Week 41

We have a theme this week

Vivid Color

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

A Bronx Favorite

I had a completely different picture all set for this week. But yesterday I took a ride and stopped at a fishing spot of mine to see if anything was still going on.  The Sea Shore’s Restaurant on City Island red sign at twilight was reflecting off the water with very vivid colors.  It was a sign from above to switch photos.

. No increase was done to the color saturation, this photo untouched and is as shot except for resdoizing.  The D300 just comtinues to impress me with its high ISO performance in low light,

 I really can’t wait to go to the Sea Shore now for a dinner. Its one of my favorites.

 Nikon D300 AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 Shot at 66mm

AE, 1/8 sec, f/13, ISO 1000 Handheld – November 9, 2010   6:01:PM 

 

Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

 Northport Village summer car show. A weekly event through the summer that draws a nice crowd and helps promote the town and local businesses. This was from last year and a standout among the 30 or 40 cars that were on exhibit. The finish  on this cars paint job was absolutely the deepest paint I have ever seen. The colors blended seamlessly with just a touch of metal flake. The proud owner told me the paint job would be impossible to recreate because the materials used in the paint are all banned from use and no longer available. This is a lament I hear often lately. Environmental concerns for health and well being are causing the demise or reduction in quality in many finishing materials for cars and homes.  A small price to pay but a price none the less.

I believe this is a 30’s or 40’s vintage Mercury. The proud peacock next to the car is the owner!

 Nikon Coolpix 5100    20090818  F2.7   ISO 88  Focal length 7.m  No flash

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

 Seeing that I am still in NSW, it seemed appropriate to post somehing from here.  A pair of Rainbow lorikeets right after their evening bath in a Sydney suburb Pentax k20d + DA 55-300, @260mm,  Iso 250, 1/125 sec, f/6.3,  EV + 0.3.

 I had a great time meeting Jana and Grant who were kind enough to drag me around Brisbane to visit the sights and take a few pictures.. I did take a couple of shots of my jailors that I will post after I get back home 🙂

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 Autumn Leaves” – Not much Fall color this year, at least, not so far.  Just enough color to fill a frame, if I get the camera close enough.

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/125 sec.

  

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Hello to everyone!

 This is from the San Francisco Arboretum.  

D40X – 1/5sec – f/6.3 – 18-200@200 – ISO 100 – Shutter Priority 

  

   

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 Rockefeller center – the backside of 30 Rock is Radio City Music Hall.

Taken with my cell phone after I went to a concert there  recently

 

   

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 Amazing BW last week.

Could not keep the promises not to show a motive from my jobJ. This is an old mill with wings made of tree. Newly painted. Did pres the saturation a bit though.

D700 24-70@55mm F/11 1/125s ISO 20

 

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 I was a bit too pressed this weekend and could not go out with my Nikon.  So, my apology for not giving back comments.  I always appreciate and look for the comments, good or bad, to learn.  Anyhow, so, instead, I carried Lumix and took this on the street in the evening.  Tad over saturated, but Benetton was always my vivid color in my head, so….  Maybe a bit overdone, I admit.  But anyhow, it has an interesting effect, me thinks….
Panasonic Lumix LX-5, Shutter Speed mode, 1/4s, f/6.3, ISO80, with self timer on the saddle of the bicycle on the street 🙂

 

   

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Last weeks pics were very good. I enjoyed everyone’s BW creations. Thanks for the kind comments. I was waiting for a good time to submit this one. I took it a few weeks ago when I had posted a couple of d-flies already. Can’t wait to see everyone’s colors. Nikon D3, Nikon macro 105 2.8, 1/60 sec, F/5.6, ISO 800, SB 800 flash on camera with diffuser.

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hello everyone.  Still trying to care for  my mother-in-law, so  I was limited to her  back yard for shooting this week. The only thing I could find was a chrysanthemum  or “mum” as it is  commonly called.   This was taken early in the morning while the dew  was still on the plant. I hope you like the colors –  Can’t wait to see this week’s thread.

 D300  f/10   shutter 1/60  ISO 400    SB900 diffused

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 I took this at the 2006 US Grand Prix. It’s a pic of Kimi Raikkonen in his Mercedes McLaren. 

 Nikon D100 1/500 sec, f6.3, 500mm, ISO 200, Matrix metering

 

  

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

 I went over to the carnival to take some photos, but on closer inspection, decided while it was colorful, it wasn’t necessarily pretty. I was looking around for something with vivid colors and…walla!…I saw some Bird of Paradise flowers in front of bougainvilleas. I wanted to do early morning natural light, so hauled out my tripod and set up. Of course I’m always looking around for bugs, and spotted a mantis back in the bushes. I coaxed it out onto the flower and a second later, the little beetle came out from inside the flower. I quickly shot two frames with a shift in focus to get both the beetle and mantis in focus and did a layer stack in PSE 8. I thought about increasing saturation a bit, but figured it was pretty vivid as it was. I was pretty pleased with the result and hope you all like it too. (BTW- thanks to those who made comments on the B&W project. It’s appreciated. I will TRY and do some this week, but work is pretty hectic. Just wanted you all to know how much I enjoyed them. 🙂 Shot with Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm@1/60, f/5.6, ISO 400.

 Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

 All of my cameras’ sensors have struggled with obtaining a representative image of this particular red mesemb flower which creeps through other plants along this border in my garden.  This is the most intense, most vivid colour that exists in my garden.  It is so “loud” I’m sure it can be seen from outer space!  Even standing back several yards to take a wider angle shot of this red mesemb flower makes for odd and varied results.

 In my minor conquest to get a nice photograph of this red flower, this time I have limited the amount of red inside the frame.  I also performed a custom white balance using a grey card on site, shot in sRGB so no colourspace conversions for web uploading and for a little different perspective I used my fisheye lens.  I included some of these aeonium rosettes in the photo as I know I can accurately reproduce the ruddy / taned hues of this plant and use them as a measuring point for this exposure.

 Despite taking care to expose this flower as precisely as possible, I still think the full dazzling vibrancy of this red flower is lost a little in my image.  Vibrant colours are not my forte at all, I much prefer subdued colour but I enjoyed the process of gaining a photo for this week’s contribution none the less.

 Nikon D700 + Nikkor Ai f/3.5 16mm fisheye  @ f/8,  1/160th,  ISO 200 on tri-pod.

 

Per-Christian Nilssen Sarpsborg, Norway

 Another dance shot from me, ladies and gentlemen!  Taken at a freestyle/discojazz competition last weekend.  The last time my daughter wears that outfit, so it is a special occation for her.  You know, you realize they grow up fast when they need new outfits every year….

 Have a magnificent week!

 Per-Christian

 

  

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 Here is how we are looking after our unthreatened population of magpies in Australia.  While the preservation of a thriving population may seem odd you only need to meet Eddie McGuire (the AFL President of the Collingwood Football Club) in order to appreciate the magnitude of the concern.

 Camera:      Nikon D300   Lens:          AF-S VR II Zoom-Nikkor 70-200 mm f/2.8G IF-ED + TC-20E III

Settings:     400 mm, 1/500 sec, f/5.6 and ISO 800 (AP, monopod, UV filter)

 

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 How time flies!  Last week’s black and white photos were outstanding!  I like these occasional assignments, even though I seem to struggle more with them!  This week’s photo is nothing special, I seem to have run out of things to photograph.  The only places I have to take photos, most of the time, are around my house or on my way to work.  It’s dark on my way home from work now, so that opportunity is gone for awhile.  This is from a week or two ago of my sugar maple in my front yard.  It is beautiful in the fall, but the leaves fall off very quickly once they turn. 
 
I want to encourage everyone to comment.  Especially myself!  Have a good week everyone.
 
Nikon D5000, 116mm, AF-A, Dynamic, F/4.8, 1/160s, Spot metering, auto ISO 500, White Balance-Direct sunlight.

 

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello everyone. I loved the B&W photos last week but i am partial to B&W
This weeks vivid photo took a bit of thinking for me. What i came up with actually affects me somehow if i stare at it too long 🙂
I came across a child’s toy at a games shop, took one look at it and thought i might be able to do something with it. It took about 25 minutes experimentation to come up with this shot and then a minute to up the saturation in Lightroom. I am excited to see what everyone may have come up with this week
D90 Nikkor 50mm F1.8 lens  30.0 seconds @ F8 ISO200

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 This one I took yesterday, I was initially aiming just for the colourful blocks in bubbles, but I liked the water being poured out of the bottle, so I’ve chosen this one in the end. 

Taken with Nikon D700, 24-70 f/2.8@ISO 400, 1/60s, f/4

 Have a lovely week and I can’t wait to see all your vivid photos. Jana 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All
A mausoleum is perhaps not the best place to find Vivid colors but I like the contrast of the ironwork and the vitraux behind it. Recoleta Cementry, Buenos Aires
Nikon D300 +50mm 1.4 D –    ISO 200 – f 2.2 – 1/200

 

 

 Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

Last week was great, but really great. I’ve enjoyed all photos.

About my photo, autumn just drove by me, I didn’t have time to make a proper autumn photo, so I was on the walk with my cameras last Sunday and I got this red photo. I hope it’s vivid enough. 🙂 Nikon D80, Nikkor 28-70@70mm, f4.5 1/80 ISO 100. Added little contrast in NX2.

Greetings, Filip!

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 We’ve got few nice warm days of late autumn with temperatures going over 20 Celsius and that beautiful light of fall. Here is a shot with Mamiya 645 PTO TL, a camera that sometimes I think I don’t use at it’s full potential.

Mamiya 64 Pro TL, Mamiya 55mm F/2.8 lens, Ektachrome EPP 100

 

   

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

 Dear Jens thanks a lot for your valuable comment. I appreciated.
Friend of mine invited me to his daughter’s 10th Birthday, two days ago. The part of party was very funny. An uncovered sightseeing bus at night in the city. The owner of bus very well decorated his old bus. Sound, smoke systems, laser lights, DJ set on dashboard… One of guest was standing to laser beams so close. I decided to use wide open f/2 and it helped me a lot to capture laser beams on her face as many lines at 1/20 sec shutter speed (hand held). Hope it can fit the theme and you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com

 Nikon D2Xs, AF Nikkor 35mm f/2.0D, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/20sec, ISO800, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 When: Saturday, 11/6/2010 at the vineyards of Cuvaison in the Carneros Region, Napa County.

Tech: Canon EOS 7D, 16-35 2.8L lens, ISO 100, f/8, 1/160. Shot raw and processed in PS CS5.

Weather cooperated very nicely last weekend and green was abundant after the recent rains.

LOL – as my camera shut down with “Error 30” for ten minutes after this photo.

 Ken Papai

  

Special Bonus Photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world 

 Avon Walk to End Breast Cancer – Jim Fredriksson

Collage I put together to post and email as a thank you to those who were able to support our participation in the Avon Walk to End Breast Cancer event. It was a very emotional experience and Elaine and I had a great time doing the walk. We managed about 13 miles, from the West side lower 40’s to 135th street across to 12th Avenue and back to Lincoln Center. We met lots of nice people and had a fantastic time. We plan to do it again next year!

 

 

Extreme courage at the NYC Marathon – Joseph Leotta

 Sunday was the New York City Marathon. Almost 43,000 runners were running the 26.5 mile course that snakes thru all 5 boros of the city. It is one of the most gurling experiences that yiou could go thru.  The Achilles club has a lot of handicapped entrants, most in hand propelled wheeled vehicles. One runner was competing with a double lung transplant. .One of the Chilean miners ran the race. But this guy after losing both legs was at the top of the list for determination.  This photo was taken at the 2o mile mark.  Most amazingly he was running at a very quick pace kepping up with the pack.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment