Week 111 – March 21, 2012

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 GantryPark

I just love relics from a older New York. 
On the East River in Long Island City across from Manhattan there is Gantry Park. The area once a heavy industrial area has become a new and hot residential town where a number of trendy apartment complexes has been built.  The area right on the waterfront has been turned into a state park. they took 4 large old piers and turned them into 4 wonderful walkways extending into the river offering great views of the skyline.

Besides the piers they preserved 2 set of old gantry’s that controlled the level of docks at the shore line. These gantry’s were needed to have a perfect match between the barges that docked and the platforms that they parked at. This was critical as the barges contained trains on tracks, the barge tracks were aligned with tracks on dock and shore and the trains were simple driven off and continued on their way to points on Long Island.
There are 2 sets of Gantrys that allowed for 8 sets of tracks. This is one of the 2 gantry’s. Two tracks ran thru each side.

Another photo that came from having the point and shoot with me at all times

Nikon P7000    Program AE, 1/1,100 sec, f/4, ISO 400   6mm (translates to 28mm FX)

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All

A few weeks ago during my summer holidays inUruguay. A storm is coming.

 Nikon D300+ 18-200 VR @ 27mm

ISO 200 – f 4 – 1/5000

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

 Bumble Bee on Indian Hawthorn” – Ah, Springtime. It great to see flowers blooming, and bees exercising their responsibility to pollinate the flowers so that we will have them again next year. Again, this is just out of my front door, but the weather is better.

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/16, 1/200 sec., 105mm macro lens, tripod

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Here is a shot I took near the sea front.  Apparently the area has transformed tremendously during my absence and there were lots of office or residential buildings.  Who said something about the lost decade or two here?  Seems doing pretty good to me 🙂  Anyway, I saw the setting sun just the verge of the building and the contrast seemed interesting.  Hope you are having a great week. 

Ken
www.kih.me

D700, 28-300 @28mm, f/8, 1/1250s, ISO 200

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

 Wow, another week has flown by.
This Sunday was Mothers Day in the UK, we didn’t really make a big deal out of it but we did spend teh afternoon at a local country park which has a large wood. In a few weeks the whole woodland is carpeted in bluebells, I will try to head back there then for another photo.
I hope you’ve all had a good week

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

 This is a shot from my back deck of my “friendship” ball-  just a little bit of garden art and I thought it looked neat w/ the sun shining on it – not much else to say about it…   hoping to get some time soon to get out and take more pics but the schedule is pretty tight recently.  Looking forward to everyone’s shots this week – some of you really live in some amazing places w/ some pretty amazing photo ops –  Hope everyone has a great week!

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

 Just from another day at the harbour.

This boat here, is in the water, all year but several are made ready for the summer season.

 Have a nice week all

Jens

 

 

Angie Vega – Wake Forest, North Carolina

 My kids are always such a help when I need something creative to photograph.  On St. Patrick’s Day my daughter, Annia, promised me that she would find me a 4-leaf clover.  She went out to the yard and within 5 minutes came running inside the house with such excitement and what does she hold in her tiny and soil filled fingers, a 4-leaf clover.  I don’t know if it’s the luck of the Irish, but at the end of the day she had found 52, yes that is correct, 4-leaf clovers.  

 

 

Stephanie DiPietro – Pacific Palasides, California

 The juxtaposition of the lone paddleboarder against the vast sea and sunset sky was remarkable to me.  

 This was taken inSanta Monica,CA.

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

 This is the 2nd pic from last week that didn’t get published.

Due to my camera being in for repairs, thought I’d post another pic from my most recent shoot. Decided to age the photo some. A classic look is ageless.

Taken with a Nikon D300 and Tokina 20-35.

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

This week I’m sending again something different form landscapes. This time it’s a rather abstract photo, long exposure over urban elements. Something I would like to do more often, but somehow I never get to it.

I look forward to your photos on wendsday!

Greetings, Filip.

 Pozdrav, Filip.

///—-\\\

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello Sharpshooters!

 Rapids on river Drava, Croatiajust before sunset.
The use of polarizing filters allow me to reveal rocks below the water surface while last rays of the sun stain the surrounding forest in warm orange and brown tones.

Best regards!  Davorin Mance

www.davorinmance.com/fotografije

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Just a cute candid of a 1 yr old. Just loved her outfit. Thanks Joe for workin’ hard to catch up.

 D3, 28-300 F/3.5, 300mm, f/5.6, 1/60 sec. ISO 640, SB 900 flash.

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

 I named this tree “The Guardian.” It is amidst a field of young cacti inSouth Texasnear my mother’s home in Saint Hedwig.

 Processing included exposure and fill light adjustments and a slight purple/green split tone to bring out the green of all of the thriving plant life. It looks like a painting to me. 🙂

 Nikon D90 w/18-105mm kit lens    1/125 @ f/5.6 42mm ISO200

 

 

John McGraw – Lansing Michigan

 ChicagoIL– The Bean

I go toChicagooften for both work and pleasure. On this evening I went back to The Bean (sculpture by Anish Kapoor) before heading over near the river for the rest of the evening. I always enjoy spending time in and aroundMillenniumPark. The Bean can give you a different look almost every time you are there. I love this angle with the sky in the background, people posing for photos and the bright lights of the city reflecting on the sculpture. 

 John

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 Autumn is here and the large silver birch trees around our house are beginning to gain the gorgeous seasonal golden hues.  I love using the foliage of these trees as a backdrop to photographing the many small birds we have here in the garden.  So last weekend the sun was shining and it was time to pull out the old Ai-P 500mm lens for a run.  I set up inside the kitchen window as I was really hoping for a red rosella which are a tad shy when I’m set up right in front of the perching branches.

 This is a Silvereye which is the equal smallest bird we have in the garden, this one is approx. 9cm long from beak to tail.   Silvereyes are not too difficult to shoot as they remain still for a second or two at a time making crisp still frames with less than optimum shutter speeds quite achievable.

 Tripod mounted D700 + Nikkor Ai-P 500mm f/4 lens @ f/6.3, 1/400th sec, ISO 1250

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

 Cannon 60D, ISO 250, f/9, 1/500

 The last leg of the LA Marathon.  Mile 25.5.  One step at a time!

 

Deb Sulzberger – Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

 Morning Fog:
 
I pass this spot on the way to work every morning and to be honest have never really taken any notice, some mornings it looks like this, some mornings it doesn’t.
I never really thought it was any thing special but on this morning thought i might stop, click and at least i would have a photo for my 365 Project if nothing else turned up. Nothing else did so i used it..Well what a surprise when the comments and the favs went crazy and it made the Popular Page. I didn’t even bother getting out of the car, i just wound down the window and clicked off a few shots…
Ok, i am happy with it and maybe i shouldn’t be so complacent about my surroundings, it is pretty on reflection.

 

Frits Stempher – Maastricht the Netherlands

 This milliner I encountered during a trip throughSouthern France.

A beautiful lady that’s perfect for her profession.

 Gr Frits Stempher

Maastricht

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 I had written earlier that I’d thought about joining a fitness gym more than once over the years.  When I arrived at the Pensacola Naval Lighthouse I came to realize why I haven’t joined as I climbed to the top of the Lighthouse.  By the time I got to the top, my body was saying, “You doddering old fool, what the hell are you doing?”  The next day it was screaming at me!

The Pensacola Naval Lighthouse was enveloped in fog by the time I got to the top.  There was no view of the Gulf or of the Naval Air Station.  I looked down and could see the faint form of trees hidden in the fog.  I took a few shots of the glass and headed back down.  Once at the bottom, I remembered the words of Dirty Harry, “A man’s got to know his limitations.”

Have a great week!

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody,

I have a little bit special photo this week, as I was doing photography at my aerials/burlesque studio on Sunday and I was privileged to photograph Coppelia Jane, Miss Burlesque Queensland 2011. She is the most incredible burlesque performer, costume designer and maker, and a biologist by day 🙂 Some of you might have seen some of my aerials images on Facebook this week, but for those, who are new to the terminology, aerials are acrobatics performed on lyra (aerial hoop), on silks (long pieces of fabric hanging from the ceiling) or trapeze. I take classes on lyra and silks, hence the choice of subject for this week. 

I look forward to seeing all your images. 

Jana 

 Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/160s, f/10

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

 Commercial fishing dock onStockIsland(part ofKey Weston the east side)

Gale force winds “grounded” this fishing fleet for several days.  I was lucky to have a few good sunsets, nice sunrises and some good night shots too.  I asked permission to walk their docks and take pictures and they were most accommodating. 

 Nikon D200 18-70 lens @ 18mm F8 1/6 sec with ISO-800, hand held (leaning against a piling to steady the camera)

 

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

 I’ve got this shot in oldcastleofMatthyas CorvinusinTransylvania, a place where vampires are not shy even in daytime.

 Shot with Mamiya 7II, Mamiya 80mm F/4 lens, Ilford Delta 100 Pro film

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

 Honey Rolling in the Sun

This past weekend was just beautiful weather and the horses enjoyed the  warm sun as much as we did.  I found Honey laying down and walked over to her to get some photos.  Not too close mind you, you wouldn’t want to be in the way when a horse gets up from lying down!  Lucky for me she decided to roll and I got a couple good shots of her, this is one of them.

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 “Double IPA at the Pi Bar”

 Celebrating Pi Day 2012 at the Pi Bar — all draught pints were $3.14 as were each slice of pizza pie – yum!

 EOS 7D, 24-70 2.8L at 25mm, ISO 6400 !!, f/2.8, 1/25, friend’s iPhone provided the  ide illumination.

Cheers!  -Ken Papai

 

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

 Finally, a hawk that makes me happy!  This one was inside Veteran’s Park where I’ve never seen one before.  I was very excited when I turned around and saw it sitting in a tree in a very  open area close by.  Taken with my 70-300 lens.

 

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

 Hi everyone !  

We have had a few foggy morning .  I try and get out early on these morning as there are so many photo opportunities.

While I am not crazy about spiders and crawling around in the grass where they live, I do like how the webs and misty fog make some wonderful jeweled effects. 

Hope you enjoy.

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 My wife and I are remodeling our master bathroom, so I dug deep for this shot taken years ago with my Nikon F5, using IR film. This is a shot of a mission nearSan Franciscoon a perfect day – it was vacation, warm, not a cloud in the sky and I had a new camera.

 Best regards fromBrooks,Georgia, where we dabbled with winter for a couple of days and went right into summer (my pool is 73 degrees – IN THE MIDDLE OF MARCH!!!).

 Don

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Frits Stempher

 My entry for week   a parrot.

 Greetings Frits Stempher

 

Angie Vega 

This is Kiomi, our 4 year old miniature poodle.  She basically photobomb my shoot.  I was trying to capture the 4-leaf clover that you see on the right (well the green glob) and she decided that she would join the fun. 

 

 

Robin Warner

 Poor Jorge   

Walked up to watch the runners finish the LA Marathon.  This shot was taken at mile 25.5….This poor guy was almost done.  He had a horrible cramp and was barely walking.  He had such a sense of disappointment, but after a stretch and some deep breathes and some encouragement from all the spectators…he started back up again and headed to the finish line.  What an accomplishment, what determination!!!

Cannon 60D, ISO 250, F/9, 1/800

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

