Week 104 – January 25th 2012

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

The Heavens Above

I cannot believe that I took this yesterday afternoon.
Around 4:30 I went to Glen Island in New Rochelle and never expected to find such a dramatic cloud filled sunset. It looks 10 times better up on my large monitor. There’s nothing else I can say about this one.

I shot almost 200 photos while I was there. This had only very minimal post processing – only slight adjustments to the exposure and contrast. The color and temp is SOOC.

 

 

Deb Sulzberger – Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

 WedgeIslandis on the coast of Western Australiaand was a place i visited while holidaying, Tasmaniais actually my home state in Australia.
There is just something about the colours that appeal to me and it was perfect beach weather with a temperature on the day of 40+ degrees

 

 

Frits Stempher – Maastricht the Netherlands

 Hello, my name is Frits Stempher and I live inMaastrichttheNetherlands. Think it’s very nice that I may participate in this international photo club.

During one of my walks with my camera on a rainy day I saw these reflections in a pond at the Atomium BruxellesBelgium.

Greetings Frits Stempher

MaastrichttheNetherlands

Uw berichtkannu met het volgende bijlagen of koppelingen worden verzonden

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

 Hitch’n a ride

This pod of dolphins was hung with us for hours, each of them trading off swimming right in from of the bow.

 Nikon D200 F/7.1 1/200sec, 18-70 lens @ 18mm

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All

Here a of small figurine of Baby Jesus sleeping. Part of the collections of the Museo del Romanticismo inMadrid. Made in wood and then painted. Is from around 1650, the baroque period. It was made in Andalucia region, probably in the town ofGranada.

Tipical of the period to combine the purity and inocence of the baby with symbols of the mortality of men.

Nikon D300 + 50 mm 1.4  ISO 1600 – f 2.5 – 1/30

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

 The photo club I am a member of, http://www.oelstykke.fotoklub.dk, is also part of a cooperation with a lot of photo club’s aroundCopenhagen

Several times a year, there are competitions where a lot of photographers participate, me to, and to attract as many as possible for ‘judgement time’, there was a workshop with 3 models two hours before the winners were announced. It was so successful that 150 photographers showed up! I only got a minute with each model so I had to be quick at the release button. This is the one I Like most.

As always a larger photo at http;//www.fotomedia.dk/JensFrederiksen/index.php?/category/11.

 All the best, Jens

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

 It was a dull day for attempting this photo, but it is unusual to see ducks on our lake.  Especially, this many! 
 
Nikon D7000, F5.6, 1/2000s, ISO1600

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

 “Inspector Peacock” – I am always amused by the behavior of peacocks. There was a restaurant (Tchoupitoulas Plantation Restaurant) up river fromNew Orleansthat had peacocks roaming the grounds. After parking the car, while walking to the entrance, the peacocks would come right up in front of us, and look us up and down, as if inspecting us to give approval. The peacocks at the Jackson and Audubon zoos do likewise.

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/7.1, 1/250 sec.

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Here is another one I took during the walk in the fine winter weather.  Just did some painting with Capture NX2 (have never used PS or other S/W, ever :-)).  Very seasonal flower and they are blooming here and there now.  Today, It is massively snowing in Tokyo, where snow accumulation is not as common as in NY.  I am afraid how the road will be tomorrow morning.  Of course, I don’t use car or don’t even have one as I commute by subway, but I don’t like to walk in the snow to the station, which is 30 seconds away 🙂  Hope you are having a great week!  Ken

www.kih.me
D700, 16-35mm f/4 @17mm, f/4, 1/250s, ISO200, with Capture NX2

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!  For this week I decided to send something different. Photo taken last summer when I was on vacation. I liked how the birds all aligned and how the brown one is looking on other side from others. Seagull with attitude. 🙂 Nikon D80 +Tamron 70-300@240mm, ISO 400, f8, 1/250 sec.

 I’ve enjoyed your photos last week. I expect the same this week too.

Greetings, Filip.

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

Hi All

Hope everyone is having a good week – nasty weather down here in theSouthern US-  lots of rain and stormy weather!     My shot this week is another from our recent sailing trip.  This was taken in Little Harbour at Peter’s Island as the sun was setting – I never did get a full on sunset shot – either we were out and about and in the wrong spot, or we had some clouds – but this was a really lovely evening and I think the shot conveys the peace and quite we so enjoyed.   Really such a beautiful spot and soothing to the soul.    Looking forward to everyone’s work this week and wishing you all a great week!

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Squaw ValleySki Resort

I spent last week at a Trade Show here and unfortunately didn’t get as much time as I would have liked to take pictures.  But I did get a couple and here’s one of them.  This mountain should be all white not brown.  It’s been a terrible winter for theUSboth on the East and West coasts.  Ski Resorts are hurting badly.

This shot was taken just outside the front entrance to the hotel and no I’m not standing in the water just next to it!

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 One word – Cow

Wardsbooro,Vermont– by the house

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Last week I was at a Ford dealership close to my house. As I was talking to the salesman I saw an Eagle fly out of a cell tower and dive into a lake. I asked the salesman if he saw the eagle and he said yes they are there every year building a nest. He said I was welcome to go back by there fenced in lake and take pictures. So I was at the dealership at 6:45 am Sat. morning waiting for the gate to open. I spent 3 hours there and got to shoot several birds and ducks. The Eagles didn’t fly around a whole lot. This one did land in a near by dead tree three times. Wish I wouldn’t have been alone. Had a lot of fun. Next time I’m bringing a chair. I was having trouble with my 300 2.8 making contact but I read up on cleaning the contacts and it’s all better now.:)

 Nikon D3x, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/11, 1250 sec, ISO 200

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

 Cannon 60D, ISO 400, F/5/6, 1/160

Eli….This is Eli…I saw him sitting against the wall and asked him if I could take his photo.  I think this was the most chilling of my street encounters.  He was willing and ok, but as I got to about shot 10 he started to get very uncomfortable and agitated.  Not at me.  I think it was drug induced.  He was definitely on some pretty major drugs at the time, he could barely talk.  Anyhow, still found this to be a powerful moment.  I do not know how he lost his arm, and I have not seen him around since this day. I hope he is ok.

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

 Last week I got to get back into the studio again. One of the shots we did is something I have been wanting to try for some time. While it’s not my idea, I like the subtleties we captured.

Taken with a Nion D300 Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8

For this photo I shot through a lace umbrella. Definately an idea I want to try again.

Taken with a Nion D300 Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

 Sunset on my favorite river.

 Best regards, Davorin

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

 Warm welcome to new members Deb and Frits, and hopefully we’ll see Ertugrul and Gladys coming back to this group again.

 My photo for this week is from last autumn photographic shootout at a nearby airstrip, lots of old utility airplanes there but the girls has it all.

 Shot with Mamiya 645 Pro TL, Mamiya 55mm F/2.8 lens, Kodak Ektachrome EPP 100 (now discontinued).

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

 have just acquired the Sigma 150 mm f2.8 APO Macro EX DG OS and without hesitation I  went looking for something to shoot.  I came across a somewhat fearless kookaburra which allowed me to get very close.  So this is my first shot with a macro lens.  One of the things I was curious to find out about was whether you would be able to tell the difference as to whether a shot like this was taken with a macro prime lens or a normal prime lens.  I am thrilled that I finally have a macro lens.  Welcome aboard Deb and Frits.

Nikon D3s + Sigma 150 mm f2.8 macro at 1/1000s, f/3.2 and ISO 200

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

 Hi everyone.  Wonderful photo of the year thread!

With the mild winter still have a few flowers in the garden.   I was truly blessed when the lady bug decided to pay a visit.

 Hope you enjoy.

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

 “Icon”

 Another fine cemetery find….my third cemetery photo submission in a row, if I’m not mistaken. I found this statue in a small Catholic cemetery in the town ofNew London. The original color photo was nice enough, but I felt the image worked better in black & white.  Thanks all for previous kind comments

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Marin Headlands at theGolden Gate

Where: Looking back towardsSan Franciscofrom Pt. Bonita, January 2012.

My wife accompanied me this day on a short, 2-hour photo excursion. I love her patience!

Canon EOS 7D, 24mm, f/6.3, ISO 100.

 

 

Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

One Man Fishing”

January 20, 2012,LakeLavon, Lucas Texas

Nikon D90 Nikkor 35mm f/1.8  ISO 160 1/400 @ f/10

A bright day at the drought-suffering lake. I came upon many treasures in the sand – beer cans that are over 30 years old, lost sunglasses, large champagne bottles, beach sandals, and dead fish…all things previously held by the sand at the bottom of the lake. The drought has exposed them to the world now. There was one man fishing on the beach…his name was Henry. He told me he was just catching and releasing for fun, thinking of old times when his son was younger and they would fish during their lunch hour. When I spoke to him, he had 4 bass and 2 catfish on his trot lines. I told him I would probably take a photo of him when I got further down the shore, and he said that would be just fine

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

I adore this image of my parents.  I wanted to have a photo of the two of them on their small farm as they are aging and the farming life they live now can’t last forever……  I insisted they walk through the wet grass all the way around a lagoon to this location where the light was

‘just so’ and i could capture a reflection in the still black waters.  

I took this photo last year in the depths of winter in gorgeous late afternoon sunlight – I sat way over on the opposite bank of the lagoon and encouraged my parents to keep their faces up and looking into the setting sun.  I am usually a miserable portrait photogrpaher but I really like this ‘environmental’ portrait of my parents.  I had a 35 inch print made and framed and gave it to them as a Christmas present.

Captured hand held with D700 + Nikkor AF-S 70-200 f/2.8 VR lens @ 140mm, f/5.6, 1/125th sec,  ISO 400

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Welcome to our new members.  Glad to have you on board.

My photo comes from theGreat Ocean Road.

Have a great week.  I think the virus is lifting!

Gej

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Last Tuesday I went toBentsenState Park(about 11 miles from my house) and was treated to a wonderful day of nature. First, I ran into an Eastern Screech Owl, then happened upon two bobcats (mama and her young one) at a watering hole, then watched a coastal ribbon snake make a meal out of a leopard frog (that took about an hour or so). I felt like I’d stepped into the Discovery Channel! Many of you on Facebook have seen a few of the pics, so decided to post the one of the young bobcat that hasn’t been posted. The pic of both mama and the young one, was posted today by the staff at Bentsen and it was “liked” over 300 times and “shared” more than 80 times, including South Texas Outdoor Magazine and the mainTexasParksand Wildlife page. Evidently, capturing two at the same time doesn’t happen that often, so a lot of people were excited to see it.  Anyway, here is the photo of the young one. Mama had had her fill and had started walking off, but this one wasn’t finished yet.

 Taken with my Nikon D7000/70-300mm VR at 300mm. Tags: bobcats,BentsenState Park.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Rick Dohme

I also got to observe a pair of Great Blue Herons building a nest in the top of a 50′ pine tree. This is one of them launching himself off the tree to get more sticks.

Nikon D3x, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/5.6, 1/800 sec, ISO 200

 

 

Joseph Leotta

The Bird lady

When I was atGlenIslandyesterday, I spied this woman walking out onto of the docks.

I wondered what she was doing outing out there on a cold January day.  She reaches into a plastic bag and starts throwing pieces of bread into the air and water. Within a few seconds seagulls came from all directions.  

 The best part was what she did next – she takes out a point and shoot and starts snapping away at the birds eating.

 

 

Roberta Davidson

 have been trying my hand at doing some bird photography.   Lusting for

a 500mm f/4 , but way out of may budget.  So, trying to make the best with my 300mm f/4 and 1.4 TC.

Hope you enjoy.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

