Week 108 – Feb 29, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 The boardwalk railing

It just has not been showing any signs of winter here in NY. Before all ths kaos started I took a afternoon walk at the beach. Thought the railing added a nice element to the shot, adding another parallel line

This is actually a HDR with edge smoothing to remove the painterly effect

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All

 InVienna, a street performer as a living statue.

 Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR @ 56mm    ISO 640  –  f  4.8 – 1/160

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

 We have had some very cold but beautiful mornings lately and I tried my new NIK-HDR plug-in for PS. This it put together from 7 photos and then

a little saturation in NX2 to emphasize the red colours in the sky and in the buildings.

 All the best

Jens

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Stolpman Vineyards Oak”

 Saturday morning driving theSanta Barbarawine country with my wife –Ballard Canyon Rd.aboveLos Olivos,Calif., the Santa Ynez Valley.

2/18/2012 — Canon EOS 7D, 85mm at 1/500, f/9, ISO 200. The morning fog was mostly burned off.

 Tom Stolpman makes stunning red wines including Syrah – one of my favorites. 

Saarloos – Terraces Vineyard”

On the other side ofBallard Cyn Roadis Saarloos & sons (“Saarlonsons”) vineyards and their planting of syrah on their hillside Terraces Vineyard.

Los Olivos,Calif.- Santa Ynez Valley. Photo: 2/18/2012, Canon EOS 7D, 85mm 1.8 lens, 1/800, f/5.6, ISO 200.

 Both Saarloos & sons and Stolpman have excellent tasting rooms in the small town ofLos Olivos.

Frits Stempher – Maastricht the Netherlands

 Old shoes all covered with dust. This picture I made in an old dilapidated factory.

 I am for 10 days to Curaçau.

 Greetings Frits Stempher

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Here is one of the first submission from my recent trip to northwestern region of Japan.  It faces the Sea of Japanand is known for its high wind and rough see, together with always notorious bad weather (no sun, dark, and mostly snow).  This year, the snow is exceptionally bad.  More than 100 have died from snow related accidents – some from falling from the roof when trying to drop the accumulated snow, some from buried by the snow which slided down on someone who just happened to be there, and some from the traffic accidents caused by the slippery road…..  So, naturally many people tried to stop me from going there, but I wanted to see the rough weather there and the place I was going to was not so bad according to the hotel manager.  Indeed, I was surprised that around the hotel area – where hot spring is famous – there is no to little snow accumulation.  It snows, but doesn’t accumulate.  I had a very good time with good food and good scenery (mostly gray, though…).  Here is the first one..  Hope you enjoy it….  Ken
www.ken.me

D700, 135mm f/2 D, f/2.8, 1/250s, ISO2800 (AUTO), from the hotel room.

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

 This Cooper’s Hawk was sitting on a road sign.  I came up behind it and got closer than I usually get to them.  I was excited to get this, but keep hoping for a good in flight photo.  Someday.
 
Week #107 was a great week.  I enjoyed every photo.  Joe, hope life is a little more calm for you for awhile.  (-:
 
Have a great week.

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

I’m glad Joe and we are back on track, after a break. I’m sure we all missed our weakly ration of photos. 🙂 This is first time in a while I had trouble choosing a photo for Sharpshooters. Last saturday I was with Davorin and another friend from our photo club on a nearby river and we enjoyed warm winter morning with glorious sunrise.

Weather conditions were perfect and I have more than few photos I’m happy with. For our group I’ve decided to show you rather calm photo where sun is just small dot emerging over horizon and painting few clouds red on a big blue sky.

See you on Wednesday! 🙂

Greetings, Filip.

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, CT

 This picture was taken of a new wooden boat (37 foot sloop) being built… inside a wood stove heated shed… by a friend who owns the oldest continuing in service family owned boat building… marina…  and storage facility in the US. I believe that he is the 7th generation and his Son who works with him is the 8th. The boat will be all wood except for the lead keel which was poured in one pour in sand in the ground right outside his shop. If it is not poured in one pour during it’s life the lead will separate which could cause a catastrophic failure resulting in the boat sinking…  the keel weighs 1400 lbs. There are very few wooden boat building companies still in business and an art that is quietly and quickly disappearing… Hope you enjoy.

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Happy Wednesday Sharpshooters!

Glad to know that Jr. is doing well and will soon be back to normal. Last weeks submissions were Great!  I really enjoyed looking at all of your work!

My photo this week is again from the Cunningham Pier, Geelong,Victoria,Australia.  There are a number of these ‘painted men’ in and around the pier.  All brought a smile to my face!

 This is a special week for one of our newest members.  John McGraw is having his first Gallery Showing at Art Alley on Friday.  Let me be the first to wish him our very best.  Congratulations John!!!

Everyone, have a wonderful week.

Gej

Robin Warner Santa Monica, California

 Lumix DMC-LX5, iso 200, f/8, 1/400

 Enjoying the Moment…

 I finally got the shot I was looking for.  I take beach walks as often as I can.  Usually like 4 days a week.  I walk by this spot during each walk looking for this moment….With one person on each bench.  I was so happy that I decided to bring my little camera instead of my iPhone on this day so I was able to capture this moment.  Enjoy.

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

 My submission this week is another shot from our BVI sailing trip-I still can’t get over the amazing variety of colors as we sailed around the islands.This is one of my favorite shots –  pretty simple but I  just love the colors and the sail boat in full sail in the distance…  Will try to come up w/ something new next week as it’s time to move on from the sailing trip I guess –  Hope everyone has a great week and looking forward to Week 108!

Deb Sulzberger – Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

 Tasmaniahas some out of control bushfires burning at the moment, not too far from me but far enough not to be of any concern…The sky also looked like it was alight when i took this shot on the evening of the 27th February….

John McGraw – Lansing Michigan

 YosemiteNational Park– Moonbow

 I was only atYosemiteNational Parkfor one day in June 2011, but what an amazing day that was. I started by driving about 5 hours from Lake Tahoe toYosemite(amazing drive). One of the first places I went as I arrived was the overlook where Ansel Adams took one of his famous shots of the valley; it pretty much took my breath away. I then explored the valley for the rest of the day. Right when I was about to leave another photographer asked if I was staying for the Moonbow. I had no idea what that was, so he explained it’s when the moon is high and bright enough to shine on the Yosemite falls plus there is a big enough mist to capture a rainbow with the moon light therefore creating a Moonbow. I stayed and was able to capture this image at around Midnight, with about a minute exposure

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

 Glad to hear things are getting back to normal. No fun when work becomes your life.

 This is from a recent photoshoot. My only one this month. I love working with real people who have character. This young lady has plenty.

As for the 2nd pic, she decided to show a few ballet moves. Makes a change from the normal poses,

 Both shot with a Nikon D300 and Tamron 28-75 f/2.8

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Great pics last week from everyone. Thanks Joe for catching up. Hope Joe Jr. is recovering well. I got the opportunity to take pics of two 7 wk old Owlets. They along with mom and dad live in the wild about 4 miles from my house. I was there Monday with around 10 other photographers enjoying there family life in a huge oak tree. Hard to decide which cute picture to post.

 Nikon D3x, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/5.6, 1/500 sec, ISO 200

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

 Hi,
Photo opportunities have been few and far between these last 4 weeks (as people who follow me on 365project will testify) my daughter has had one bug after another and it’s really limited where we’ve been able to go. this was taken on 21st February at Charlecote Park, one of the National Trust properties near to where I live. We only spent an hour here before my daughter felt unwell again but in that time I was able to see the herd of fallow deer again including these two handsome bucks.
I got a new 10-22mm lens today so I hope to have chance to use it just as soon as we have got rid of all these annoying winter bugs.
I hope you have all had a good week
Emma x

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

 Hi everyone!  Great set of photos last week.

 The goldenrod are in bloom in the swamp adding a new dimension.  Found this egret  just hanging out.

 Hope you enjoy.

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

 For various reasons the processing of my films I shot in last couples of weeks was delayed for a while so I don’t have a very recent shot to share.
Here is a shot taken on the seaside in a nice summer few years back,  it feels such distant time after so much snow and cold we’ve got this winter.

 Info: Mamiya 645 Pro TL, Mamiya 200mm F/2.8 Apo lens, Fuji Pro 160S.

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

 Doors

Another favorite thing of mine besides horses and cats is unique doors. 

Either front doors or garage doors doesn’t matter.  I found this garage door on a house just up the street from me.  It’s definitely one of my favorites.

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

 MilfordYacht club frost bite race series.

I liked the reflection of the sail on the water.

 Nikon D200 1/350 sec F/10 55-270 at 200mm

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 Last week I purchased a 2nd hand Canon S95 compact point and shoot camera to take on bike rides with me.  I’m very pleased with it’s general photography ability, P&S cameras have come a very long way in the past 7 years.

 I took this photograph to test it’s ability to reproduce reds.  It’s late summer here and the apple trees are completely overburdened with fruit.  We leave the windfalls for the local bird life and possums to eat – looks like every blossom was pollinated last spring……apples everywhere……

 Hand held with image stabiliser   35mm focal length equivalent of 28mm,

f/8, 1/200th sec, ISO 100

Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

 For my shot this week, here’s something a little non-standard for my work. I noticed that I have been doing very minimalistic style shots lately – usually a single subject off center with a lot of negative space. I went through the shots I took of the Bradford Pear blooms yesterday and found this one. It was a stormy evening with huge gusts of wind – I stood outside for 30 minutes just trying to wait the wind out. The sky was amazing – it was around 4pm so bits of sunlight would still peek through the passing storm clouds every so often. I love the light I captured in this shot, just as the sun shone through for a brief moment. The frame is not like my usual work – fully filled. I loved the silky bokeh and that you can still make out the shape of the tree branches in the background. I hope the photo is enjoyable to everyone…being so out of my normal way of doing things, I’m having a hard time deciding if I like it or not….but I love the light and colors, so I thought I would share. Hope everyone has a great week!

Nikon D90

AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED 200mm 1/800 @ f/5.6  ISO200

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

 A young one.

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 Last week, I had to meet three different clients in three different mid-west states:Illinois,MinnesotaandKansas. During my 4 day, 1,200 mile trip, I encountered snow, ice, rain, +40mph winds, tornadoes and 65 degree weather. This shot was taken during the snow and ice portion, making my way fromMinnesotadown toKansasvia some back roads. Despite the drearyness of the picture, I still enjoyed the scenery and the drive.

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 Feeling better after the surgery and back to work

One fromBurlingtonby UVM – College and Church Streets

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Gej Jones

 This photo comes fromPensacola,Florida.

  The17th Avenuetrain trestle, A.K.A. theGraffitiBridge, is a landmark where local youths and the not so young are allowed to express their inner Pollock.  It’s aPensacolatradition and the police seem to look the other way as long as the graffiti is confined to the bridge. Some of the police probably tagged the bridge themselves when they were younger.

 This was taken the night before Valentine’s Day.  Two Church Busses were just leaving the area when I arrived. 

The ‘Graffiti’ was still wet but the message was clear. 

Deb Sulzberger

 The sky can sometimes be an amazing sight and change to a multitude of colours in the blink of an eye… On this particular evening it was the case…. Mother Nature at her best…

Rick Dohme

 The other baby.
Nikon D3x, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/5.6, 1/500 sec, ISO 200, SB 900 flash

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

