This past weekend it was all gone, but it has started to snow again so we’re looking at a white Christmas.

I took the single shot of the photo and redid it as a HDR. You need 3 bracketed shots at different exposure EV values to create one. To get the 3 shots from 1 I first created the 2 extra ones by changing the light levels in Lightroom and saved them. With the set of 3 I then used photomatrix to generate a HDR image. It then took a number of color points in NX2 to correct the image to what you see. 

Nikon D300 – Nikkor 18-200 VR zoom @ 18mm – 1/640 sec, f/13, ISO 250

 Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Lifeguards

Cannon EOS60D, ISO 125, f/9, 1/320

I was taking a walk and saw these Lifeguard stations all stacked next to one another.  I think it is something that they do in the wintertime….not sure why, but I wanted to share them with you. Happy Holidays to all

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

 The Piper” — I attended a funeral for an acquaintance the day before Thanksgiving, and as requested by his widow, documented the service with my camera. He was a doctor, and a retired Major General, and had a military ceremony that included the Military Honor Guard and a bagpiper. I had been documenting various dedications and ceremonies at this new military cemetery for the past year. While it was always a solemn and sobering experience, it presented me with many photographs that would otherwise be unavailable. This was in color, but so close to being totally monochrome, that I thought it would do better as a black & white photo.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/500 sec

 Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

It will not be a white Christmas this year, Grey an rainy but with motives anywhere one looks.

These colourful canoes put away for the winter gives a nice foreground and contrasts the overall grey, I think:-)

Merry Christmas to you and your families.

Jens

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

My photo this week is from back in October.  A foggy morning on what used to be BeaverLake, which is now a part of the Tombigbee Waterway.
 
D7000, Tamron 18-270. F/8, 1/320s, ISO 140

 
  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

Last week my good friend Archie died after a three battle with cancer.  We attended his funeral service last Monday morning but stayed overnight on Sunday in the ‘big smoke’ of Melbourneinstead of facing a potential 3.5 hour drive in peak hour traffic to arrive on time for a 9:00am Monday morning service.  The apartment I booked for us to stay at in Williamstown had a lovely view across the Royal Melbourne Yacht Club to the Melbournecity skyline.  As luck would have it the full moon on Sunday evening played a perfect part in capturing this night scene.

Captured hand held against the window frame with my trusty Nikon D700 + AF-S 70-200 f/2.8 VR I lens @ 105mm, f/8, 1.6 sec, ISO 800

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Parisin July…

A young photographer had just finished taking some photos of the young lady, who looked quite lovely with the sun lighting up her hair from behind.  I might have missed the ‘decisive moment’, but was quite happy to capture the scene, even with all it’s extra clutter.

Pentax k20d, DA 16-45 @ 29mm, F/7.1, 1/200 sec, ISO 320

 Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Entering a new phase in my dance photos – instead of trying to achieve the utmost sharpness, I’d like to explore the movement and long shutter times.

Another photo from freestyle/dance-competitions.  If you get bored of these, guys, please let me know!

Nikon D300, 24-70mm   1/3sec I guess…

Merry Christmas, everybody!!

Per-Christian

  

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good Morning Sharpshooters!

Tomorrow we head toBellingrathGardensto view the celebration of the ‘Magic of Christmas in Lights’.  They are said to have over 3 million sparkling lights and over 950 displays throughout the 65 acre Garden estate.

We’ve never been to the Light Celebration before and although the weather if questionable, we will give it a go.

Again this year I will be out Christmas Eve trying to spot Santa.  Last year all I got was the blur of the taillights on Santa’s Sleigh.  I’m going to use a faster shutter speed this year and hope to capture the Santa and his Sleigh.

To entire Sharpshooter family, Merry Christmas!

Gej

  

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays! It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, everywhere I go….even the birds are donning their gay apparel! Here is a special bird called the Christmas Coot. 😉 Taken with my Nikon D90/70-300mm VR.

http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Landscape, 1/49 sec, f/5.6, ISO 100

Our Christmas Tree
So my daughter and I headed out Saturday to get our Christmas Tree.  We went to a tree farm to pick out and cut down our own tree plus it’s only $20!  She was a wreck about whether or not we could do this – ‘How will we cut it down?’ ‘Can we carry it?’ ‘How will we get it on top of the car?’ Well we rock!  She cut it down herself (I held the tree), we dragged it to the gentleman who wrapped it in netting.  Then we easily carried it to the car, easily lifted it on top and then tied it down with what else? baling twine!
We got home, cut some of the bottom branches off, put it in the tree stand and brought it in the house.  Several hours later and it was all decorated.
I’m so proud of her and of myself.  We did it ourselves!!

 

 Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This is a shot of a friend’s outside shed. He lives in Moran, Wyoming, just a stones throw from the Grand Tetons. He uses it to keep horse riding equipment and you can see one of the saddles on the far left.

I hope everyone has a very Merry Christmas. We’re heading to Orlando for warm weather and family.
Don

 

 Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Saturday my son and I were out fishin’ andColumbussailed by on the Pinta. Well not sure ifColumbuswas aboard but this is a working replica of the Pinta. The Nina was also right behind them. They sailed into the marina onClearwaterbeach. We went over close to them after fishing. Very cool looking boats. Wouldn’t want to sail across the ocean in one.

Nikon D200, Tamron 28-300, 185mm, F/25, 1/320 sec, ISO 500

 Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 Part of my evening commute each day, taken walking to the train station after work

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

A walk in the winter sun.  In urban area, the sun plays with building windows.  Reflection sometimes makes the second sun.  On weekend, traffic is relatively light.  There is another reflection of the sun on the street.  Looks like georama, but nothing has been done.  Very nice day indeed.  Have a happy holiday weekend! 

Ken
www.kih.me
D90, 18-105 @18, f/11, 1/640s, ISO 200

 

 Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

my photo for this week is from the frostyCzech Republic, I went for a walk today in the morning, it was -7 degrees and everything was covered in frost. Beautiful. 

Nikon D60, 18-55 mm, 3.5-5.6G@ISO 100, 1/60s, f/5.6

Have a lovely week and Merry Christmas/Happy Holidays to you all!

Jana

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings.

I recently got to do a quick shoot with a grnada and her grand daughter. While baby photography is not my favourite genre, going to need to work on it. Trying to get a little one to both look at the camera and smile is rather challenging.

This one I decided to go for a slightly vintage feel.

Taken with : Nikon D300 Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 and 3 speedlights in modifiers.

 Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello everyone!

My contribution for week #99 is photo of calm river in dawn

 Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Last of the snow storm damage in late October, it topped a 2+ foot oak tree about 20 feet in the air. 

Luckily it missed my house and power lines, but pretty much wiped out my wife’s garden.

This is one of my neighbors who loves working with his chainsaws.  Cool clear day with perfect sun in the afternoon. 

I liked the brilliant blue of the sky and the vibrant color of his safety gear

Nikon D200 F/7.1 1/180sec, 18-70 lens @ 46mm

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

For week 99 I present photo taken this summer. It’s a long exposure photo that I thought had an interesting composition.

Thank you all for comments here and on FB.

Photo details: Nikon D80+Sigma 10-20@10mm, f9, ISO 200, 30sec.

Greetings, Filip.

 Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

A recent weekend short trip to the nearby mountains gave me the opportunity to come across this old man coming down from the mountains on horseback, a character like out of a fairy tail with gnomes and other fabulous living creatures of the forest.

Shot with Mamiya 645 Pro TL, Mamyia 55mm F/2.8 lens, Kodak Ektachrome E100G

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

hello all

Just arrived home after almost 2 month trip. A fountain inLondonnear theThames

Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR @170 mm

ISO 2000 – f 5.6 – 1/25 sec

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

Kids Being Kids”

I don’t take a lot of photos of humans, but I will once in awhile try my luck in that area. This is a shot of two of my nephews doing a bit of exploring at the Mill Hollow / Bacon Woods public park in Vermilion, Ohio.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi Everyone!  Hope you are all ready for the holidays.

We are still a bit warm for this time of year.  The sweet alyssum is still in bloom and the hover flies are just loving it.   I must admit it was a very a wonderful fragrant experience to be so close to these flowers.

I would like to wish you and your families a joyous holiday season.

Birdie

 

 Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

have to reach back to the archives again this week- just can’t find the time to get out and get any decent shots –  feeling the stress of last minute Christmas projects!    This is a shot from our trip toItalya couple of years ago – we stayed a wonderful villa inTuscany.  I just love the countryside inTuscany- the hillside looks like a patchwork quilt and I love the beautiful variations in green. We did a lot of side trips from the villa to see all the sites likeFlorence,Venice, Piza etc but I could have easily kicked back and enjoyed this scenery.  

Wishing everyone a very Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays- however you celebrate the season. 

 Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

 This is my neighbor’s fence. I keep going back there to see what I can find. The wood is old and worn, the nails are sticking out in odd places, and there always seems to be a leaf caught in the slats. This is one of the few shots I DIDN’T take with my 50mm f/1.8 lens of “stuff on the fence.” I happened to be out chasing Cardinals with the 300mm and of course this caught my eye. I love shallow DOF shots with lots of texture, so I couldn’t resist this shot when the rain finally stopped.

Taken 12/14/11Allen,TexasNikon D90 Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 116mm – 1/125 f/4.2 ISO

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Mushrooms All Over”

While hiking last Saturday I saw all sorts of mushrooms in the forest. Must be perfect weather for them. This little crop stood out for me saw I paused and shot them. Lots of color and holiday festive — if you can see that!  😉  Everyone enjoy and have a fun time out there.

Photo: 12/17/2011, Canon EOS 7D, ISO 400 at f/3.5; 35mm focal length.

-Ken Papai

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

A bowlers view of the batsman “getting bowled”.  I hope everyone has a great Christmas and stays safe.

Nikon D3 + 200-400VRII at 400mm, f/4, 1/500 s and ISO 1600

 Lara Zinn – Velbert, Germany

Coloring My World.

I am really happy with the result of this picture since I was able to achieve the 8th place in the 365Project. It´s a selfie from a week challenge I was putting myself. I felt running out of ideas till I saw that I could get really close to the trains passing by near the supermarket. I´ve placed the the camera in my tripod and from there was just a matter of waiting and moving with the umbrella into de framing. The picture is tonemapped with painterly to give this warming feeling in such a cold and cloudy day.

Here are the details: camera Canon EOS 550D, exposure 0.25 seconds, f/16, iso 400, focal length 23 mm (canon ef 28 – 55 mm lens)

 Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Joseph Leotta

Wardsboro,Vermont

Let me take you to the center of my town – The intersection of Route 100, Main Streetand the South Wardsboro Road. Yes that’s it – the center of town, the hotbed of activity. Any questions as to why I love Vermontso much. There’s building near the center of the photo with a American flag on the roof – our general store which has all you need to get along. Great food and baked goods at decent prices with a gas station next door. The horse farm that I showed you is down the road to the right. I posted a photo taken from that bridge and many more from the area.

This 3 shot HDR was taken Saturday morning. The picture doesn’t show it but it was cold, very cold 11 degrees F.  Photomatrix is a very interesting piece of software. I shot the 3 bracketed shots handheld. I had no tripod. it has a alignment feature which aligns the 3 photos by features.. Not bad .

 Haig Tchamitch

 Après Surf..

Getting to be late in the day on an Australian beach near Port Macquarie, NSW.

 K20d + DA 55-300 @ 135mm, f/7.1, 1/640 sec, ISO

 Jeannean Ryman

Merry Christmas to me! I bought a new D7000 for my Christmas present. It’s been hard not opening it, but I haven’t had much time to learn it yet, so it was probably a good thing I waited. 🙂

 Jeannean

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 99 – December 21, 2011

  1. rangewriter says:

    As always, a stunning collection of shots from around our world. Joseph, your opening HDR shot is a classic.

Leave a Reply

