Week 112 – March 28, 2012

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Single shot HDR – City Island Boat Yard

Had to go to the files this week for one and decided to to work on it a little with post processing. This is one of my single shot HDR’s. I take 1 post and then create 3 different files. 1 as it was shot, 1 with the exposure corrected 1 stop under and a 3rd 1 stop over from the original. I then take these 3 files and use them to create the HDR using photomatrix. 

I normally shoot 3 bracketed shots 1 stop apart for HDR, but sometimes after I’m home I find one that I wish I had shot with 3 but did not and use this method. The one shot method also makes for perfect alignment

 

 

 

Jaco Griesel – Kabul, Afghanistan

I chose this photo for my debut because it personifies so much of who and what I am, and where I find myself. 

Afghanistan, like this guard’s eyes will tell you, is a war-weary country. Centuries of war has left a never-healing scar on the collective soul of the Afghan people.  Foreign powers come and go, all seeking their own good and never really that of the Afghan people.  It is a tired country, but her people rises every day to fight and guard, to defend and conquer. Afghanistanis a beautiful country forever scarred by war – physically and emotionally.

Welcome to my world.  Welcome toAfghanistanas seen through my lens.

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All

” This is not a game” an art installation from American artist Lorenzo Quinn, on a floating pontoon moored off San Servolo Island, nearVenice,Italy.

It features a life-size T55 Russian battle tank and life-size cast ‘toy’ soldiers, held by life-like giant hands, poised in positioning the tank and soldiers, as a child would in play.

Nikon D300+ 18-200 VR @ 34mm

ISO 400 – f 13 – 1/640

 

 

 

Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

Canon 20D

03 23 2012 07:30

Canon 28-105mm  FL 39mm

ISO 100

f/4 1/800sec

No flash

Another in a series from “Sunrises from Town Creek”, Southold, NY.  This is “Neap“.

 

 

 

Angie Vega – Wake Forest, North Carolina

CooperRiverBridge,Charleston,SC

 While visiting the beautiful and historical city ofCharleston, SC, I found myself surrounded by so many photo opportunities.  I took over 2000 pictures in one day.  This bridge has been around since 1929 and in 2005 was newly restored to this grand architectural desing.  It is as beautiful to see in the daytime as it is when the night falls.

We started a road trip fromNorth Carolina,USAtowards Niagara Falls/Ontario,Canada.  We have made many stops along the way and have seen some amazing cities.  This is the New River Bridge Gorge inWest Virginia.  The bridge is a structure of amazing statistics:  3030 feet long. 876 feet high. 70 feet wide. 88 million pounds of U.S. Cor Ten steel and American cement. Opened and dedicated on October 22, 1977, the span has since become the symbol ofWest Virginia.

 

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Welcome to the new members, almost cower the hole globe now.

My photo is again from the local harbour, Saturday morning before the sun burns the haze away. This scenery is one I have chosen for a small project my photo club has a given. ‘Changes’, take photos from the same spot in March and April to document the changes and make a slideshow of them. I take photos there almost every day.

Have a nice week all

Jens

 

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

A really nice collection of photographs last week.

“On the hunt” – I was out with my camera, looking for bugs, and I came upon this Anole, doing the same. It’s good when you see them around, because it is sign of a healthy eco system around the house. Also, the Anoles love to eat termites, so that is another reason to like having them around. He was a bit wary of my lens, though.

http://www.facebook.com/StanleyBeckPhotography

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/16, 1/250 sec., 105mm macro lens, hand held, a little bit cropped off of the left side.

 

 

 

John McGraw – Lansing Michigan

EmeraldBay–Lake TahoeJune 2011                                          

I was in Lake Tahoe for a about a week last summer, on this day I decided to drive all the way around the Lake and see what I could capture. I had heard aboutEmeraldBaybut I had never seen any photos of it, so it was a nice surprise when I arrived and saw this image. It was a perfect day for shooting. There were nice clouds in the sky but yet the sun was peeking through at times. In this shot, I waited until a beam of sunlight caught the trees in the foreground. I’m heading toBostonfor the first time this week, so I’m sure next weeks submission will be something from this week. I have really enjoyed looking at everyone’s images the past couple months and welcome to the new members!

 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

I got asked last week to do a photo for my cousin and her fiance to use for their wedding invitations. Was a bit odd shooting with a Canon again (his), but a camera is still a camera. Here are 2 outtakes from the shoot I really liked.

Taken with a Canon 500D and 18-55 kit lens. 

 

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

On my way to work I spotted this Roseate Spoonbill hangin’ in a little pond. Jumped out and followed her around and got this shot. The last one I shot was more solid color.

Nikon D3x,  Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/5/6, 1/100 sec, ISO 400

 

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Our apple tree is blooming and fragrant, and the bees are loving it!

 

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

At the national garden in the center of Tokyo.  Has someone stepped into the garden?  A flower, grass, signage, and the sign is in English and that is funny 🙂  Ken

www.kih.me

D700, 28-300, @112mm, f11, 1/160s, ISO1100.

 

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

What Happens in Vegas, Stays In Vegas…  A rough night for this guy.  Had a great weekend in Vegas for a Soccer tournament with my family.  Very little time for photos, but I was able to capture this unfortunate moment which keeps me present and grateful.

DMC-LX5, ISO 200, F/8, 1/50

 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

I’m going back out West this week for my photo – still finding it difficult to get out and take many new photos so have to rely on some previous ones – this is another shot of Bear Lake in Idaho –   I really just love the clouds in this shot and the way the sun illuminates them as well as the contrast to the vivid blue sky. Just another little piece of paradise in my book!   Hope everyone has a great week!

 

 

 

Frits Stempher – Maastricht the Netherlands

Hallo All,

Here is a photo I took during a rising storm over theSouth Limburghills. Made in broad daylight but it seems night.

Greetings Frits Stempher Maastricht

https://www.facebook.com/fritsstempherphotography

http://frits-stempher.blogspot.com

http://www.fritsellen.com

 

 

 

Deb Sulzberger – Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

The sun was going down and all was at peace in the world because there is nothing like a kiss from your Mum to end the day….
Some super shots last week everyone and i wished i had of had more time to make individual comments but just want to say you guys are so so so good !!!!!

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

  I’m still working on improving the exposures of my new Canon s95 compact camera.  This was a challenging high contrast scene, shooting sheep with highlighted backs and in a into a brightly back lit scene with very dark shadows and very low angle morning sun.  The lens flare is removed from frame top right corner via the crop I’ve applied to this image.  Also added a skylight filter in Ps3 to warm the image a fraction.

Handheld early morning light, Canon s95 28mm (@35mm equiv.) f/6.3, 1/400th sec, ISO160

 

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody, 

thank you for the very kind comments on my photo from last week, I very much appreciate it.

This week a pin up shot from my photo shoot today with the most incredible and inspiring girl I have the priviledge to know. We opted for a vintage camera and I thought I will send it to the group here, so you can perhaps help her get some decent shots on film? 🙂 

Nikon D700, 24-70 mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/160s, f/9

Have a lovely week and I look forward to all your photos.

Jana

 

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

While visitingPensacola,FloridaI drove to the end of the Palafox Pier.  My goal was to photograph the pelicans and other birds who are always looking out for a free meal from a friendly fisherman.

Palafox Pier isPensacola’s newest public park and marina.  In the center of the park is the statue of Tristan de la Luna commemorating the man who discoveredPensacolain 1559.  Recently, Juan Carlos and Queen Sofia dedicated the statue.

 I shot this photo of Tristan de la Luna backlit by the Sun.

 

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

Thank you for the comments and likes on my photo on fb. My photo for this week is not a landscape again. 🙂 I suppose this could be cityscape? 🙂 It’s a nearby town named Varazdin.

Town with long history, that was in 17th century even capital town ofCroatia. As for this photo, it was summer day, blue sky, white clouds and a big tree to get that sun rays.

I hope you like it! Looking forward to your photos!

Greetings, Filip!

Pozdrav, Filip.

///—-\\\

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

 

 

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

This week I want to present an image of peace and tranquility in a world that seems to rotate faster and faster.  I have chosen the square format to emphasize this.

Nikon D300, Nikkor 24-70.

Per-Chr.

 

 

 

Stephanie DiPietro – Pacific Palasides, California

This is an image (one of many I took yesterday) of the iconic Frank Gehry designed, Disney Hall, in downtownLos Angeles.  This structure is filled with interesting curves, lines, textures, and reflections.

There is no bad vantage point and the colors of the exterior change with the light.  Quite a great subject!

 

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

Here’s my photo this week. Any time people are dealing with things with their kids, it makes me think an extra moment about my own. This is my oldest, Drake. I had him when I was pretty young (barely 20) and as a result, he and I have a very special relationship. He is an old soul, through and through. He is almost 15 and loves John Lennon, Frank Sinatra, and Dean Martin. He plays guitar and reads books far beyond what normal teenagers are interested in. He is a beautiful person who makes me proud and makes me feel like I’ve done something right in this life every single day. He’s also a great sport whenever I ask him to come outside and let me take pics of him. 🙂

Nikon D90 50mm f/1.8  Shot around sunset 1/320 @ f/1.8 ISO 200 Retro processed with exposure offset increase and vibrance.

Caught him mid-sentence and in great need of a haircut. 🙂

 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Red Wine OIL PAINT”

I installed the brand new version of Photoshop CS6 (beta release still) a few days ago — it was a 1.7GB download. Trying a new filter ‘Oil Paint’ which I think works with this moderate still life.

Photo: 3/24/2012, EOS 7D, 27mm cropped to a nearly square format.

-Ken Papai

 

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Commercial fishing dock onStockIsland(part ofKey Weston the east side)

Gale force winds “grounded” this fishing fleet for several days.  I was lucky to have a few good sunsets, nice sunrises and some good night shots too (wish I had my tripod).  I asked permission to walk their docks and take pictures and they were most accommodating.  This gentleman seemed to be contemplating life universe and everything as he is eating his dinner.

Nikon D200 18-70 lense @ 70mm F4.5 1/15 sec with ISO-100

 

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone!

I happened upon a radio controlled air show.  They were doing a tribute to the veterans.   They graciously let me take pictures. I had a ball and it was good practice for birds in flight and panning. Some of these planes had “pilots” all decked out  .   I loved seeing all the details that some had done.

Snoopy however, was one of my favorites with his red scarf blowing in the wind,

Hope you enjoy.

 

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Lea

I was taking pictures of Lea in her new halter when a gust of wind came by and messed up all her hair!  I rather like the shot though and she seemed to like the wind too!

 

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Ken Papai

“GGB IN OILS”

Continued use of the new PS CS6 oil paint filter.

-Ken Papai

 

 

 

Steven Lakose

Commercial fishing dock onStockIsland(part ofKey Weston the east side)

Gale force winds “grounded” this fishing fleet for several days.  I was lucky to have a few good sunsets, nice sunrises and some good night shots too (wish I had my tripod).  I asked permission to walk their docks and take pictures and they were most accommodating.  “Accidental” shot.  While wandering around the commercial dock I came up to a door between two buildings, I stuck my camera around the door and grabbed a shot with the camera held out at arms length around the gate.  You just have to love autofocus and automatic settings. 

Nikon D200 18-70 lense @ 70mm F10 1/400 sec with ISO-100

 

 

 

Stephanie DiPietro

This is an additional view taken of the magnificent Disney Hall inLos Angeles.

There really is no end to the variety of images that can be found there.  A photographer’s gift!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

