Week 105 – February 1, 2012

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Another day, another fantastic sunset.

This one I had to chase. I was in the car with my wife on the way home Friday evening. It was raining hard all day and had just stopped. I noticed that a crack appeared in the clouds and brilliant sunlight was leaking thru. We were on the highway and I knew I had less than 10 minutes before the sun was gone. Just enough time to get off and go to a spot that I knew had a good westerly view in Pelham Bay Park.

Didn’t plan another sunset shot right after the other one, but you take them as they come

 

 John McGraw – Lansing Michigan

MarquetteMI- The Splash

I captured this image in the winter of 2011. It was a very cold and windy day. I had been to this location many times but this was my first time in the heart of winter. It was freezing out and I could only be out of the car for about 10 minutes at a time. I wanted there to be some light in the background to give it more depth and finally after about an hour this ray of light came through the clouds for about 15 seconds.  

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All

Here a of small figurine of Baby Jesus sleeping. Part of the collections of the Museo del Romanticismo inMadrid. Made in wood and then painted. Is from around 1650, the baroque period. It was made in Andalucia region, probably in the town ofGranada.

Tipical of the period to combine the purity and inocence of the baby with symbols of the mortality of men.

Nikon D300 + 50 mm 1.4  ISO 1600 – f 2.5 – 1/30

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

My partner Susan likes growing these colourful tuberous begonias in summer as outdoor decorations.  On Sunday morning I decided to break out the macro lens and take some images of these flowers.  These plants have separate male and female flowers.

My set up was to use using natural sunlight, filtered through a 50% UV blockout shade cloth which makes a nice even bright light which is not too harsh and doesn’t cast too much deep shadow.  I had my trusty D700 tripod mounted with even trustier Kiron 105mm f/2.8 manual focus micro lens on board with 30mm of extension tubes added in between lens and body to increase the magnification.  So these exposures are all manual, metering is guessed using the in camera exposure scale and focus was by eye.

 I set up my frames with the aperture wide open then shut the aperture nearly all the way down to f/22 and adjusted the exposure to suit then used a 5 second timer delay to capture the images as still as possible.  Neither image is cropped.  I used noise reduction tool in PS CS 3 on the male flower image to make a smoother, more arty looking image, the female flower image is ‘as is’ with some sharpening added in PS.

 

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hi all. 

As I said, great photos.  I just hope I am getting better at least a little after 100 weeks 🙂  Here is what I saw during my weekly walk around.  On the display window of a cafe nearby.  Would love to go in when it is open on weekdays. 

Ken
www.kih.me

D700, 16-35 f4, @16mm, Apperture mode, f/5.6, 1/320s, ISO200 (Auto ISO)

 

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

Great photos lately, especially the photo of the year group. It’s raising my bar pretty high.

“LongwoodPlantationAntebellum Home” – It is an imposing, octagonal structure inNatchez,Mississippi. Construction was started just before the Civil War (1861). Because of the war, construction materials became scarce, and so did revenue. The owner managed to complete the basement (ground level) and lived there while trying to complete the remainder of the house. He died, and the house was never completed, with the upper floors still as the builders left them. It is now a museum, and is open to the public (for a small fee).

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/640 sec., aperture priority

 

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Got too excited and had my settings all wrong for this photo.  However, as I tried to lighten it up some, I found that I liked it very much like this.  It is all about the shimmery reflections and the colors to me.  I hope you like it!

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Thanks to everyone who sent encouragement to my family. This was taken last week at the lake behind the Ford dealership. Had to take so many shot of these small ducks. They would never let me get closer than 1000feet. Male and female hooded mergansers.

Nikon D3x, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/6.3, 160 sec, ISO 200

 

 

 

Deb Sulzberger – Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

Dragonfly
 Last October i embarked on a personal journey to China not only to turn a childhood dream into a reality but also to scatter my fathers ashes something i had promised him before he passed the year before. I come from a chinese background and we had always planned to go to China together and walk the Great Wall together, to see where we had both come from. He had been many times but i had not….Unfortunately we did not get to do this together, in August of 2010 he was told he had liver cancer and possibly had until christmas, sadly he passed on September 11th 2010 just five weeks later.. Almost 12 months later to the day i flew out of Australia bound for China. I toured for 3 weeks and after sending off my father made my way to Xian and spent another two volunteering in Louguantai Panda Wildlife Centre.
So that brings me to the dragonfly..I have always had a fasination and love for them as did he and during my five weeks in China i was constantly surrounded by them, all different sorts, all different colours, where ever i went there were dragonflies… I like to think they were looking after and watching after me, who knows maybe they were but i do know that most days i see dragonflies, still….

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

This is from one of my favourite spots inCopenhagen, the ‘new Harbour’, OK it was new 400 years ago but it is still called that.

Shot this last Monday morning.

Looking forward to see a lot of great photos.

All the best

Jens

 

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

The Beauty Below

I took this shot at the Santa Monica Pier…I have gone there about 6 times trying to get a good shot and I finally feel like I landed one.  I wish there was more water…but such is life.  Hope you all have a wonderful week.

Cannon 60D,iso 800,  f/10, 1/60

Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

Winter’s Last Wish

Nikon D90

Nikkor 35mm f/1.8

1/4000 f/2.5 ISO 250

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

First, Rick, I’m glad Melissa is recovering. I was really shocked when I red what happened. I have no words about that… Thank God she will make it alive, everything else will come in a time.  Second, and more happy thing, welcome our new members Deb, Frits and John! I know you will like it here. I do. 🙂 Third, thank you Greg and Ken for comments!

OK, on to a business now. 🙂 I’m back on landscape track with this week photo. So far winter wasn’t too harsh here inCroatiaso couple weekends ago I went on a little bike ride. Two of my favorite things combined photography and bicycling. So, here is my bike enjoying the sunset. 🙂 I’m looking forward to your photos!  And a little advert if I may.

If some of you are on G+, you can circle me there, I post photos there everyday. Link is:

https://plus.google.com/u/0/s/Filip%20Lu%C4%8Din#117281994409815890787/posts

And since some of you are on 365 project, I have account there too. 🙂 I’m not posting too often, but you can ad me anyway.

http://365project.org/filipl/365

Greetings, Filip!

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.co

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning!

Welcome to John, happy to have you on board.

My photo comes after getting rid of the virus that Joe had and caused me to put away my camera for a couple of weeks.  Glad to say, I’m rejuvenated.

Sunsets of interest have been few and far between for nearly 10 days.  Last night there were streams of cirrus clouds, I took a chance and headed to the beach.  After taking a pretty good number of shots I headed to the car.  While passing these grasses I stopped and took another dozen shots.  I really liked what I was seeing so I continued to shoot until I could no longer focus.  Lesson learned!  I will take a flash light or ‘torch’ with me from now on.  I could have shined the light on the grasses, the camera would have auto focused and even if it hadn’t, I would have been able to focus manually.

Have a great week and I look forward to seeing all of your work.

Gej

 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is another shot from our sailing trip –  this was shot as we were sailing away from Anegada – one of my favorite places! It was a gorgeous day and the color of the water and sky was just unbelievable-  definitely a place I would love to visit again.   Hope everyone has a great week and I look forward to seeing everyone’s work again!

 

 

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

“The Workshop”

 I’ve been driving past this building for years, but this morning was the first time it occurred to me that I should photograph it. It caught my eye this morning in a way it hadn’t before. I believe it was built and used by some of the local Amish a number of years back. For reasons I am not aware of, the building is no longer in use.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

 

Frits Stempher – Maastricht the Netherlands

During a photo trip with some friends toDuisburg,Germany, I saw this situation with one of them for a billboard and saw a nice picture in it.

Greetings

Frits Stempher

 

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

my photo for this week is of one of my beautiful clients, Miss E. I added frost and snowflakes in photoshop to make the photo into a Winter themed photo. 

Have a lovely week and I look forward to your photos.

Also, welcome Deb, Frits and John, your work is fantastic, can’t wait to see more each week. 

Jana

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, CT

The following picture introduces a new Shenton in our family… Enough said… Here’s Koda…

 

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone and welcome to the new members.

Grabbed the 105mm macro again and found this monarch caterpillar on the Mexican Milkweed.  I hope this means butterflies in the garden !

Birdie

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Welcome to our new members and I appreciate the comments that were made last week. 🙂 My photo is of the super skittish Ringed Kingfisher (all Kingfishers are skittish…and FAST!). Right before this photo was taken, it was being chased by a Harrier Hawk. The hawk finally gave up. I was able to get this photo from about 10 ft. away using my car as my “blind” and my new to me Nikon 500mm f/4 – P lens. It’s an older lens with manual focus only, but has a CPU chip to meter with both film and digital cameras, and costs a LOT less than the newer AF/VR versions. I was hesitant to buy it, but after reading about this lens and talking via email with Matthew (he has one too- thank you Matthew!), I bit the bullet. I’m very glad I did. I love how the background of a fence and weeds was completely blurred out.

Taken with Nikon D7000/500mm f/4-P. Tags: Ringed Kingfisher

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

Hello,
 Sorry for my recent abscence, January has felt like a very trying month and a lot of things have had me bogged down. Today though, on the final day of the month I received an invitation to an interview. In October I applyed for a place on a photography degree course but it is very competitive for places so I didn’t really expect much to come of it. Although an interview isn’t a confirmed place it is a lot further than I expected to get. I now just need to create my portfolio and prepare for the 2 hour long interview in April!

To go with my renewed optimism I thought I would use this photo from last week, the sun breaking through the clouds just sums everything up today!
I hope February starts well for you all x

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings all.
It’s been a hectic week, and the fact that I’ve only had time to edit a few pics from my shoot saturday is not a good sign. None the less, here is 1 pic from that shoot. Lit purely by 2 lamps in the hotel room and sunlight from outside.

Taken with a Nikon D300 Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 at f/2.8

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Welcome aboard to the new members.  My shot is of the Angler’s Tavern which is a pub along theMaribyrnongRiver.  A lot of music gets belted out over the weekend.  This shot was taken close to midnight on New Years Day.  The shot was handheld and I plan to return another time to see how much better it could be using a tripod.  It was part of my new years resolution to shoot some night scenes (this being my first attempt).

Nikon D300 + 24-70 f/2.8 at 31mm, f/2.8, 1/2s and ISO 4

 

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

You never know what you can come across when walking the streets of a city, this piece of artwork was a bit challenging for my fine art sense. A statue of Lenin used to stand here few good years back, the building seen on the background was built by Soviets as the headquarters of The Spark, local daily news sibyl of Iskra, newspaper printed in Moskow. And with the twist of history the building was renamed to The House of Free Press although the old soviet insignia is still visible on top of the building. I’m not sure what the cross on the pavement is about,  there is also a “Jesus is coming” graffiti on the back of the stone too.
Warm welcome to John, great to see Joe’s list growing.

Technical info: Nikon F3HP, not sure which lens I used for this shot, could be the 35mm ZF or Nikon 50mm F1.8, Paradies CR100 slide film (US made re-branded)

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

‘Winchester’

This is my catWinchester.  We happened to bump into someone at the motocross track where my son races who had a kitten they wanted to give away.  Well, of course I’m a softy and so’s my daughter so we took him.  He is a cat not with an attitude but very moody.  He can be real

friendly one minute and mean as heck the next.  But we love him.  He’s had to deal with 2 new cats and a dog, so he probably feels a little put out.

Here he is playing with his favorite toy – a crunchy sound making, catnip filled bag.  He just loves it!

Wonderful photos everyone, one of these days I promise to get out a comment email.

 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

Somewhere, high over the north Atlantic, on the way home. We were high enough this time where you can see the curve of the earth.

Canon S100, 1/1250 sec, f4.5

 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Cuvaison Carneros – F5 Block”

The Pinot Noir vines are dormant in the middle of winter. The ground cover flowers are mustard.

Photo data: Cuvaison Vineyards in the Carneros,NapaCounty. Sunday afternoon, 1/29/2012

Canon EOS 7D, 16mm, ISO 200, f/11.

 

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Offshore Sunset

Another one of my favorite subjects, sunsets.  The wind was light and there was not a cloud in the sky.

Nikon D200 F8 1/250sec, 18-70 lens @ 18mm

 

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

If you happen to travel toAvignonbefore the end of November 2011, you will see in front of the Palais des Papes, a rather strange sculpture.  A huge elephant, obviously in great physical condition, balanced on his trunk!  The Upright Elephant by Miquel Barcelo is a 7 meters high bronze cast. It was originally displayed in front of the Caixa forum inMadrid. (I am not sure whether this is a copy or the original that got moved).

Pentax k20d + Tamron 28-75 @ 28mm, f/7.1, 1/400, ISO 250, EV +0.3

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Joseph Leotta

January’s Spectaular Twilights

Must be the cold January air. I just caught more great sunsets in the last 10 days than I do the rest of the year, all a bit different.. It;s not just the colors that make these sunset shots , It’s the clouds with breaks in them that let the sun leak thru. 

I have to get back to other photography and try some different things But I just had to post one more. Never though that January would have so many sun shots from me. 

Right in the neighborhood, another one fromPelhamBay 

 

 

 

John McGraw

Chicago- Buckingham Fountain

This photo was my first real try at long exposure night shots. I was at Buckingham Fountain and wasn’t getting the image I wanted. I could see there was a better shot than what I was capturing. Then I decided to shoot it with long exposure. It took me about 15 minutes to get the setting I wanted and this is what I captured. After seeing this, I started to shoot a lot of night Cityscapes and now it’s one of my favorite things to shoot.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

