2011 Photo of the Year

we posted over 1800 photos last year by 34 photographers.

Here is what we feel were our favorites from 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

GlenIsland– Late Summer

I just could not pick one this year.  I finally decided on this one  because it took me back to my roots – Black and White photography around the area here.  When I started all I shot was B&W film which I developed myself. Almost all were shot close to home.  This just had the feel of those days and had pleasant memories for me.

Week 86

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

 Week 99 for me

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

 Hard to believe it has been another year gone by !

 My choice for my favorite shot is the photo from  week 78.

This was my first time photographing the dogs in training .  It pushed me out of my comfort zone .  I honestly have not had that much fun with my camera in a while.

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – Mcallen, Texas

 I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone chose for their Photo of the Year! I chose this photo of a Buff-bellied hummingbird from week 81 because this was one of those “ah-ha” photos for me. While not the greatest photo of a hummingbird, it did show me it was possible to get a decent shot of one with the equipment I have. This was taken with my D90 and 70-300mm VR lens at 170mm with a small crop. Like most of us, I lust after certain lenses. Lately, I’m lusting after a super telephoto for bird shots. However, I can’t justify spending $7000-$10,000 on a lens, so will keep working with the $475 70-300mm I have, and hone my stalking skills to get closer. Still, one can wish. It might not make me a better photographer, but it would sure be nice! 🙂

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Like many of you, I had difficulty remembering which ones I submitted in whole 2011.  But I picked this one simply because it was a memorable one for me.  My first attempt to take the stream with tripod and long exposure to make it look creamy flow.  I don’t remember how you take it, but I like this one a lot.  Looking forward to seeing what you picked for yourselves, too.  All of us (if I may include myself) got better, a little or a lot within last year, that’s for sure. 

Ken
www.kih.me
Nikon D700,  28-300mm, @85mm, f/22, 10s, ISO200, with ND filter

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

This is my submission for POTY 2011.

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 My Favorite Photo comes from Week 87.  The opportunity to visitAustraliawith my entire family surpasses any other photo-shoot this year.  Without a doubt, the My Favorite is influenced by the experience, remembering the wonderful time with family and of course, the beauty ofAustralia. 

On the last night that I was going to be able to photographSydney, I chose to venture out toSydneyHarborone more time.  It was late and although the restaurants were busy, the harbor was nearly deserted.  I counted only five other people that night and all were photographers.

Queen Elizabeth II formally opened the Sydney Opera House, one of the most recognized structures in the world, on October 20, 1973.  Contrary to its name, the building houses multiple performance venues.  During the 2000 Summer Olympics, the venue even served as the focal point for the triathlon events.  The Opera House is one of the busiest performing arts centers in the world, hosting over 1,500 performances each year that are attended by over 1.2 million people.  It is also one of the most popular visitor attractions inAustralia, with more than seven million people visiting the site each year, 300,000 of whom take a guided tour.  As I told you in Week 87, I was one of the 300,000 that took the guided tour and I’m still completely blown away by all that I saw.  It is truly an amazing building!

I look forward to viewing all of Your Favorites.  Have a wonderful week!

I took this photo from across theSydneyHarborat around 8:30pm.  

D90 – 30 seconds – f/11.0 – 18-200@34mm – ISO 200 – Aperture Priority – Tripod

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

my favourite photo of the year would have to be my first attempt at proper pin up shot, I still love the colours we used, I love the pose Coppelia Jane adopted here, her facial expression is priceless 🙂 When I sent this photo to Nikon Wednesday on Photo.net, I was worried, that it might be too adventurous, but only until other people started writing in and sending some of their boudoir photos, as they were encouraged by my choice for that week. 

I look forward to seeing your chosen favourite photos.  Jana 

Week 56; Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/6.3, 1/160s 

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

 had a very hard time choosing between my two favorite photos for this week.  The first one I considered was taken in January 2011 of “my” hawk.  I’ve chased hawks ever since, but haven’t come close to getting a shot that I like as much as that one.  I seem to have lost the touch necessary for getting a sharp bird photo.  But it was on my favorite list because of the proud feeling I had in the capture of it.
 
I chose my favorite as what I call Opie/Mayberry photo, taken in October, for several reasons.  Most of those reasons involve emotion……..that is one of my precious grandchildren there with his fish and our new puppy.  He caught his little fish all by himself, but his “Papaw” wasn’t in the same fishing spot as we were, so we had to trek over to where he was to show him the fish, still on the line!  I took this as a memory photo while following along.  (Grandmothers take lots of those type photos!)  After I saw it, it seemed to ask for the sepia tone that I thought preserved the memory, and the innocent look.  Joe gave me some very nice comments on this photo, and he’ll never know how much I appreciate his words.  My brother, sister-in-law, and husband also love this photo, they may be a little partial to the subject though. (-:

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

LAKE RANCH TRAIL

It’s pretty hard for me to pick my favorite photo of the many I submitted to Joe’s group for 2011. However, I fell this one has a lot of elements I find I really like a lot.

My wife & I were hiking in West Marin, on a ten-mile loop route, up and down the hills. I was a little familiar with the area but not overly. The area is along the Inverness Ridge above theOlemaValley(theSan Andreas Faultas it runs through the county). The fog helped a lot — shooting in the woods with bright sunshine isn’t fun or inspiring — fog is and it mutes the colors and exposure values nicely. Many elements of the “rules of thirds” are at play in this composition.

Camera and lens: Canon EOS 7D, 16-25 2.8L lens at 19mm

Exposure: ISO 400, -1/3 EC, f/5.6, 1/100; Sept. 2011.

I am really looking forward to what everyone else picked out! I hope 2012 is as good or better than 2011 was. Thanks Joe!

 

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello everyone
Happy new year to you all
My photo is from week 57. A bromeliad taken with the lensbaby.
I like this photo and my mum loves it so that will do me. She has it as an 18 x 12 in a white frame hanging from her wall. I must say it looks fantastic in the white frame

 

 

 Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

Well, best of year. Second year of this group. Great work everyone, especially Joe for working hard on the group altogether!

How and why I’ve chosen this photo? To be honest, I could pick some other, and my favorite photo of last year even didn’t see this group…

I’ve chosen this photo, because it was my first real photo trip with plan, idea, purpose, etc. Davorin and myself went there had a great day and I’m proud to say created some great photos. This is one of them. So, decision wasn’t  too difficult after all. I hope that some of you agree with me. 🙂 Speaking of best photos, on my blog there is my selection of best photos from last year, so if you have time and will, take a look here:

http://www.filiplucin.com/wordpress/en/year-2011-in-10-photos/

Greetings, Filip.

 

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

 My favorite for 2011 is this shot of old fisherman taken in a small fishermen village on Romanian Black Sea coast. I still recall that morning coming back from the sea, the catch was small and obviously the guys not very happy for hard work with little reward. I took this shot more like trying to fill up the moment and I didn’t hold much hope for it. That’s the surprise factor when shooting film, great expectations shots turning not so good or the opposite happening too.

I only wish to get back to this old man and give him a print…

Shot with Mamiya 7II, Mamiya 50mm F/4.5 lens, Kodak TriX 400 film

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All
Difficult to choose. Perhaps I love others more but I decided for the one I sent for week 87. It was the first time I shoot this kind of events. I remember the preparations, the wait for the right moment. I would have liked to blur more the background but I couldn’t go closer

Nikon D300 + 80-200 2.8@ 200 mm
ISO 1000 – f 2.8 – 1/2500

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

So many photo’s and I was in no doubt that this one was my best shot.
A very rare situation, at least when it happens right in front of you with time to get your camera too.

Looking forward to see your choices.

All the best

Jens

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

2011 was a solid gold year photographically for me – largely due to a fabulous trip spending the entire month of May traveling through California and the Pacific North West.  I was blessed with magnificent scenery, lighting conditions like I’ve never seen before and got lucky on several occasions with wildlife sightings and perfect sunny sky photo opportunities.  However, my favorite photo of this month long journey was taken in perhaps the most subdued day time lighting conditions I’ve ever shot in along with with a perfect still fog hanging in the canopy many meters above the snow bound earth.

My partner Susan wandered into the trees atSequoiaNational Parkjust a short distance ahead of me which gave this opportunity to use her as a scale against the leviathan trunks of the sequoiadendron giganteum, a tree which i had wanted to see in habitat ever since I was a small boy reading science books.  Perhaps not technically my best exposure for the year 2011 but easily my favorite.

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 I’ve been active in photography for 30 years and I still struggle capturing the image I see in my head with my camera. This shot was taken for what I saw – a great opportunity for a 3-D image. What turned out was interesting juxtaposition in architecture. Oh well.

I hope y’all have a great new year.
Don
Canon S100, 1/40 sec, f5

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 I picked this shot of the baby racoons because of how hard I had to work to get the shot. I also got very attached to watching for them each day. The mom would start moving around each day around the same time we would be taking lunch. She would circle the palm tree and check out to see if it was safe. Then she would wake up the kids and lead them in walking around the top of the palm and show them how to climb thru the branches.. So I would have to follow this parade each day with my camera and hope to get them to even look in my direction. That never worked. So I went up stairs and opened up the window that was only 5′ from the palm and removed the screen and hung out and waited for them to pass by. Probably took 1,000 shots to get this one. There cute little faces stole my heart.

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Empire state building, my pick

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

What a great year it was for the group.  So much talent, so many beautiful photos and such diversity.

Thank you Joe for all your efforts!

For my favorite this year, I decided to pick a BW photo.. mostly because that was always my first love in photography. As for the actual photo, I picked the little girl in Jerash who was busy skipping around on the cobblestones.  It’s a favorite on many levels.

First, I rarely shoot people photos; second, I love the fact that as far as she was concerned, I did not exist ( I was close, 24mm lens); third, I only had a moment to react, and managed to nail it.

Thanks again to everyone for sharing their ‘babies’ with the rest of us J

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

This is picture of mountain Zir inLika,Croatia. For several years, my great desire was to capture the mountain. Last year, that my wish was fulfilled. That is why this is my photo of the year.

Cheers,

Davorin Mance       www.davorinmance.com

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

 Shadoe wearing his Halloween Costume” – Yes, his name is spelled that way. Of all of the photos that I submitted, I liked this the best. Dogs don’t normally pose very well, so I shot it a bit wide, then cropped the image tight. Everything worked out well – the light, exposure, catch light in the eye, and I was lucky to catch him when he wasn’t moving.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/1000 sec.

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 Sorry I’ve been away even after my wedding. I was switching jobs, so it was a bit hectic for a few weeks again. This shot is from the yearly Mazu festival inTaiwan. Mazu is the goddess of the sea – and she is important to the many fishermen inTaiwan. This is a procession including her which actually goes quite a distance – lasting for about a week. It’s one of the biggest religious processions in the world and means a lot to the adherents. 

These San Tai Zi gods are dancing in front of her altar. This is probably one of my top five personal favorite photos due to the color, composition, and “just right” timing. The scene was more chaotic than it looks, as firecrackers were going off and huge crowds are in attendance. I took it with my 35mm prime at ISO 200, f/2.8 (I’m not sure why f/2.8, but oh well!) and a fast shutter of 1/4000. f/5.6 or f/8 probably would’ve been fast enough – but I can’t complain about the technical aspects as it worked out in the end anyway. 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is one of my favorites because it represents an area of the country that I love so much.  I love the “wildness” of the land and the serene beauty of the landscape.  I love the colors – the varying shades of blues and greens- my favorite colors.  I love the wide open space.  

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Choosing your favourite submission can be challenging, and I’ve only been with the group a few months. After lots of toing and froing, I chose thise photo, as it was one of the very few where the execution matched my vision. While other of my submissions may have generated more feedback, this one is the one I was most excited about submitting.

Wayne

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

I guess my favorite of my photos was from week 90. It’s a b&w photo of a cemetery statue.  It’s not easy picking a favorite from my own submissions. I’m not a good judge of my own work : )    

DAVID

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

This is one of the top 5 photos of the thousands I’ve taken that I absolutely love.  I love the snow, the horses coloring, the way they cross each other, the fact that one’s bum is up higher than the other. 

But most of all I can’t believe that I took this shot, so it makes me feel good to look at.

Happy Photo of the Year everyone!

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

This is my favourite photo I submitted, there are others which have more skill, which other people will appreciate more and which others may choose as their favourite. However this one is a photo which hands on my parents and my Nans wall, which sits on my desk at work and which I don’t grow tired of and which always stirs up emotions. I’m sure it will continue to as the children grow older and because it is a photo I will come back to time and time again I have to pick this one for my favourite of the year.
 
This weeks photos are beautiful, thak you all for sharing them.
Emma

 

 

Stacy Winsett – McAllen, Texas

This was submitted as a spare back in September. It is my favorite from this year because I love the colors, the silhouette, and the memory. Taken outside the Sunset Restaurant onZumaBeachinMalibu during my honeymoon weekend.

Stacy

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Midnight soldier….Week 85….

This shot was the most powerful and memorable moment for me.  I met this guy, Raul, who had just spent the last 5 years inIraqandAfghanistanfighting for our county. .  We spent about 7 hours together doing a photo shoot for the T-shirt company “Midnight Soldier”   He is a sharpshooter,  go figure….anyhow..He was very quiet and reserved and I was trying hard to break through he pain and heartache that was so deeply apparent.  We talked a lot, but what I remember most was asking him about the skulls tattooed on his arm.  He told me that they were of all of his friends that he lost in battle.  All of his “brothers” that he watched die right before his eyes….OMG…my heart sank….Another moment was when I told him that he had such intense eyes and I was looking forward to taking his photo and getting into his soul via those eyes…his response was, “I have no soul” .  WOW…Just rewriting this makes me want to cry.  He left a week later for a mission…they had hired him for special ops….Crazy.  We live our simple wonderful lives worrying about things that really do not even matter. Raul has been fighting a war, risking his life every minute of everyday, seeing his friends die in his arms, carrying 80 pound packs in 120 degree weather…need i say more.  It was a life changing day for me and I am so grateful that I was able to spend that time with him.

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Sunset at Great Bridge VA
While we were all waiting for the locks to cycle, prior to entering the Inter Coastal Waterway (ICW).
The water just before the locks was still and there was not a breath of wind, so the boats would just come up and turn off their engines and they would wait in place.

Nikon D200 F/3.8 1/5sec, 18-70 lens @ 24mm

 

 

Lara Zinn – Velbert, Germany

Selected for Lara

Was very popular both here and on 365

 

 

 Bill Shenton – Sheldon, CT

Selected from Bill’s wonderful photos

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

