week 106 – Feb 8, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Black & White is Timeless – Arthur Avenue Retail MarketThere’s something about a monochrome image that is timeless. This photo is dateless. Thanks to the subject matter it could have been taken in the 50’s, 60’s, 70’s, and any time between then and yesterday which is when it was shot. Digital Nikon D200 at higher ISO again for extra noise to simulate grain.

There always is a special place for Black and White in my heart, and the more I work with it the more I want to use it. I just unpacked a lot of my old tanks and reels, have all the accessories, got a nice supply of film and chemicals and am ready to go. The enlarger is gone but it’s been replaced by my Nikon film scanner. Still have the Nikon F (still in perfect condition) along with a whole slew of Film bodies from over the years and am ready to go old school big time.

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All

This pic is fromVenice, close to the Rialto Market.

Nikon D300  + 18+200 VR @ 18 mm

ISO 800 – f  5 – 1/1250

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

This was shot back in 2008, with my k10d.  It still takes great pictures!

The Watcher, this was shot in NSW near Port Macquarie, and very recently converted to BW.  Unfortunately this small size does not come close to doing it justice

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 We have just about finished a make over of the spare (guest’s) bedroom in our home.  My partner Susan was applying the finishing touches by making up the bed when I noticed the way she placed these two stuffed plush toys on the window sill before replacing them on the finished bed.  I liked the way they had just been put down and yet they looked like they were in conversation, one looking at the other who was staring into the distance through the window.  I also liked the silhouetted light the pair are bathed in.

I set up my D700 + Nikkor AF- D  85mmf/1.4 on the tripod and took some shots.  This one presented here is taken wide open at f/1.4, 1/20th sec, at ISO 400.  I simply converted the file into monochrome via the Channel Mixer in PS 3 and also added a dark vignette around the perimeter of the frame.

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning!  

I saw this street lamp inMelbourneand thought the clouds were very interesting.  As it turned out, it made my photo this week when converted to B&W.

As always, I look forward to viewing your week on Wednesday.

Have a great week!

  

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

I have been meaning to take this photo for a long time.  It was raining when I took it Saturday.  This is the little shed and garden spot in the backyard where my husband grew up.  His mother really loved her garden and worked in it all the time in the summer.
I thought it made a good black and white.  I hope you enjoy it.

 
 

 

John McGraw – Lansing Michigan

Lake TahoeJune 2011

Last June I was able to travel almost the entire month. 10 days in the Mid-West / East, 10 days Northern California, and 4 days in the Smokey Mountains. This photo I captured at sunset inLake Tahoe. I had spent the day circling the Lake, and found this nice little cove about an hour before sunset (really vibrant in the color versions) I decided to turn this into a B/W photo because I don’t think the color is necessary to show the beauty of this wonderful landscape that I was lucky enough to spend time at. Sometimes less is more!  

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

friend of mine’s daughter is getting married this spring and she asked me to take some bridal photos this past fall- it was a lovely setting and we had a lot of fun.  I’m def not a pro and usually when I get a good shot it’s more luck than talent – but this was such a beautiful setting and the bride to be is so pretty it was hard not to get a few good ones.  Of course you can’t tell too much from this particular shot but since the wedding is still pending don’t want to give the bride away.   I just liked this shot -the way she is gazing so serenely at the mountains and her veil blowing gently in the wind-her gown seems to glow.   The color shot is really nice w/ the rich fall colors but I like the way the black and white turned out.

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

From a tour of Copenhagen’s harbor with port bus. Taken when I passed under a footbridge, note hanging locks. Everlasting Love!
all the best

 

 

 Frits Stempher – Maastricht the Netherlands

 Today, January 6, my wife and I made a walk here inSouth Limburg. We passed this frozen chamber and thought this could be a nice picture for week 106 black and white.

It is a typical Dutch winter landscape with a frozen crater in the middle of a reed vegetation.

Met vriendelijke groet,

Frits Albert Stempher

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“A man and his horse” – Every January, the Mississippi Redneck Riders Club have their annual caravan of horseback riders and horse-drawn wagons riding through the county with the state fairgrounds as their destination. This is the start of the Dixie National Rodeo inJackson,Mississippi. This was an occasion when I came upon them unexpectedly, and was glad that I had my camera handy. I always try to keep a camera in the car for occasions just like this.

Panasonic Lumix FZ10, ISO 50, f/4, 1/800 sec., Normal Program

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

The View

Took this from my new little camera.  A panasonic Lumix DMC-LX5.  Still trying to figure out how it works, but I love the idea of a little light camera that can be easily transported.  Hope you enjoy this view, it is right by where I live inSanta Monica.

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

When I think back to when I first started photography, to create a Black and White or monochrome photograph was simple. You just took a normal colour one, and desaturated it. But as I’ve gotten further down the road, I’ve learned that truly effect B&W is far more difficult. It requires you to think about what you see in a different way. And after shooting a little B&W film, I realised that to try mimic that look digitally is a real challenge. Film has a unique look that has it’s own appeal. None the less, I keep working at it. In this case, I had the chance last week with the help of a good friend to spend the evening just playing with different lighting setups and angles. In this example, Without the colour, you really do get to focus on the patterns and details. I’m still along way from mastering monochrome, but I feel I’m a few steps closer.

Taken with a Nikon D300 and Tamron 28-75 f/2.8

  

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

 I took this photo driving home after Christmas. It’s always kind of neat to drive by this place (way out in the boonies on a two-lane road) because you never know what you might see. It’s a private ranch/preserve for wildlife. The animals roam freely within the fenced acreage, so sometimes you might see something, and other times you might not. I’ve seen ostriches, buffaloes, and a few other things you don’t normally see driving down the road, but this is the first time I’ve seen zebras here. I pulled over and took a few pics and thought they might make good black and white photos since the landscape was pretty colorless due to the drought conditionsTexashas been experiencing. Anyway, they stopped to look up at me, then went about their business, so this is the one I chose to convert. Taken with Nikon D90/70-300mm VR. 

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

Deb Sulzberger – Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

Respect:
 I took this shot in the small chinese village of Chengyang, rural China. I wish i had the courage at the time to take the shot as she was walking towards me smiling. I don’t know that she would have minded as most likely she is used to tourist’s with camera’s as this small village is home of the 4 oldest handmade bridges built in China and has become to rely on the tourist Yuan to help survive.
As I watched her coming towards me i got a sense of her standing in the village. She was obviously an elder who over her time had worked hard. Villagers nodded and smiled at her. She was respected, i could tell, and maybe that is one of the reasons i didn’t jump out in front of her with my Canon and snap. Instead i smiled, nodded and stepped aside..

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 I spent 2 hours trying to make a b&w pic from pictures I had already took with no luck. My daughter came home and I opened the back door to let her in and I saw this full moon silhouetted with my trees. I grabbed the camera and tried to replicate the beautiful moon. Tried all kinds of exposures to get the scene as I was seeing it with no luck. So I did a two pic shot. Thanks to everyone who signed the petition. Background tree shot,

 Nikon D3x, Nikon 28-300 3.5, F/4.5, 55mm, 5.0 sec, ISO 200. Moon D3x, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20 E III, 1/125 sec, 600mm, ISO 200

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

Even in ruin and decay, beauty can be found.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

 The Birds

Shot with my second-hand Canon AE-1 that I bought for $25 at an antique store on KodakProfessional BW400CN Black and White Film using a Canon FD 50mm f/1.8 lens. I did not take note of my settings, regrettably, but this is the 2nd roll of film I played with and am still getting used to the manual settings and built-in light meter. I’m shooting a few more rolls of black and white before I move on to color, so I hope to share some more film shots in the coming weeks!

Dandelion Macro

Shot with my Nikon D90 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 AF-S + cheap Zeikos 36mm extension tube

1/100 f/5 ISO400

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Thanks again for kind words for my photo last week.  I have wanted to enter that cafe, but haven’t done so yet.  I saw nice-color pumpkins, milk bottle and reflection.  This week, I went to the airport to practice.  Very chilly wind on the deck, but it was a good exercise.  One of the photos good enough to show is this one, and thought this would look good in B&W rather than color.  For the rest of the practice results, see here -> http://www.kih.me/p20921115
Hope you have a nice week!  Ken
www.kih.me
D700, 28-300mm VR, @300mm, f/8, 1/100, ISO200

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody,

thank you very much for the nice comments on my last week’s photo, this week another one from the same session with Miss E.

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/200s, f/8

I look forward to all your photos.

Jana 

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Yuck

This is a shot of my daughter Mallory and her horse Cinder Ella.  Not sure why Cindy decided to stick her tongue out but Mallory ended up having a similar expression too.  Thought this was a bit different and in the black and white I liked it even better.

Life’s been crazy busy, I’ve been fighting off a nasty cold and just haven’t been taking any photos lately.  Need to change that!

 Loving all your photos as always.

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

For this week I prepared photo captured two weeks ago. My favorite motif; stone, river and sunset, in B/W version.

With long exposure, I wanted to show the movement of water and processing in B/W I am trying to emphasize the contrast of solid stone and river flow.

Best regards,

Davorin Mance      www.davorinmance.com

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

I’ve never seen so many crows all over the city as it was at the beginning of this winter, and old people used to say they tell about a harsh cold winter to come. Well, it didn’t happen, we’ve got a nice rather warm winter with almost no snow… till now. Double digits negative temperatures and heavy snow all over the country, blocked roads, entire towns without electricity and so on, so the crows were right after all.

Many thanks to Jens and everybody else offering such nice comments, too bad of me not finding time to do my part for the group as well…

Shot with Nikon F3HP, Nikon 50mm F/1.8 D lens, Kodak Plus X 125 PX film

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

Thank you to everyone who helped me wittle down photos for my portfolio this weekend, I really appreciate all of your help.
Rick, I hope Melissa is recovering from her awful ordeal, my thoughts are with you, her and your family.
This weekend winter finally arrived after some relatively mild months and Sunday morning we had about 5 inches of snow. The morning was spent playing in the snow and of course snowball fights. I hoped having my camera would protect me from them but as my son is proving here, if I didn’t want to be pelted with snow I should have stayed in the house!
Emma

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

Winter in Georgiawith one of our famous, all-or-nothing weather events. Even our horse is wearing a coat….

Nikon D100 1/250 sec, f8, ISO 200

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone !

Just a little something from the yard.

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

 Milford Yacht club here inConnecticutduring their frost bite race series.

These are very tender 9 foot boats called Dyer Dhow.  Most racers wear dry suits and

lots and of layers to stay warm.  Water is about 39 degrees (F) this time of year.

Nikon D200 1/640 sec F/13 18-70 at 27mm 

 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Wheel Hub”

The front wheel hub of my bike — I  crossed theGolden GateBridgewith this wheel 224 times last year — more will occur this year assuming things go well. The spokes are bladed, radially laced — all are black except for a bright red one.

Canon EOS 7D, shot in color and used the channel mixer to convert the RGB channels to B&W — with a channel mix of 45% – 35% – 20% respectively. Exposure: ISO 200,  f/5.6, 1/4 sec., some flash fill from above.

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

 A black magpie in B&W … it doesn’t get more original than that

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

First, thank you Greg and Jens for your comments! And all of you who clicked and commented on FB. Greg, so, did you go on a bike? 🙂 Jens, I photograph only on weekends, but have a large archive, so I can “spam” on google+. 🙂

BW photo for this week was taken the same day as the photo of a bike I’ve sent last week. I did little heavier post production, I wanted to make those trees really little against big and dark sky with huge clouds. I’m looking forward to your bw photos, it will be interesting again.

Greetings, Filip.

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Jens V Frederiksen – The color photo that looks B&W

 My picture for this week are from the sub side of a jetty temporarily dismantled for the winter. We’ve had some very cold days but almost no snow so it is necessary to find places like this to show a little white for the season.
Hope everyone had a good week and that the future will be good too.

Greetings
Jens

 

 

Gej Jones

Here is an extra that turned out to my liking.

 

 

Rick Dohme

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

