Week 110 – March 14, 2012

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 The 59th Street Bridge

The East River separates Manhattanfrom Queens. The Long IslandCityshoreline offers many places to view the skyline across the river. GantryParkhas 4 piers that jut out into the river and affords you some great views and angles.  This one is looking north up the river towards the59th Street (Queensboro) Bridge)

 The point Nikon P7000 point and shoot I always try and keep with me comes in handy. Was at a client when I passed by this park inLong IslandCity. 

 

 

 

Angie Vega – Wake Forest, North Carolina

 I would first like to say Thank You for having me join this great and very diverse group.  I am very excited to share my pictures with a wonderful group of beginners (like me) and professional photographers. The first pictureI am going to share is this friendly critter that I refer to as Rudy.  Rudy or Rudies have become very comfortable in my back porch.  Even so that they will come up to my window and stare inside the house, I have pictures to prove that as well, until I come out and put something (basically anything) for them to eat. This is a gourd that I have placed in my back porch and they find it very cozy at times.  If its raining, snowing, or just windy, you can certainly find a Rudy hiding in this gourd. 

 

 

 

Stephanie DiPietro – , PacificPalisades,California

 I spent ten amazing days inNew York City, my favorite place in the world, took hundreds of photos and 

as I was flying out, I was fortunate enough to look back and see this incredibly moving sight.  My family

lives in the city, so I know I’ll be back, but leaving is never easy”

 Thanks again,   Stephanie.

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All

 Taken last January in a very hot night here inBuenos Aires

 Nikon D300 + 50mm 1.4  ISO 2000  –  f 2.2  – 1/250

 

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

 First of all, thank you for the lovely comments this week!
It’s another b&w from me this week. This weekend we visited my parents, who live in a small village near the Cotswolds, I went for a walk in one of the fields in front of their house and found my first daisy of the Spring. I also saw my first butterfly of the year, the first bumble bee and my first baby lambs. Add all of that with the wonderful sunshine we’ve had and I think I can say, Spring has arrived!
This was taken with my 50mm lens and 7mm and 28mm macro extension tubes. I have added the coloured version to my 365 project if you want to see that to compare. (http://365project.org/emmar84/odds-sods-and-i/2012-03-11#comment-8196024)
 
I hope that Spring is arriving where you are or, if you are in the Southern hemisphere, that your Autumn is a mild one.
Emma

 

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

 Thank for the comment on my photo from last week, Very much appreciated.

The snow has gone and spring is on its way. Here a Guy trying to get his dinner.

As always larger photo at http://www.fotomedia.dk

 Al the best, Jens

 

 

 

John McGraw – Lansing Michigan

 MichiganCherry Trees

 The state ofMichiganis a wonderful place to be a photographer, between the great lakes and the weather changes, there is always a different backdrop to shoot. On this day I was driving fromTraverse CitytoMackinawCity. It’s a two lane highway with water on one side and beautiful country side on the other. This is a big area for Cherry Trees. It was towards the end of winter, the weather was just breaking but there was still snow on the ground. It made for a foggy morning. I saw this cherry tree field from the highway and decided to see what I could capture and I was pleasantly surprised when I came across this image. The fog I captured here only lasted about 3 minutes and then was gone. 

 

 

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

 Canon EOS 60D, ISO 100, F/5/6, 1/80

 One More Hit.

 Met this guy invenicebeach.  He was just chilling with his buddies.  They are actually part of a band and we struck up a very interesting conversation with him.  It is always interesting to talk to these folks and find out their stories.  Not always easy to do it….but always interesting.

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 From my office building in NYC

 

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 I’ve read/listened to nearly every James Lee Burke book in the Dave Robicheaux series.  Although Robicheaux doesn’t drink, Clete Purcel, his best friend does.  Usually a JAX or two are included as his liquid libation. 

 While inNew Orleans, I found this brewery near the levee a couple of blocks fromBourbon Street.  Many people, me included, equate the story of Jax Beer with the old Jackson Brewery inNew Orleans.  What I’ve since found out is the true JAX was produced and bottled inNorthwest Jacksonvillefrom 1914 to 1956.  In 1956, the rights to the drink were sold to the famed brewery inNew Orleans.

 TheNew Orleansbrewery was the largest independent brewery in the south and the tenth largest single-plant brewery in the country.  Today the building is no longer a brewery, but the view is still intoxicating. 

 Have a great week!

Gej   

 

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Finally on my 4th trip to see the baby owlets I got to shoot them together. They are probably flying on there own by now. Sure was fun watching them.

Nikon D3x, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/10, 1/200 sec, ISO 200

 

 

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

 Photo from ten days back, Army got to fight the snow on the streets, now spring is here and all the snow is gone, nice and warm, hard to believe is the same place.

 Shot with Nikon F6, Nikon 50mm F/1.4, Kodak Tmax400

 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

 My shot this week is of my view from the front / port side of the boat as we sailed back to Tortola – one of my favorite spots on the boat w/ the wind in my face and not a care in the world ( except for the fear my friend and  “Captain” would try to dump me!!  : ).   Hope everyone has a great week – looking forward to seeing everyone’s Week 110 photos! 

 

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

 Shot with Nikon D90  Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED IF AF-S VR 1/160 @ f/6.3 ISO 250 Massive cropping. I need a telescope!

 Gej shared a stacking tutorial with me that I want to dive into, I have seen some amazing moon shots that were the product of stacking up to 50 images, so I am anxious to try it!

 

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 It was a year after 3.11 last Sunday.  A moment of silence was held everywhere.  Solemn moment for many who suffered and who saw people suffer – all of us or even some of you who saw it on the news.  Just can’t bear watching news these days as they are all about the stories who died and who survived.  Here is one snapshot of it, where people stopped and bowed at the exact time in the most busy shopping town in Tokyo.  Impressive, but nothing to be proud of (not much of a photo, either).  We are just fortunate to be alive to enjoy shopping and taking photos.  We cannot and should not forget about the day.  In front of the power of the nature, we are nothing but a small dust.  Be happy with what you got now, I mean right now.  That is what I have to remember every now and then.  Ken
www.kih.me

D700, 28-300mm @50mm, f/8, 1/320s, ISO 200

 

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

Thank you all for your kind words on my Kitty. She has been with me for more than 10 years! and she is now a lady in serious years. So, yes Emma you right. She is well versed in those kind of looks. 🙂

For this week I’m sending a macro photo. I love landscape photography, but I thought I could show that I can do other things beside landscapes. 🙂 So, this week it’s a macro of a small flowers taken with my Nikkor 28-70mm lens using extension tubes. Since I have the cheapest tubes that are just that, tubes without electronics, all I do is with manual focusing and closing the aperture all the way down to f/16.

The size of actual flower was around 3mm. See you all on Wednesday, for another round of photos from all around the world! 🙂

 Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

(OK back to my old stand bys, sunsets and boats)

Commercial fishing dock onStockIsland(part ofKey Weston the east side)

Gale force winds “grounded” this fishing fleet for several days.  I was lucky to have a few good sunsets, nice sunrises and some good night shots too (wish I had my tripod).  I asked permission to walk their docks and take pictures and they were most accommodating.  I talked with several of them and offered any of my pictures to them in return for their hospitality (one Captain gave me about 3 pounds of fresh shrimp).  I’ll be sending a few CD’s worth later this week to them.

 Nikon D200 18-70 lense @ 18mm F8 1/4 sec with ISO-800

 

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi Sharpshooters!

 Winter is finally at an end, and as a greeting to her  I am sharing this photo of snowy river captured three weeks ago.

 Olympus E3, Olympus ED 9-18 @ 9mm, ISO 100, 1.6sec @ f/7.1, Cokin GND strong filter, tripod, boots 😉

 Best regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

 

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

 “Flowers with faces” – Nothing special today. Between the bad weather that we have been having lately, and the price of gas, I seem to have to pick my subjects close to my door.

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/500 sec. (100mm macro, hand held, between wind gusts).

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 After using my new compact point and shoot camera for a few weeks now I’m finding it’s strength lies in photographing subject matter closer to the lens rather than distant landscape type imagery.  Also being so small it’s great for hand holding in very tight delicate situations like close to the core of this large agave plant in my garden, very easy to hold a tiny weight in a tight space without getting bitten……

Taken with Canon S95 compact camera at 28mm wide (35mm equivalent) f/7.1, 1/80th sec with IS on, ISO 250  rendered to B&W in Photoshop using channel mixer.

 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

 Greetings all.

Managed to do a rather fun shoot last saturday. Well, mostly fun. Seeing my camera in pieces on the floor after it was knocked off a table was the not so fun part..

 None the less, managed to get some elegant and somewhat sexy photos of a young lady who I enjoy working with. 

I hope you enjoy these too.

 Taken with a Nikon D300 and Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 and Tokina 20-35 lenses.

 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Ram’s Gate Colorful View”

Ram’s Gate is a new winery in the southern part of the Carneros and happens to be the closest winery to our house. They also employ a fulltime chef and kitchen staff. They have wonderful food & wine pairings. Many of the estate vines are newly planted as in this photo and some construction machinery still around is visible. The old olive tree does a wonderful job framing this photo.

 Canon EOS 7D, 3/10/.2012, 28mm, ISO 200, f/5, 1/1250  (shot raw, 18MP original image

 

CARNEROS HIGHWAYVINES  

 I wanted to get the wine country highway in this shot. I love the texture and pattern of the vines and clouds cooperated very well.

 Canon EOS 7D, 3/10/.2012, 50mm, ISO 200, f/7.1, 1/400  (shot raw, 18MP original image)

 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 I used to be a member of the Commemorative Air Force, based in the next town over. They have a P-51, an SBD Dive Bomber, a T-6 and so on. One of the members owns this WWII F4 that’s in pristine condition.

 Don

 Nikon D300s

 

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody,

 I haven’t posted for a long time, but I’ve been looking at your stunning work.

My photo this week is from a Gold Coast (Australia) photo shoot for a sportswear brand Geo, we had the best day for photography, and generally the most fantastic time the whole weekend. This photo has been taken as a second photo of that day and thanks to it’s crashing wave in the background it has become my favourite and it will even be featured at the front page of the company’s website. Love a result like this. 

 I look forward to seeing all your photos this week. 

Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/6.3, 1/800s

 

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

 Hi everyone and welcome to the new members.

A walk in the swamp  provided this shot of a hover on a wild daisy.

 Hope you enjoy

 

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

This little bird was down near our lake on our property.  This spring and summer we just have not had many birds at all, I think the tornados blew them all somewhere else this year.  Although we have plenty of crows!
 
Nikon D5000, 300 mm, f/5.6, 1/326s, ISO200

 

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

 Skiing atMountSnow…

Here is my son on the chair lift at Mount Snow Ski Resort which is about a mile down the road from our house.  Skiing is his life.  He just loves it!  I’m glad he has something to be so passionate about!  Thought I’d change the shot up a bit and go B & W and then add back his colors, haven’t done that in a while.

 Loving everyone’s photos, and welcome to our new members!

 

 

 

Deb Sulzberger – Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

 Often on the way home from work i stop at the local reservoir to shoot some ducks.. .Camera only….Did not intend to get this shot, guess i just got lucky on the day…
Great lot of shots from all wekl 109…fantastic.. Can’t wait to see this weeks… Glad we are all back on track thanks to Joseph….

Hope everyones week is running smoothly….

 

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Roberta Davidson

 I bounce back and forth between macro and birds.   Both offer some

challenge for me I find myself practicing on the birds in the back yard,

 Hope you enjoy

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta

 Saturday at the Market

 From Saturday’s shopping trip over to littleItalyin theBronx. Inside TheArthur AvenueRetail Market

 

 

 

Stephanie DiPietro

 Bridge inCentral Park(with only a tiny bit of desaturation)

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

