Week 103 – January 18, 2012

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

With just a little bit of light

Last week I took a ride up to the pier inRyejust about twilight. It was a pretty warm day for January.  At first I thought nothing special was happening with the sun set, but as the light levels grew lower and lower I played around with some low light exposures.

When I saw this appear on the back monitor of the camera I was completely surprized. What I saw in the viewfinder and what the camera did with a little bit of light was amazing.. The viewfinder was very dark, so I played with long exposes hand held with the camera braced against fences and poles. Different exposures and different Iso’s chimping the photos on the monitor till I got the results I wanted. A little patience and within a few shots you can get good results.

  Then after the light was gone I tried one with almost complete darkness. I put the camera on the railing and tried several time exposures.  The darkness had turned into interesting blues with little contrast from the sea and the sky.    I had tried similar shots here before but I finall hit it right this time.

 What I find interesting in this shot is that the slow shutter speed gave the moving water a silky look except for right next to the rock jetty where there was little movement.  The small area of still water added a strip of reflection right next to the rocks.

 

 

Lara Zinn – Velbert, Germany

My best result inside the 365project. We are having very scarce lighting here in Germany… it is always cloudy, raining and foggy. So I decided to make a composition of what was available.

Shot this one with my 50 mm, iso 400 and f. 3.5.

Hope you all had a wonderful holidays. Sorry if I am not the best to reply the messages, I read them all, but seldom got time to reply them so diligently like everyone. 

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

 Hey GUYS. All that writing about HD filters made me take a walk down the beach with my ND filter to capture this.

 Had to try a lot of times to get the right light, not easy to measure with a ND10 filter. Also had to blind the oculareven I do not know how falls light affects the photo when the mirror is up? It did though.

Normally I always use the lens hood and it is absolutely necessary when using long exposure times and the sun is shining.

D700 70-200@170mm Manual focus f/22 20s ISO 200 +NX2

All the best

Jens

  

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

I haven’t had many opportunities for photography this past week.  This morning I had this bloom on my hibiscus plant that I had brought in for the winter.  It did brighten up my day.
 
Nikon D7000, F/6.3, 1/20, ISO 1000

  

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

I recently took a trip up to the Granite Dells inPrescott, on the way I visited an old mining town called Jerome.

On that outskirts of Jerome is someone who collects all kinds of old cars and machinery.

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All

ThanksWaynefor your comments on last week pics!

Here the baroque interior of St Peter Church ( Peterskirche ) inVienna, taken last month

Nikon D300 + Tamron 10-24 @ 11mm

ISO 200 – f 7.1 – 0.8 sec

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Olive Jar and Spider Web” — I was walking around the Oak Alley Antebellum Plantation Home, when I spied the evening sunlight on this old olive jar. These pottery jars were used to ship olives, and other goods during the days of old sailing ships. When they were empty, they were often put to use as flower pots, or for other useful purposes. Now, they are quite popular, and while you will pay plenty for an original antique, contemporary reproductions are available everywhere.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/60 sec., aperture priority

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good Morning Sharpshooters!

I think I came down with the same virus that Joe was consumed with a few weeks ago.  No desire to venture out to photograph.  Kind of a blah feeling when it comes to picking up the camera.

As it turns out, I didn’t photograph anything this week that I was pleased with.  The photos that I did shoot this week were all deleted after viewing them on the computer.  So, I looked back four years and came up with this photo.

It was taken at our eldest daughters wedding.  While heading to the beach, I spotted this fella and stopped for a photo.  He posed and I clicked off a half dozen photos.  This one is cropped but not too much.  I think I was about three feet away when I took this shot.

Hoping that the warm weather kills the virus!

Gej

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

 I haven’t had the camera out much of late, which is a sad state of affairs. So this week I’m submitting some photos taken last year when I was out testing the Zeiss Jena 50mm f/2.8 lens I won on auction. This really is a wow lens for me, and really wish I had a Nikon mount version. As for the subject matter, who can resist a merry go round?

Taken with a Voigtlander VSL-1 and Zeiss Jena 50mm f/2.8 Kodak gold 200 film. (the cheap stuff)

Wayne

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Clouds
So I missed the theme week we had for clouds since every time I could get some photos of clouds there weren’t any clouds! Yesterday I flew from Vermont to Reno, Nevada and from the airplane I too some shots of the clouds (before I was told to stop taking photos, meanies). Here’s one that I thought was unique.
I’m in Squaw Valley, California now for a trade show and I can’t wait to start taking photos today. It’s just a HDR photographer’s heaven!! Have a good week everyone. Clouds
So I missed the theme week we had for clouds since every time I could get some photos of clouds there weren’t any clouds! Yesterday I flew from Vermont to Reno, Nevada and from the airplane I too some shots of the clouds (before I was told to stop taking photos, meanies). Here’s one that I thought was unique.
I’m inSquaw Valley,California now for a trade show and I can’t wait to start taking photos today. It’s just a HDR photographer’s heaven!! Have a good week everyone.

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Golden GateBridgeduring morning winter storm over the Bay Area — while riding the ferry on choppy seas to the office,  

EOS 7D, 24-70 lens, ISO 800.

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

 Cannon EOS 60D, ISO 200, F/5.6, 1/200

The High In My Eyes….This is Josh…Met him inVenice.  We chatted for awhile and he was really open to me taking photos.  He was a great subject.  He was smoking a lot of pot during the time we hug out and was really trying to convince me to partake.  He, like most of the homeless kids I talk to seem to be at peace with their life.  My goal for this year is to try to do what I can to help them all find a better path.

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Vanishing point (Still shooting things that don’t move J)

This is a railroad line that runs from a quarry near my house down toLong Islandsound.

Nikon D200 F/13 1/60sec, 18-70 lens @ 70mm 

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello everyone.   I am sorry I couldn’t comment back last week.  Have been busy these days.  Here is my submission this week.  Concourse of the station, which I believe I posted the one taken from the other side in B&W while ago.  This time, I was with the wide zoom and I like what it did.  Hope you have a wonderful week!  Ken
www.kih.me

D700, 16-35mm VR f/4 @16mm, f/8, 1/40s, ISO200

 

 

Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

bought a small glass orb (about 2″) to expore some creative options for a school assignment on surrealism. I have had so much fun with this little thing!

Post processing includes rotating images 180 degrees to correct the orientation of the scene within the globe. I also experimented with setting the globe on a base to shoot, but I like the hand showing to really show what is happening in the image. The 35mm is the perfect lens for this kind of shooting because you can get such good, crisp focus at arm’s length. I highly recommend adding one to your arsenal. You can find them online (google glass orb), but I found mine at a craft store – it was part of a patio decoration. The decoration was ugly, so I just kept the ball and discarded the rest. 🙂

Nikon D90 Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 1/2000 @ f/3.5 ISO 200

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

ThanksWaynefor you kind comments. Looking forward to a great week. Thought I’d try shooting some early morning dew shots of this hibiscus. I think this old Nikon manual macro lens I have is the sharpest I have. Funny its the cheapest I have too.

Nikon D3x, Nikon 105 AIA 2.8 macro, F/16, 1/60 sec, ISO 50, SB 900 flash

  

 

Jeannean Ryman – Mcallen Texas

I’ve been enjoying the beautiful weather we’ve been having with outings toBentsenState Park. I nearly ran smack into this Eastern Screech Owl hiding in the tree cavity. They camouflage themselves very well! This little guy is about 1/4 the size of the Great Horned Owl I found not too long ago. Both look similar, except for their size.

D7000/70-300mm VR Tags: Eastern Screech Owl,BentsenState Park

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

  

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a shot from our sailing trip last week to the BVI-  this is where we anchored our first night out – Little Harbour, Peter’sIsland.   It was incredibly beautiful – the color of the water was just gorgeous.  Nothing at this little cove except some great snorkeling and relaxation.  A great start to an amazing week!  

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

My son ready to blow out the candles on his 16th Birthday this month.  The pop-up flash on the D300 was used.  The shot was taken “on the fly”.  16 yo’s don’t stay still.

 D300 + 24-70 f/2.8 at 48 mm 1/60s -0.67EV (AP hand-held) 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

I’ve been active in photography for 30 years and I still struggle capturing the image I see in my head with my camera. This shot was taken for what I saw – a great opportunity for a 3-D image. What turned out was interesting juxtaposition in architecture. Oh well.

I hope y’all have a great new year.

Don

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This is the magnificent flower of a Puya alpestris plant.  Puya alpestris is a terrestrial bromeliad which originates from the high open gravel scree slopes of the Chilean Andes.  This particular species – alpestris produces the most out of this world metalic turquoise flowers with bright orange stamens.  I grew this plant from seed and it finally flowered for me after 8 years, for a plant fancier such as myself to see this in my own garden is well worth the wait………

Captured on a tripod with D700 + Nikkor Ai 55mm f/3.5 micro lens @ f/11, 1/500th sec, ISO 400 straight out the camera – used a custom white balance before taking the exposures in an attempt to nail the flower colour.

  

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 Just love these night shots on the way home from work

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Son and niece trying a bit of photo modeling, so future looks promising. Looking forward for photo of the year edition, good luck to Joe with his connectivity troubles. 

 Technical info: Nikon F6, Nikon 50mm F/1.4 lens, Kodak Tmax 100

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

First, thank you Wayne for comments on all photos, including mine. Yes,  square crop have it charms. Hassy is expensive toy, perhaps to start with some TLR? Not versatile as Hassy, but not nearly so expensive. 🙂

 My photo for this week, is taken on the same hill and same trip as Davorin’s pine tree from last week. I was around 15 meters lower though. 🙂 We did come with intention to photograph sunset. Though it didn’t look like it will happen, as you can see the sun showed up just at the right place  at the right time, so I could capture this fiery sunset. Not perfect  composition but trust me, it was great feeling watching this sunset.

Techs are Nikon D80 + Sigma10-20@10mm (should I write this part at all?

😀 ), f10, 1.6 sec, ISO100 + 3stop Cokin GND filter.

 I’m looking forward to see your photos tomorrow, thank to Joe and his hard work for all of us.

 Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

  

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

Gej Jones

BellingrathGardensis so vast that there is something for everyone.  Near theAsianGardenarea there was this hugh Dragon.  It must have been 25-30 feet long.  I think those are rockets to the right of the dragon but for kids they might see them as Crayola Crayons. 

It’s easy to see why it takes nearly three months to put everything in place.  I’d hate to be the person responsible for checking the 3,000,000 lights each year…. and yet there would be some job security.

Have a great week.

 

 

Haig Tchamitch

The town called Jerome itself has a few interesting spots as well.

 

 

Wayne Ervine

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

