Week 107 – Feb 22, 2012

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

All backed and no time.  Just getting around to processing the photos from this year’s high school musical at Janine’s school.  Like everything else they are late because I’ve so busy.

 Here’s Janine on near the center wearing the suit with the blue shirt and glasses in a scene from Guys and Dolls

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

This was taken last July inSt. Jeanpied de port, in the southeast corner ofFrance.  Beautiful little town that is on the route of the ‘pèlerinage de Compostelle’

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All

Inside St Pancras Train Station inLondon. Around the base of Paul Day’s bronze sculpture The Meeting Place, there is a frieze with several images. Here a girl paying attention at her cell phone

Nikon D300 + 50 mm 1.4   ISO 1250 – f 1.8  – 1/250

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Yet another bird from Veteran’s Park, yet again. (-:  Sorry if you’re tired of them.  For two or three mornings the hedge bushes at the edge of the park near the woods were just full of these Cedar Waxwings.  I was so excited to get them, because I’ve never seen one before.  It is always nice to capture something that is not common in your area. Taken with my Nikon D7000 and my brother’s 80-200 AF 2.8 lens.

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Last trip toMountSnow.  The top of the Sunbrook Area

Using our new point shoot – a Nikon P7000

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Brrrr!  The weather turned very cold for this time of year.  We touched the low 20s this morning which made my mind wonder back, remembering the wonderful weather in August inAustralia.

I found this photo.  It’s from the Cunningham Pier,Geelong,Victoria,Australia.  The Cunningham Pier area is a photographers paradise.  So many things to photograph.  The family only allowed me 15 minutes and away I went.

These sculptures had just been rained on and you can see the aftermath in the sky and their reflections. 

As always, have a wonderful week.

Gej

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

 “Patina”  –   I can’t say how much I like the colors of an aged patina in the evening sunlight. Maybe I’m weird, but I really like the colors, and I find that it makes this old piece of machinery even more interesting. This was taken at the Oak Alley Plantation Home inVacherie,Louisiana.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/60 sec., aperture priority.

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

I have a pair of large poly houses with succulent plants growing inside them.  I harvest rain water from these polyhouses and as a result my large open water tanks are a summer time haven for many frogs and water insects, esp. dragonflies and damselflies.  They flit about the place over the warmer months and often land on me, land on my plants even land on my camera gear when it’s all set up to photograph my plants, however, I have never attempted to chase them with a camera as I fear I’d lack the patience required.
Last Wednesday I fluked this photo when a series of coincidences lead me to have the 105mm micro lens (usually use the 55mm) on my camera down at my polyhouses.  I was moving from one poly house to the other when I spotted this fly on an old hanging branch right at eye level and only a few meters away.  Without changing any settings on the camera I rolled the focus ring out to 1:1 magnification, slowly moved towards the clinging fly and lifted the viewfinder to my eye as I zoomed in.  I managed to take 3 exposures before it disappeared and fluked this really slow shutter speed shot at close to perfect focus with enough depth of field to show the whole insect off.  Right time, right place……….got lucky!  Unsure if it’s a dragon or a damsel………

Hand held D700 + Kiron 105mm micro lens @ f/16, 1/30th sec, ISO 400  close enough to 1:1 magnification – extra sharpening added in PsCs3

 

 

Deb Sulzberger – Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

 Tasmanian Devil:
Wanted to share something from my home state.
This is a young male Tasmanian Devil and is only native to my home state ofTasmania.Tasmania is a state ofAustralia but is also seperated by theBass Strait one of the world most notorious stretches of water. The devil poulation is rapidly decreasing due to a cancerous facial tumour that is  spreading throught the wild devil population. Funds and resources are helping to assist in finding a cure but sadly if none is found, these little guys may be extinct in just under 5 years…

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Nice photos last week.

This week my photo is of our tenant! This blackbird only demands one apple a day during these very cold days.

The reward is many many evenings in the spring and trough the summer with beautiful songs, ….so it is ok.  Something for something.

As always, larger photos at fotomedia-dk

Hope you all will have a nice week.

Jens

 

Frits Stempher – Maastricht the Netherlands

Saturday visited the military cemetery in Margraten, southernLimburg.

About the graves is a white blanket of snow. A very different picture of this beautiful and well maintained cemetery.

Greetings Frits Stempher

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

Back to the BVI – this is a shot from Anegada -LoblollyBay-  I was lucky to catch a little bit of a rainbow as some stormy weather was moving in.  Just another day in “Paradise”.     Hope everyone has a wonderful week!

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Happy Valentines Day to all our ladies. I hope everyone gets to LOVE there loved ones today. I saved this one from a few weeks ago. I got to watch this couple as they worked hard building there nest 50′ up in the top of a pine tree. One of them (I would have assumed it was the male) would fly off and return with a branch. Together they would work to get the branch just right. Then they would engage in some kind of romantic dance which would include locking there beaks and dancing back and forth 5 or 6 times. This was repeated over and over as I watched for an hour. Really felt like I was peeping into there bedroom. Love was in the air. 

Nikon D3x, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/6.3, 160 sec, ISO 200

 

 

John McGraw – Lansing Michigan

One Rock – St Ignace MI 10.3.11

I have shot thousands of photos of theMackinacBridge, this morning I was trying to shoot from a different angle at sunrise. I found this area on theUpper Peninsulaside of the Bridge. It was a foggy sunrise and the bridge looked great that morning. While setting up I looked to my left and saw this rock just sitting there. I love how simple it is. If you look closely you can see the start of the Bridge in the top right corner. I had to take my time and frame this shot, so that the bridge really wasn’t in the shot, but yet getting the framing I wanted and I was also in a time crunch with the sun almost peaking up over the horizon. 

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello all.  Wonderful B&W collection last week.  Sorry that I could not leave any feedback.  I was on a trip to the northwestern part ofJapan- the photos will be shown here or there in time – and just came back now.  I am posting this week again from the shooting at the airport.  The background of the airport is the industrial area, while three airplanes form the same airlines were just lining up nicely at the moment. 

Second pic is the airplane flying in the clouds seen from the ground.  Hope you like them and hope you have nice week.  Ken
www.kih.me
D700, 28-300.

PS:  D4/D800 – I am a bit lost as to the positioning of D4 and D800/E….  Not that I am interested right now, though.  What is your take

 

 

Robin Warner Santa Monica, California

Canon EOS 60D, ISO 125, F/5, 1/100

Smoking Break….just another chill day on the streets…lucky to find this guy just hanging and matching his environment.  

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Another Wednesday rolls around. Once again I have to say last weeks photos were exceptional. The overall standard was really high.

Once again due to work commitments my camera has been neglected. This photo was taken earlier in the parking lot at work. The dishes are just a few of the many as I work in television. Now the interesting part is the raw pic was downloaded onto my android tablet, converted, corrected and edited, all using free apps. At this stage the editing capabilities are basic, but I see lots of promise for the future.

Taken with a Nikon D300 and Tamron 70-300 VC.

 

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Crazy winter all over Europe, and we’ve got it all too, starting with first wave of snow followed by a snap of cold with temperatures going down to -20 C deg. Now the snow is back again, in some places the snow is up to the roofs, lots of people got isolated without electricity, food and water.
Some trains got stuck in the snow for few consecutive days, this one was a lucky one with its Soviet style built diesel engine.

Shot with Nikon F6, Nikon 50mm F/1.4 lens, Fuji Superia 200 film

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

I don’t have much to say about my photo for this week, I took it after a particular icy morning and the morning sun was just starting to melt the frost on the lawn. I can’t wait for spring to arrive properly, I really don’t like the cold, grey months of the year. No matter how positive a spin I try to put on them I just want the summer months to return!

I hope you’ve all had a good week, there were some spectacular photos last week.
Emma x

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Mallory and Cinder Ella

My daughter and her beautiful Haflinger mare Cinder Ella.  The love between these two is beautiful.  My heart melted when I opened this photo.  Another favorite to add to my ‘over’

growing collection!

Have a wonderful week everyone.

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Still getting acquainted with my new lens. Found this Red-shouldered hawk sitting by the road on a fence post, so pulled over, rolled down the window, propped the lens on the window for support, and got off a few shots. This was taken at dusk at 1/800, f/6.3, ISO 4500 with the Nikon D7000 and 500mm.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com

 

 

Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

In a rush tonight, about to go on a Valentine’s date with my sweetie. I took this shot today – the hearts are a roll of film that didn’t properly expose from some shots I took last week, so I cut them a little to make some hearts. The camera is my Canon AE-1 w/50mm f/1.8. I have so enjoyed the film challenge on 365 this month! Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

Nikon D90 Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 ISO 200 1/200 @ f/16

New flash! Nikon SB-700 🙂

Processed in 6 layers, 4 of the photo with various exposure settings, 1 solid red overlay and 1 pink texture overlay.

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone !!  Hope you all are doing well.

Last week I posted the monarch caterpillar.   Todays shot is the monarch

butterfly shortly after its   emergence from the chrysalis  .  You can

see the chrysalis next to the monarch.  I missed the actual emergence

and really wanted to get the first flight.   Of course each and every

time I would take the camera from my eye, it would do a little flight and I would miss the shot  So here is the newly emerged monarch still letting its wings dry.

Hope you enjoy

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Hi All.

A shot of cricket’s “death rattle” taken two weeks ago.  It’s that clicking sound that a batsman  hears when the stumps are traumatised and the bails dislodged.  It’s that sound which spells an immediate end to their innings.  It’s also the way most bowlers prefer to get batsmen out.

I forgot to bring my snap-lock mount that screws into the lens mount and attaches to the monopod.  So I had to shot lying flat on the ground like a sniper.  I didn’t mind shooting this way, but a bean bag to support the lens is a must (I had to improvise using a towel with a cardboard box).

Nikon D3s + 200-400 VRII at 380 mm, 1/3205s, f/4, ISO 200 and -1 EV

 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Marin Headlands”

AtFortCronkhiteand the Marin Headlands — 

Last Saturday morning hiking aboveRodeoBeach– 2/11/2012

EOS 7D, 50mm, f/5.6.  I was somewhat shooting into the sun just above Battery Townsley (part of the regional historical coastal defenses built in 1938).

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

My photo is again sunset one, or better to say, after sunset. 🙂 Taken on a nearby river couple weeks ago.

I look forward to your photos.

Greetings, Filip.

Pozdrav, Filip.

 Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Taken last week on riverDrava.

Best regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Another shot from the Milford Yacht club frost bite race series.

These are very tender 9 foot boats called Dyer Dhow.  Most racers wear dry suits and

lots and of layers to stay warm.  Water is about 39 degrees (F) this time of year.

This was shot late in the day, and the sunlight turned the water this beautiful blue.

Nikon D200 1/320 sec F/9 55-200 at 200mm

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This is a view out of one of the “corner” offices at my company’s headquarters in New Jersey. I thought it was kind of neat. Joe – thanks again for taking so much of your personal time to lead this group.

Don

Camera – iPhone

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

my photo this week is from my weekend beach photo shoot for Geometry Active Wear, new sportswear brand, that my friend Sarah designed. We had an absolutely fantastic day, I loved doing an outdoor photography, even the light is changing so often. We aimed at creating images, that show some sport activity, and I have to admit, that I am very happy with the outcome. 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/125s, f/18 and fill in flash on 1/8th of full power

Have a lovely week and I look forward to your photos.

Jana 

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Gej Jones

Messed around with Silver Efex Pro 2 and then added an effect by Gavin Hoey.

I think the result portrays what I was after, a very stormy photo of theGulfCoast.

Gej

Ken Papai

 Stolpman Vineyards Oak”

Saturday morning driving theSanta Barbarawine country with my wife –Ballard Canyon Rd.aboveLos Olivos,Calif., the Santa Ynez Valley.

2/18/2012 — Canon EOS 7D, 85mm at 1/500, f/9, ISO 200. The morning fog was mostly burned off.

Tom Stolpman makes stunning red wines including Syrah – one of my favorites. 

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta

One more from the musical

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

