Week 113 Vivid colors – April 4 2012

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

A apple a day……..

Granny Smith green apples, Red Delicious and Golden Delicious yellow apples.

Nothing beats a bite into a cold crisp apple. When I pass a display like this one I always stop and have to get one to eat. Never makes it home.

Fall up north inVermontfinds apples galore from local orchards and some of the best homemade pies ever.

 

 

 

Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

Amaryllis”

Canon 20D  Canon 28 – 105mm  FL 105mm ISO 400  f/5.6  1/60  No flash

Have you ever seen an Amaryllis bulb do its thing? The bulb for this beauty cost maybe $2.49! A paltry price to pay for the beauty and the fun we had watching it.

They grow daily like aliens and was a sight to behold! Shot on the kitchen table with the sun as lightbox.  Cropped slightly & bordered.

 

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Pink azeleas in my yard.  Oh, and a bumblebee

 

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

Azaleas” – They came a bit early this year, but they were beautiful. I like the color of these more that the violet, because they are not as common. They are a bit smaller, too. When the bush is covered with them, it really makes a good splash of color.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/16, 1/125 sec.

 

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello everyone.  It has been hectic weeks as I quit the job as at the end of March.  Now I am a free man 🙂  I will take a break for a while (wish it were forever) and start thinking of next thing to do in a while.  Hope to study and improve my camera skill at least a bit during this “long vacation”.  Here is what I saw at the restaurant table.  “Vivid” was the word that came to my mind.  Hope you like it.  I tried a new lens – very, very, reasonably priced pre-owned Voigtlandar Nokton 58mm, f1.4 MF.  Lenses made by Cosina (including Voigtlandar and Zeiss) are very well made.  There are reasons why Zeiss let Cosina use its brand name.  Wonderful glass indeed.  Anyway, when you have a chance, try it as it is still in production and used pieces are available anywhere.  You won’t regret it.  I like this one better than Nikon 50mm f1.2 MF.  Have a great week.

Ken
www.kih.me
D700, Voigtlandar 58mm f1.4, f/4, 1/100s, ISO5000 (Auto)

 

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

A fisher boat coming into the harbour after emptying the nets along the coast.

All the best

Jens

 

 

 

Deb Sulzberger – Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

Chinese Opera

This weeks theme made me automatically remember a performance of a Chinese opera i was lucky enough to see last year in the city of Chengdu…
The colours on each and every costume we amazing, so vivid and bright….Not only the costumes dazzled but also the makeup, very dramatic and very colourful.
It was an open opera, as in public were allowed to veiw the artists getting ready from applying their face makeup to dressing in these beautiful costumes…
Hope everyone is have a great week and looking forward to seeing all your work…

Chengdu….Chinese opera performance


 

 

 

Frits Stempher – Maastricht the Netherlands

This long-neck lady I met in Burma. In a small village in the mountains.

Comfortable will not have these rings around her neck

 

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Sorry, the party isn’t going to happen.  I had planned to invite all of you to meet somewhere that would be photogenic and fun but I didn’t win the $640,000,000.00 lottery.  Perhaps next time!

Have a great week and take lots of photos.

 

 

 

John McGraw – Lansing Michigan

ClevelandJune 2011

This was during the first week of my month long photography trip last year. During the first part of the trip I had to work during the day and I would shoot at night, sometimes all night. This photo was captured about 20 minutes after sunset (my favorite time to shoot) as a lot of photographers. I was actually at this location to shoot the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (HOF). While walking to theHOFI saw this ship. I shot photos of the side of it, but then I went to the front, turned around and saw this beautiful imagine staring right at me waiting to be captured!

 

 

 

Robin Warner Santa Monica, California

This is Juan….on a good day.  Taken awhile ago.  Lately when I have seen him, he seems to be a bit out of sorts.  He is a character, that is for sure.

ISO 400, f.10, 1.125

 

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

This Tattooed biker babe was givin’ me the eye at the park so I thought I’d shoot her. Love these Themed weeks. Looking forward to everyone’s creativity.

 Nikon D3, Nikon 28-300 3.5, 300mm, 1/250 sec, f/8, ISO 1250, SB-900 flash.

 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

For my vivid color shot I’m using another picture from Easter 2009 – this is a shot of one of my great nieces and 2 great nephews in the midst of the Easter egg hunt – taking a break in the middle of the azaleas in my mom’s front yard.   Her yard is really lovely in the spring and there is definitely a nice display of vivid color!   Have not had a chance to get shots of her yard in bloom yet this year so relying on past pics.   Hope everyone has a great week and looking forward to a lot of beautiful colors this week!

 

 

 

Jaco Griesel – Kabul, Afghanistan

Kabulcan be a drab and boring city, but if you look real close you will find bursts of color around every corner.  When my wife visit in December 2011, she would get so excited when she spotted these kids selling their colorful balloons.  Looking at them, everything else pales in comparison, and that’s the reason why I B&W’ed the background.

Nowadays, whenever I see these kids, it reminds me of the joy on my wife’s face, and the great time we had exploring the city tourists don’t usually visit.  The colors are vivid, and so is my memory of that time together.

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

I was struggling with a contribution for the vivid theme week until last weekend when I was cutting the roadside grass beside out property.  Part way down the fence line is a stand of blackwood trees and inside the crevice of a lightning damaged tree was this large growth of shelf fungi shining out of the gloom of darkened, bark covered trunks like a beacon.

Captured on a tripod with D700 and AF-S 70-200mm f/2.8 @ 116mm, f/5, 1/125th sec, ISO 400.

 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings all.

Had to raid the archives for this week. This is one of the models from the fashion show I shot about a month ago. Wasn’t mad about the clove, but then I wasn’t the stylist for the show.

Taken with a Nikon D300 and Tokina 20-35mm

 

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

a little rockabilly pin up from me for this Vivid Theme. I can’t wait to see all your submissions, as the special themes are usually my favourite weeks.

Jana

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/9, 1/160s

 

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

Red Tulips @ TheDallasArboretum’s “DallasBlooms Festival”

Nikon D90 + Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6

Focal length 240mm 1/1250 @ f/5.3 ISO320

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All

Taken last october at Tate Modern inLondon. A proyection of FILM, a work by Tacita Dean.

From the Tate website:   ” FILM is an 11-minute silent 35mm film

projected onto a gigantic white monolith standing 13 metres tall at the end of a darkened Turbine Hall. It is the first work in The Unilever Series devoted to the moving image, and celebrates the masterful techniques of analogue film-making as opposed to digital.

The work evokes the monumental mysterious black monolith from the classic science fiction film 2001: A Space Odyssey. The film feels like a surreal visual poem, including images from the natural world among others, with the epic wall of the Turbine Hall showing through, in a montage of black and white, colour, and hand-tinted film.”

Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR @ 27mm

ISO 2500 – f 5.0 – 1/13 sec

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

For this week’s vivid color photo, I didn’t have to go far. These flowers are all blooming right in our back yard. Spring is definitely in full swing here inNew York, with temps in the 60s and 70s and flowers blooming everywhere!

A quick update on how I’m doing – I’ve been working from home the past two weeks as my doctors want me to take it easy. They say my ruptured appendix is stable, but it’s definitely in a fragile state. I’ve got a follow up CT scan next Thursday to see how it looks and hopefully we’ll be removing it shortly after that. Luckily, I’m not in any pain right now, just have a slight discomfort in my lower right stomach. Hopefully I’ll be all fixed up soon!

 

 

 

Angie Vega – Wake Forest, North Carolina

VisitingNiagara Falls,ON,Canadathis past week and I have to say that it was an amazing experience. Seeing the Falls during the day is amazing but visiting at night with the lights is electrifying. This shot was taken from the Canadian side and on the far left you can seeRainbowBridge, which is one of the bridges to get in and out of theCanada.

 

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

I’ve been doing B&W for a while so this picture from New Year fireworks is the closest I could find to fit the given vivid theme. Shot with Mamiya 645 Pro TL, Mamiya 55mm F/2.8 lens, Kodak Ektar film.

 

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi Everyone!  Hope you all are doing well.

I looked for vivid colors in nature .   Happened upon this very bright  and small Common Clouded Yellow Butterfly.

Hope you enjoy

 

 

 

Stephanie DiPietro – Pacific Palasides, California

I was fortunate enough to get this shot Lady Liberty shot against a fiery, winter sky when I was inNew Yorklast month.

I was shooting from under theBrooklynBridgeand literally got chills at this dramatic site.

 

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Episcopalian church in downtownKey West, just happened to catch the sun along with a perfect blue sky.

Nikon D200 18-70 lens @ 18mm F9 1/320 sec with ISO-100

 

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Brendan’s Passion

My son lives and breathes skiing.  He can’t get enough of it.  You may have already seen this shot, but I couldn’t find any other ‘vivid’  shots! Horses aren’s that vivid!! lol But this one I really like and I would say it’s vivid! bright, crisp and clear!

 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Pinot Noir Outstanding in its Field”

The F5 Block in the bottle and among the F5’s vines. It’s still early spring inNapaCounty/the Carneros region and the mustard is in bloom.

Photo: 3/30/2012, Canon EOS 7D, at 27mm, f/6.3

 

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

A  flower photo from archive. I liked the contrast between blue flower and yellow and green wheat.

Nikon D80 + Sigma10-20@18mm, f4, 1/80sec, ISO 100.

Greetings Filip!

 

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

It seems our beautiful Spring weather has transformed into April showers. Nothing says Spring to me like daffodils so here’s one from earlier in March.
Happy Easter to all who celebrate it

 

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Stacy Winsett

Red Tulips & Yellow Narcissus @ TheDallasArboretum’s “DallasBlooms Festival”

Nikon D90 + Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6

Focal length 240mm 1/640 @ f/5.6 ISO200

 

 

 

 Rick Dohme

So many bees and butterflies around to shoot. Trying out my new macro flash unit today.

Nikon D3X, Sigma 150 2.8, SS 1/200sec, F/6.3, ISO 50, Flash 1-SB-900 2-SB-200

 

 

 

 

Stanley Beck

“Roses” – An early mild and wet spring has everything coming up roses. The rose bushes were trimmed back about half way in January, and they filled in a lot thicker, and they are now covered with roses. What a sight!

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/16, 1/80 sec.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 113 Vivid colors – April 4 2012

  1. Pingback: Yamamoto sharpshooter | Winnersatgamin

Leave a Reply

