Week 102 – January 11, 2012

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

I broke one of my main rules – always have a camera with you. Yesterday I had to visit a client in Long IslandCityright by the edge of the East River. When I left at 5 PM I passed a LIC park with walking piers out towards the Manhattan Skyline. No camera, darn, so out comes the cell phone.. 

Instead of trying to correct the photo to l DSLR standards, I decided to leave the noise and accent it to look like film grain.. A quick pass thru Photomatrix with my single shot HDR method and I think you end up with something decent. 

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Work’n for a Living

Believe it or not, this is not on the ocean, but on the Inter Coastal Waterway (ICW).

The ICW was created for this kind of traffic.  I liked the bright colors on the tug as he pushed his barge north.

Nikon D200 F/8 1/400sec, 18-70 lens @ 48mm

 

 

 Lara Zinn – Velbert, Germany

 This shot was named “Framed in Ghost Town”. It was taken on the 26th Dec. We were out to get some brunch but got really shocked that the city was totally empty. Found just one restaurant opened. So since the streets were desert I´ve set my camera on my tripod and automatic shutter (like the previous one, Lara 101, “It Raining Again”.
For this composition I also used my 50 mm, f. 8 and iso 400. I´ve tonemapped one exposured and got this painterly effect.

All the best for new year.

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Here inDenmarkwinter has not come yet and temperature are +5C.

Sunday in the forest, a little grey but some fine views though.

Here is one. D700 24mm F/13 1/40s

Happy Wednesday all.

Jens

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Here is the scene from the traditional New Year event.  We go to shrine – any shrine, local shrine, or big shrine, doesn’t matter – on new year days to pray for the good year.  This one is one of the biggest one in Tokyo- Meiji Shrine. and I took the first gate to it.  Traditionally, there are lots of gods for Japanese people, more precisely, gods have been believed to be in anything, anywhere.  So, shrines are just the place to thank and pray for those gods.  So, any shrine is generally okay to go to – of course these days some shrine boast it is good at academic accomplishment and another boast it is good at finding spouse, for, I assume, commercial purposes.  Anyway, what is important is the heart to pray (hey, most Japanese are atheists on the surface, but not in the hearts, and this is almost only occasion they go to shrine), so we go any shrine during the new years days.  Hope you had wonderful new years days, too. 

Ken    www.kih.me
D700, 24-70 @26mm, f/8, 1/100s, ISO500 (Auto)

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Happy New Year Again!  We’re already in our second week of 2012.

Although theBellingrathGardenscelebration ‘Magic Christmas in Lights’ is about Christmas, I chose a photo this week that could have been for any moment in time.  

We had arrived before sunset and the ‘magic’ really didn’t develop for about an hour.  In this photo the sky was the beautiful blue that you get 20-30 minutes after sunset.  There was absolutely no breeze, the pond or lake was perfectly calm and the reflections were almost as vivid and clear as the images themselves.  When we came out of a ‘tunnel of lights’ I was struck by the reflections on the water and in particular the reflection of the tree.  The swans were in the middle of the lake and they were the focal point of this display.  The swans were being photographed by hundreds of visitors but I was so taken with the tree and its reflection that I moved around the lake until I found a spot that allowed me to frame the photo with the tree and its reflection.  I didn’t want the reflection to interfere with all of the displays and I think I was able to accomplish my goal.

Have a Great Week and I look forward to Your Favorites on Friday.

Gej

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings all.

The other day while visitng a friend, we were sitting under the shade in the garden chatting, and I pulled out the camera to try out the new monpod. Not that much of interest to shoot, but really enjoyed the Pigeon sillouette against the cloud. Didn’t even need a polariser to get the sky this blue.

Taken with a Nikon D300 and Tamron 70-300VC.

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

This is recent photo I took on the lake nearby. The sun was about to set on that cloudy day, but it was still high enough to paint the clouds roaming on the sky. I was using my ND filter to create long exposure photo. Croped it to square and that’s about that.

I hope you like it.

Nikon D80+Sigma 10-20@11.5mm, f8, ISO 200, 69.7 sec.

Greetings, Filip.

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Went on a photography date last Sat. night with my wife. We went to a new park on the water in search of some cool birds. She was armed with her new Nikon 1. Saw a lot of cool birds that were a lot faster than we could react. I had a large hawk fly right at me within 15 ‘ and I was on manual focus so my shots were all bad. This guy was movin’ slow enough for me. 

Nikon D3x, Nikon 80-400, 280mm, !/50sec, F/11, ISO 800

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Just the resident Veteran’s Park blue heron.  I’m doing a lot of practicing to try to get sharp bird photos. Lately, it has almost been impossible.  Hope this one passes.
 
f/7.1, 1/800s, Auto ISO 400, 300mm

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

Peek-A-Boo” — I really love to watch the orangutans at the zoo. They are so funny, and love to cover themselves with cloths, cardboard boxes, or whatever is handy. They behave much like children, and have many “human characteristics.” This one at the Jackson Zoo was playing peek-a boo with the park’s visitors.

Nikon D200, ISO 400, f/5.6, 1/100 sec.

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – Mcallen, Texas

The weather has been very nice lately, so last Wednesday, I went to the beach for a brief stay (South Padre Island, TX). I’ve never seen so many hawks at the beach before! I finally got a picture of the elusive White-tailed Kite. I think it’s one of the prettier hawks.

It’s rare to be able to get so close to one. I stalked this one in my car, and used the car for my “bird blind”.

 I was able to get within 10-15 yards of it. 😀

Taken with D7000/70-300mm VR. 

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com

 

 

Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

 I had a wonderful time with my MeetUp photography club (North Texas Photography Club) over the weekend. We went toTaylorDanceCenterinMcKinney,Texasto shoot several ballerinas. We had one room with a studio lighting setup, and another room with all natural light from the windows. I have some others posted on my Facebook page, but I saved one for the club. 🙂 I’m currently taking a photographic design class, and have been working a lot with photoshop layers and textures – our final project for the class is a surrealistic landscape. This ballerina was so doll-like with her porcelain skin, and just had a very classic look, so I decided to experiment with some old-time film textures. I’m happy with the outcome – 9 layers later!

Studio lighting setup – 2 800w strobes, beauty dish, hair light (not my lighting or I would give more specs on the brands/wattage…sorry)

Nikon D90  Kit lens 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6   ISO 200, 45mm, 1/200 @ f/18

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

 Hello everyone .    

We have been having some unseasonably warm weather

Went out to try and find some birds and well ran across this guy gathering pollen.

Hope you enjoy.

D7000   300mm f/4.

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi sharpshooters!

On Saturday I was with friends from the Photo Club on a photo walk to a nearby hill. We planned to photograph the sunset. While I was looking for a favorable location for the shooting, I took a photo of this pine, almost identical to the shot I’ve taken more than year ago. Then the base of the mountain was covered with fog and low clouds hide the mountains in the distance. I turned the photo into black and white. On Saturday, they were significantly different conditions, so I was curious how it will look. Here is in front of you, so check yourself 🙂

Olympus e-510, Olympus 12-60 f/2,8-4,0  @ 60mm, ISO 200, 1/60 sec @ f/8, handheld.

Best regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Amusement parks are common during Christmas celebrations bringing colors and fun to a dull winter without a trace of snow so far. I find interesting those funny looking old style and design carousels with kitschy naive paintings. Ironically, although some of these things are very likely to be older than me the carousel name painted on says it’s the youth’s chains.

Technical info: Mamiya 645 Pro TL, Mamyia 55mm F/2.8 lens, Kodak Ektar 100 film (not exactly my favorite film, I always prefer neutral saturation of Portra line)

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Beauty Below….

Cannon EOS 60D, ISO 100, F/9, 1/80

A great day inHuntington Beach,California….Right now…this is my favorite shot to look at.  Been getting into landscapes lately…..

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

I had no idea what photo to pick for this week.  I had 400 photos of a photo session I did but I didn’t want to use any of those. I started searching through all my folders of photos when I came upon my ‘To File’ folder with over 1200 photos in it.  I decided to go with that and find something.  This is what I found.

This was taken from inside my office at the end of October just at the start of the big blizzard and the only snow we’re seen so far this year!  I have an idea for something I want to create with window panes so when I saw this photo it reminded me of that and I decided to see if I could play with this and make it look a touch better.

It’s definitely different for me, right? Not a horse anyway.

I can’t wait to see the Photos of the Year!

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

This is a Willie (Willy) Wagtail. It is the largest, and most well-known, of the Australian fantails.  Its black throat, white eyebrows and whisker marks are what distinguishes it from other similar-sized black and white birds.  Their nests are made out of spider web!

D300 + 200VRII at f/2, 1/500s and ISO 200

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Here’s a photo I took of my friend Kyle skating on a grocery store’s delivery ramp in back. Once I got the shots from this shoot on my computer, him & I started going through them. He said he always thought black & white images with certain colors left in the frame were interesting, so I got to editing and a little while later came up with this. 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Bottle Line-up”

I lined up six actual (but mini) taster bottles from the Duckhorn collection (includes Paraduxx, Goldeneye, & Migration) and shot their portrait with my fast 85mm lens, wide open.

Canon EOS 7D, 85mm at f/1.8, 1/40, ISO 200 — 1/7/2012

-Ken Papai

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

“On AHillside”

A shot from a rural cemetery I discovered earlier today. Lovely place. Gravesites dating back to the 1870’s.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

A few words about last week’s edition of Sharpshooters: Superb!  Everyone contributed such wonderful photos. Last week was probably my favorite since I first joined the group.

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Let us hope that 2012 will be a good year, with love in our hearts….

From New Years Eve

Per-Chr.

Nikon D300, Nikkor 24-70

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

Week 102 already – clean forgot to submit a photo as I’ve been working out late using daylight savings well into the evenings………..  I have quickly raced out to the car port and pointed the 55mm at these swallows, very close to fledging now, these are the 3rd cluch from this particualr nest this spring /summer. 

Quick photo, took 10 seconds to shoot and 30 seconds to crop and re-size from the camera…….. D700 + Nikkor Ai 55mm f3.5 @ f/5.6 1/150th sec,  ISO 2000

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All

A glass sculpture at theVictoriaandAlbertMuseuminLondon

Nikon D300 + 50 mm 1.4

Iso 1000 – f 2.2 – 1/ 320

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

Rick Dohme – 3 photo essay

I’m very excited about my shots this week. I live in an old house built in 1930 in the middle of an orange grove. When I moved here 20 years ago the house was on one acre of land with 4 fruit trees and 7 pecan trees. I only have 2 fruit trees and 3 pecan trees left. The birds and squirrels just love the pecan trees.

I’m always checking the trees for a good shot. I’ve been trying for the past 5 years to get a good shot of the woodpeckers that visit often.Sunday morning I was pretty sick with a cold so I stayed home from church. As I was resting on the couch I heard quite a lot of bird chirping outside that caught my attention. So I went out and witnessed a feud between one family of woodpeckers and a lone male who must have been too close to their tree or food source.

 The two smaller Downy Woodpeckers, a male and a female (red head male), were flying at the poor Red-Bellied male and giving him a lot of grief wherever he went. He seemed unfazed as this went on for over 2 hours. I got to shoot over 200 pictures as they stayed around so long. I tried every lens I had. After 5 years I finally got some shots I liked.

Nikon D3x, Nikon 300 2.8, f/8, 1/125 sec, ISO 64, SB 900 flash

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

